We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel but modern”
Review of Castille Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castille Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel is conveniently located at the top end of Valletta, and retains a period charm in its appearance. The rooms are reasonably sized, and the management has obviously made an attempt to modernize them, together with the bathrooms, though some of the detail could do with further improvement. The rooftop restaurant has excellent views over the suburbs and the Grand Harbour, and though the food is nothing spectacular, breakfast and dinner were more than adequate. Very good value for money, very friendly service (as everywhere on Malta), and to be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

The reception/ foyer is lovely. The gentleman on reception is very helpful and friendly-BUT
we had 2 rooms 16 & 28.Both had a small window to an enclosed area.The rooms smelt damp/musty & had very old carpet & curtains & generally needed a complete facelift.The bathroom was small but fine.The breakfast had a poor selection. I would not recommend staying here unless you read that it has been refurbished.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holiday_peopleDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

If you desire a fair priced hotel, with charm and in a great central location for visiting sites, you can do no wrong in staying at the Hotell Castille. Positioned close to the Auberge, gardens, saluting point and Cathedral. Very close to the hop on hop off stop for tour buses. Breath taking views of the harbour from roof top restaurant. Fair breakfast and well equiped bathroom. Room was old, but clean. AC worked well. Staff very friendly and helpful with setting up tours and taxis.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this 16th century hotel, and were pleasantly surprised at the fabulous restaurant. Views to die for! And our seafood dishes were delicious. Our expectations regarding the room itself were in accordance with the price, and so we weren't expecting the Trump Towers. Again, we were pleasantly surprised to get such a nice room for the money. All in all, we felt we got very good value here, and more importantly, the staff were delightful.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room, and were happy to find that ours fit the bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel is very nice. I haven't stayed in this hotel but the foyer and other facilities looked very nice and almost looks like a boutique hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the restaurant upstairs,which has got absolutely beautiful panoramic views and it is really romantic.

Food is very good. The prices are quite moderate. They do have very good choice of seafoods and other fishes and meats, but the best thing about the restaurant is the panoramic views and of course service is very professional as well. The hotel staff is very friendly and very professional.

I have dinned with my wife just the 2 of us but also later I have organized dinners for my friend's family and also for business purpose.

Evening views are just stunning.

Enjoy :-)

Shubho & Ania

Room Tip: Rooms I am not sure but for the Roof Top Restaurant book a table at the corner and out side for bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLI_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It had charm, ambiance and atmosphere. A sixteenth century hotel - what an experience. The staff were awesome, friendly, professional and nothing was too much bother. The rooftop restaurant was fantastic as was food at the Cave Restaurant. The hotel is central and five minutes from the bus terminal and shops. We will return. IT is not the five star Hyatt (thank goodness) but exactly what we wanted; an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Use only in case of emergency. If you are stuck with no booking in Valletta, Castille is a handy choice, meters away from buses and right near the pedestrianized area of the old city. Manage your expectations in terms of the room interior. But with so many things to go visit in Valletta, you won't spend much in the hotel anyway.
If the weather is nice and they serve breakfast on the top roof, chose to sit outside, the fantastic port view makes it well worth enduring the sun.
The staff is courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: No idea if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WexTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castille Hotel

Address: Castille Square, c/w St. Paul's Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 07, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range: £71 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castille Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castille Hotel Valletta
Castille Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing