We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendliest hotel i have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The most friendliest hotel i have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed here for my birthday in March
The hotel is beautiful and centrally located in Valletta
You can catch the number 8 bus from the airport and it drops you very close to the hotel
The staff were very welcoming and warm
The breakfast was lovely - omlettes/irish breakfast/pastries/fruit you name it!
For my birthday they left a card and a chocolate cake in my room which was very sweet of them
I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pseudonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    644
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
243
1,385
113
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Very impressed with this hotel. I did not know which area we should stay when visiting Malta but have to admit that after this trip, I realized that I picked the best location. It is close to the bus station so you pay 0.50 centimes and you are taken from the Airport to the bus station and then it is a 2 minute walk to the hotel. All bus lines end up at this main bus station so it is a great way to get around and the hotel can't be any better placed or located. The staff are friendly and the rooms are very clean and just right. The only issue I could say about it is that there was no free internet in the room - so it was very expensive if I wanted to connect. In this day and age, wireless internet should be free with the room. Apart from that, I have no complaints. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchopty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Wow what a hotel! We were so impressed! As soon as we landed at the airport we knew this hotel was going to be good. They picked us up with the most friendly driver who chatted all the way to the hotel telling us all about Malta, then as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with the most welcome staff & given drinks in the foyer, which is absolutely beautiful and a great place to chill out and listen to the piano in the evenings. The other bar is fab too and great for a drink before and after dinner! The room was gorgeous with possibly the comfiest bed & pillows i've ever slept on and ours overlooked one of the harbours which was lovely! The location was great being located just outside the city wall of Valletta - great for shops, sight seeing, restaurants & wine bars! Lots of places within walkable distance!
If you are there on a Wednesday make sure to check out the drinks party in the foyer where you will mingle with all of the other guests and can swap ideas of the many great attractions to visit in Malta!
I 100% recommend people to stay here - young/old/family anyone! Being in my 20's I loved it! We also visited other hotels but none of them were as welcoming as here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We spent a few wonderful days at this classic styled, yet full of modern amenities, hotel. The room was clean, service flawless and could not have been better. Every member of the staff is courteous, helpful and obliging. And this includes members of room service, housekeeping and dining room. We were fortunate to be served by MS LOREDANA (front desk / reception) during our stay. She was extremely helpful, polite and always had a welcoming smile for the guests. Members of the concierge were well informed and helpful too. Breakfast was amazingly lavish.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZB Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERRY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Beautiful hotel with excellent facilities, very handy to bus terminus (47 cents from airport!), city gates 2 minutes walk, Francis, the concierge, is a gem, a great help and practical information. Got a magnificent room overlooking harbour on 4th. floor and champagne welcome for our wedding anniversary. Got great rate on Octopus travel site. A small negative of £9.50 for 2 hours internet to be used within 24 hours.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank TERRYTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Just come back from a 3-night stay in the Phoenicia Hotel which we really enjoyed. The staff were friendly and welcoming despite being inundated with evacuees from Libya. In fact the hotel was totally full but we didn’t feel over-crowded at all because it is very spacious and well built with high ceilings and wide corridors; also we never heard noise from other guests whilst in our room which was a real bonus, as we have stayed in more modern hotels where this has been a problem.

The only slight disappointment was our room which having read the descriptions beforehand we expected to have more character/individuality but was instead painted plain white with a plain white bathroom, the latter of which was somewhat ‘tired’ – Not really 5 star, more 4 star. However, the room (which was a standard double) was spacious with nice matching rattan furniture and plenty of drawer space. There was also tea and coffee making facilities although they only appeared to supply cream, not nice if you are a tea drinker like my husband, but we managed to buy some milk and kept it in the small fridge.

The breakfasts (served in a beautiful dining hall) were great, with plenty of variety including hot food (proper back bacon, eggs done any way you like, beans, hash browns, etc) and the usual cold buffet with fruit salad, yoghurts, pastries; you could even order kippers if you wanted. The orange juice was superb being freshly squeezed in a machine in front of you.

The weather wasn’t great so we ate in the Pegasus Brasserie a couple of nights – They do a special deal whereby you can have 2 starters, 2 main courses, half a carafe of wine and a bottle of water for 49 Euros; the food was nice although the choices were very limited.

We would certainly recommend this hotel as it represents excellent value for money (£226 for both of us for 3 nights B&B which is about £37.50 pppn). It is also conveniently located just outside the walls of Valletta – If we ever return to Malta we would definitely stay here again.

TIP - AVOID LA MERE RESTAURANT - We had a dreadful experience! We had to wait 50 minutes for our food with no apology given for the long wait. We wouldn’t have minded if the food had been good but the minced lamb kebabs were over-cooked and dry and the pork medallions were average at best. We were not asked once how the food was, not whilst eating it or when the plates were cleared away. Their whole attitude was like they were doing us a favour. We only tried the restaurant because it had been voted number 1 in Valletta – Now we are thinking it must have been by family and friends of the owners – AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StAlbansSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

For those who haven't been, Valletta is a heavily fortified city with buildings covering just about every inch of land. There is a pedestrian mall that runs though the center of the town where a lot of the museums, shops, and restaurants are located. To access the city, there is a main gate and a bus station where almost all tourist traffic is concentrated. This bus station and city gate is also the location of the Phoenica hotel. In terms of proximity to Valletta's attractions, this is the nicest hotel available.

The hotel itself is a bit old fashion. There's a piano lounge, dining room, and bar that offer relaxation and elegance. Its style is dated but not in a bad way. The rooms have been well used but are still nice. If you're the type that prefers modernized accommodations, you'll be best off staying in a resort hotel and commuting to Valletta. If you like the idea of a hotel with character, the Phoenicia is a good choice. However, if you want character, the Xara Palace in Mdina stands head and solders above the Phoenicia and all other hotels on the islands.

Other notes: Yes, you can hear the buses as they honk their way though the bus station...still got a great night's sleep in a room overlooking the station. The internet is expensive by any measure...over 20 euros per day. Parking was free...can't argue with that. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mat U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,841 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing