We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castille Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
66 Saint Paul's(Valletta)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
96
202
88
30
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
202
88
30
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantsingle roomgrand harbourtop floorthe busticket kioskfloor lamparrivals hallmarble staircaseparliament buildingoverlooking the squareupper barrakka gardensalarm clockfaded eleganceold buildinginside the city wallsbest feature
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

- optimum location for Valletta and (bus) trips around Malta: situated on the highest point of the Sciberras peninsula with short distances to Valletta sights, immediately above the central bus terminal.
- very friendly staff, good service, comfortable room (a bit problematic looking into an inner "courtyard").
- breakfast adequate with a fine look acrosse the island.
- not suited for people who are after wellness facilities or beach life.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertWolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Just back from 7 nights in Castille Hotel. Best point was the friendly staff. Rooms are a little on the musty side but once the window was open this was not a problem. You have to allow for the age of the building and on a plus side this is part of the charm. The beds were comfortable and the linen and towels were spotless. We do not spend a lot of time on holiday in our room so as far as we were concerned this was spot on. The location is as good as you can get for exploring Valletta. You are in the old town and if you are an enthusiastic tourist and love to explore and soak up the culture then this is the spot. This was our second trip to Malta and we have only scratched the surface. This is not the place for you if you like a lively nightlife. (You would need to stay in Slima or similar)The old city just goes to sleep at night. There are still plenty of restaurants, indoor and outdoor to choose from but the athmosphere is more subdued and couple orientated.The hotel restaurant is situated on the roof-top and the views are beautiful over the harbour. The a la carte menu and wine list was extensive and the Menu de Jour at €18.00 per head for three courses was unbeatable value .We have stayed in a five star hotel in Valletta before but in this economic climate The Castille was excellent value for money and in our opinion the five star hotel is not worth twice the price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Although the building is very old, my single room was fitted with a modern shower and bathroom fittings. Good buffet breakfast included in my deal taken in rooftop dining room with great views over Valletta and the Grand Harbour. No hesitation in returning with my wife in June for summer vacation. Very convenient location with easy access to bus services to all parts of the island although these change in July 2011.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlynBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The architectural shell of the Hotel Castille is within a beautiful limestone building that dates back many hundreds of years. The high vaulted ceilings in the main foyer and a grand staircase are lovely. The location within the ancient city walls of Valletta is perfect for siteseeing and hoofing it to all the major attractions. However, the room decor is beyond funky and a major let down at first. But after checking around with the other hotels, I realized this was the best overall. So I just imagined I was living in a real live 1950's Film Noir and went with it ! If you get the same room I had, with the post WWII headboard that was once a High Fidelity radio console replete with built-in speakers, knobs and dials, the front desk will provide you with an extra pillow so you don't bruise your head when you sit up in bed. And just ask yourself; what would Peter Lorre or Sydney Greenstreet do, if they were in Malta ? Oh yes- even though the reception desk and wait staff is very polite and old school, avoid the breakfast buffet. Simply walk right around the corner to the Museum Cafe for possibly the best breakfast you've ever had. It's a neighborhood favorite and the tables are so small you are practically guaranteed to begin a conversation a genuine Maltese local.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

As always ,our welcome was warm and friendly. It was good to see the same familiar faces of the Staff who look after us so well. The hotel has a typical Maltese ambience which we love, the breakfast was good with a self-service buffet in the rooftop restaurant which commands lovely views of Grand Harbour, The Three Cities and surrounding area. We look forward to our next visit in 2011.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews