We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed in one of the re furbished rooms on the third floor, very comfortable and well appointed. We used both of the hotel's restaurants, the bistro offered a 'meal deal' for two being choice of starter and main course plus a half litre carafe of good wine and a bottle of mineral water, the price of 49 euros for two was good value.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, most, it seems had worked there for years and took a pride in their work.
The hotel's public rooms are calm and elegant and it has a large garden which conceals a heated swimming pool.
Malta is well served by its bus network and services start and finish near to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    636
    164
    53
    22
See reviews for
238
1,367
112
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed here for a week in February 2011 in one of the un-renovated rooms. The room itself had the amenities one would expect, it was clean, spacious and reasonably priced for what it was... the mini -bar could have been more extensive.

Other aspects of the hotel held out much promise - the decor is traditional, but very pleasant, the staff all greet you as you pass by etc.... but, unfortunately, the place lets itself down in a number of ways:
- generally the service ethic is weak... mainly, I'd suggest because of under-staffing... on average the bar took 15-20 minutes to serve drinks (when it was actually open - not the times advertised), restaurant service was patchy - they often needed to be asked a second time where an order was
- we ate in the hotel several times - in each of their outlets and room service - the food was average at best and, more often than not, over-cooked
- the breakfast buffet offered the bare minimum selection I would expect from this level of hotel... and, again service was generally hurried and, sometimes, grudging

For a hotel that holds itself out as 5-star, the Phoenicia is not even close... 4 at best, and - more often - 3.5.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We booked in through Classic Collection for two weeks at the Phoenicia. The hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the main gate of Valletta city and right next-door to the bus station, which makes it perfectly situated for travelling around the island on the amazing old local buses. Thanks to double glazing our room was quiet, as we'd requested, and was as good as we'd expected, although slightly more comfortable armchairs could have been a plus.
The hotel has a beautiful large peaceful garden, underused by guests, with a heated open air pool at the end, although the cool air in February put us off taking the plunge (one or two people seem to have tried and enjoyed it).
Breakfast was excellent, and the two-for-one offer on the Sunday buffet lunch when we were there was very good value for money. Great food. The Pegasus brasserie was a bit disappointing - a more imaginative 'light bite' menu would help, and it can be draughty in some parts of the room, which might be welcome in summer but not in February. Still, you can get good snacks in the Club Bar and the hotel lounge, and the staff there are very obliging and affable.
In fact, the hotel staff in general are well-trained, friendly and attentive - from concierge and reception through to waiters and cleaners. They are a real asset to the place.
We heard from one of them that the Irish company which acquired the Phoenicia a couple of years ago is planning to invest in the property and expand it. There is certainly scope for sensitive development and some parts of the hotel might benefit from a refit. However, part of the appeal of this lovely old hotel is that you can discover lost corners with real atmosphere (explore the basement!), something which newer up-market competitors can hardly match.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I spent a weekend at Meridien Phoenicia and I must say it is a delightful hotel. The room was not perfectly clean but the beauty of the outdoor areas and the magnificence of the hall made it up for every little flaw. The restaurants are also very good and the breakfast is too lavish for words. The position is also very strategic: so close to the bus roundabout that in 2 minutes you can be on a bus leading you to every part of the island.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jintong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Phoenicia. Nothing could be faulted with our stay, from cleanliness to the service of every member of staff - and of course the amazing breakfasts. The situation is ideal for exploring Valletta; and the 'bus station right on-hand for further island exploration. The 'Pegasus' was an excellent dining venue too. We will certainly recommend Hotal Phoenicia to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

A re-visit to the Phoenica in January this year we found the hotel to be as elegant as ever. This time we were able to stay for three weeks. From the first day of our holiday we found all the staff to be exceptionally friendly and accomodating. A real five star treatment.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent especially in comparison with what was available in Valetta in the evening.
An added bonus was the heated swimming pool which one of us used nearly every day in the warm Malta weather.
Situated next to the city gates of Valletta it was beneficial to have the use of a large garden although out of season it was somewhat untidy.
We intend to return for another winter long stay holiday at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afleming_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I've been travellling to Malta for many years having lived and worked there in the early 1970s but have never stayed at the Phoenicia. I can't believe what I have been missing! This is a great hotel and is in a perfect location for Valletta and transport links to all parts of the islands. The deal we got by booking directly with the hotel was better than other hotels of a similar class on the island and this was over the New Year period. The staff are some of the best I've met, whether it's the reception, bar, restaurants or housekeeping, they were all first class. We had a fantastic stay, ate some great food and met some of the friendliest people you could imagine - highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broomhillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing