We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be drawn in by location!”
Review of Cafe' Matteo

Cafe' Matteo
Ranked #189 of 229 Restaurants in Valletta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be drawn in by location!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Food was poor and service worse.

We ordered Arancini and a Chicken Salad.

Arancini was bland and salad arrived without the coleslaw and yoghurt dressing advertised on the menu.

Asked waitress twice to ask about it. She was not interested to the point that she desperately tried to ignore us. Took meal back to find that they had run out of the dressing but didn't have the heart to tell us!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    18
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One to Avoid”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Location appealed to us for a drink and a snack , drinks and food are cheap in price, but quality of food is dreadful, we watched our food be taken to several tables before reaching us, then it being cold, staff too disorganised to even ask if all was ok. Visited the toilets and decided I really should of checked them out first before ordering food
Complained only to be told by manger not their problem, but actually ours, a few men that had been hanging round the bar gathered whilst we complained making this situation very uncomfortable

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelO200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great location, miserable service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Fantastic location in Valetta next to one of the main attractions. Miserable service when we ordered coffee so decided to go elsewhere for lunch.

Coffee was OK, the grumpy service cost them our lunch though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spirit67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We just went here one Saturday afternoon for a few coffees and drinks so I am not in a position to comment about the food.

The location is great but it seems to be a big hit with the pigeons too. It is so annoying to have them constantly coming to your table.

We waited for a long time before having our order taken. The waitress who served us looked so bored and depressed. No smiles whatsoever. It took her forever to input our orders on her electronic gadget. She didn't even know what a Jack Daniels was!

What a put off!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afrodeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Leonards, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Pigeons enjoyed my apple pie”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Another disappointing coffee. In the heart of Valletta this site has enormous potential to attract customers yet is lacking in customer service and quality. Large outdoor area with few patrons yet the service was lousy. The menu was water logged and stuck to the table and the one bored waitress was more interested with her mobile phone than actually servicing us. Coffee was OK but nothing spectacular, while the pigeons enjoyed my soggy apple pie.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe' Matteo also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe' Matteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing