We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We ended up at Hotel Phoenicia by chance, Easyjet cancelled a flight & after 8 hrs at Malta airport they shipped us here, for Diner, Bed & Breakfast. As we needed 2 bedrooms (family room), we were given a junior suite (room 211), with the promise of a bed to be put in the living room area. After being told there would be a 5 minute wait for the basic restreuant we went back & were then told it would be another 1/2 hour before we could even order & then we would just have to wait. Not really the sort of service you would expect from an alleged 5 star hotel. So we went to the posher resteraunt, were they were very helpful & the food was excellent ( if a bit expensive & slow). As we were to be collected for our rescheduled flight at 6am l requested breakfast be brought to the room, only to be informed by the nowty reception chap that this was not possible as they had 90 guests, which you would have thought was a good thing for a hotel. Getting back to the room we found a grotty single bed (mattress & base only) had been put in the living room, no pillows, no sheets nothing. As such l queried with reception (same nowty chap) who suggested this was an oversight (??) and prompty brought the sheets etc up & made the bed up. Even though it was a 2 room suite, the rooms were pokey & needed updating badly. Which l understand is in contrast to the 4th floor, which had been modernised. The bar was also incredibly expensive & very small. The buffet breakfast that they did lay on for the 90 odd emergency guests, consisted of 1 small tray of croissant, 1 small tray of pan o'chocola & an urn of orange juice.....wooppee, just what you need as a hearty breakfast. In all l would recommend you trying one of the other 5 stars, not this one.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,722 - 1,728 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed for a week in the hotel for a relaxing "do nothing" holiday. Fortunatley this hotel is perfectly set up for this with it's stunning gardens, pool and views. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable. It was also very handy to see any of the sites on the island as it is so well located with Valetta, the waterfront, and the bus station so close by.

We had lunch in the holtel neearly everyday and the food was excellent and reasonable value - breakfast was fantastic!

Finally staff took great care of us, really intimate "family feel"

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel in August 2010 on a short 5 day visit. As a result we will be returning in 2012. The staff were superb as was the hotel itself. The facilities were second to none. Our room was clean and perfectly presented. During our visit we found the restaurants to be perfectly staffed and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a taste of real old style perfection.
The hotel could do however with an inside pool facility for the fairer skinned amongst us.However this takes nothing away from the superb pool bar and area in the gardens

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank androidpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This hotel is absolutely superb - from the moment of arrival to departure the staff could not have been more considerate whether it was the concierge, housekeeper or bar staff.
We were upgraded as it was a special occasion and our lovely room was fresh, clean and comfortable even though it had not yet been through the modernisation promgramme taking place. Beautiful view from balcony enabled us to watch three simultaneous firework displays on last night. Convenient for exploring the old city which has lovely resturants especially around the cathedral and also the bus terminus which was great fun due to the wonderful character of the buses.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We love Malta,and this is our favourite hotel on the island.
The hotel was built in the 30s and it has the elegant feel that is associated with that era.
The room we had was spacious and well kept with a balcony and city view.There is the option of either city or harbour views,so if you like to see the sea,make sure you pick that option.However we were very happy with the view as the city you are overlooking is Valetta.
Point to note,not all rooms have balconies so again,if thats what you want ,make sure you pick it.
Staff were all very friendly and accomodating in all areas.
Location is superb about 100 yards from the entrance to the city of Valetta and right next to bus station,which is the main transport hub for the island.Also about 100 yards from the square in Floriana where occasional music events are held.While we were there there was an MTV concert,which was great and Rod Stewart was scheduled a few weeks later.

The pool and gardens are lovely ,a great place to chill out with lovely views.There was always enough sun loungers whatever time we turned up.

Breakfast on the terrace restaurant overlooking the city walls and harbour is a fantastic start to the day.
We tend to eat out in the evening when on holiday so cant really comment on dinner in the restaurant
There is no kiddy club or organised entertainment programme of aerobics,water polo etc,which is a plus to us,
Overall would have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

As the title says.............the phoenicia retains it's charm and elegance,in our opinion nothing much has changed apart from the decor and reception area,we were on the third floor in a refurbished room with wonderful views over floriana and beyond, room cleaned and cleared daily, breakfasts were a dream, even better than last time!!!,pool area as usual charming and blissfully quiet with great views over the harbour.simply cannot fault the place, highly reccomend to anyone.......Valletta has a lot going for it apart from the history and culture if you look, some great restaurants on the street off the main square past the fountains,no need for taxis to get around the island either, use the buses,an experience in itself,a bus ride to cirkekawa to get the ferry to gozo for a day trip costs 37 cents,amazing!!........added bonus for us was the Rod Stewart concert in Floriana, right outside the hotel..........10/10.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NFFCLOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Phoenicia for 3 nights in July. We came back to stay having had our honeymoon there 26 years ago. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms with a road view but it was nicely furnished with well equipped bathroom. Great shower, large and spacious bathroom with a large sink including the all important magnigying mirror for make-up application. The pool and gardens are simply beautiful and so enjoyable to walk through. The pool is a 4-5 minute walk from the hotel but through the well kept gardens so it's not a problem. Food at the pool bar is very good and the pizzas are recommended. Lots of comfy padded loungers and a large rectangular pool and kids pool. Totally stunning view of the harbour which is breathtaking. Breakfast is average but the fact that you eat on the lovely open air terrace is worth it. Dinner in the evening wasn't great at all however and I would say there are nicer/more reasonably priced places to eat in valletta. I would recommend Gianninis restaurant which has a terrace with amazing views especially at night (8 min walk from the hotel). Booking recommended.

Staff at the hotel on the whole are friendly and very helpful but service was a little slow at times in the restaurant and the bar. Reception staff and conceirge were great. We met the Hotel Manager at the cocktail party who was kind, helpful and very friendly. Would we go back? In a heartbeat. It is a wonderful hotel with a very intimate feel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £105 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing