We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a closer look at the rooms”
Review of Castille Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castille Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Time for a closer look at the rooms”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We don't mind going in hotels that are a bit fading, but when bugging little things add up, it's getting annoying.

The toilet wasn't flushing properly. The shower curtain should be changed and the shower had just a stream of water. You had to wait at least 5 minutes to get hot water. The heater was not functioning. Internet was not functioning all the time. They haven't done our room one day.

On the plus side, room was quiet, bed was comfortable, plenty to choose from for breakfast (buffet style) on the rooftop restaurant (can't beat that view) and the personnel was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    186
    82
    27
    26
See reviews for
38
171
102
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just had our second visit to this hotel. Yes, the place has 'fading grandness' and could do with a bit of modernising here and there but does that really matter? We feel that the absolute friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff is a far more important thing to remember. The Castille has superb views out across the water and the Three Cities. Maltese life in a city starts early and noisily - there's not much you can do about it. It's best to just go with the flow. Breakfast is ok and best taken out on the terrace in the sun.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jclarke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Very central for views, connectivity to buses and walking around. Room was basic but adequate and clean. Rather pricey but ok for a few days. Could be more generous with towels and toiletries. Bothered by mosquitos on last night so be prepared with sprays and/or repellant.

Staff were friendly enough and reasonably helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just spent six days here and would definitely visit again. It's in a fabulous central location in the capital Valletta with all it's culture and attractions.
Good quality rooms with bath or shower and great views.
There are two restaurants, one on the top floor and one at basement level. The lower one is a pizzeria and less formal whereas the top floor one also doubles as the breakfast room and from the terrace you can enjoy breathtaking views of the harbour and a large part of the whole island.
Good quality food and very friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are two lifts so why not get a higher room so that you can enjoy the amazing views from your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Unfortunately, I have trouble getting to sleep and - despite being told many times that Valletta was quiet - I found the sound of vespas, bells and loud discussions very disturbing. The city was packed!
I'd passed over the Castille because of its location, but it was great. The staff was very helpful and I was so grateful that they listened to me and found me a suitable room. I left behind my old alarm clock and, of course, that was kept for me too. Breakfast with the lovely view was just another plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moslote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel is an historic building with so much more character than it's modern equivalent. It is superbly located with great views of the harbour and you feel part of the day to day life of the Maltese people. Do not expect up to date fittings; the rooms are tired and some basic maintenance would easily bring it up to spec. Also, the breakfast is basic and somewhat confusing for the first couple of days stay and woe betide you if you are late because the staff are quick to clear away! I can recommend La Cave restaurant in the cellar - good value and friendly staff and live music on Thursdays. The reception staff are helpful and cheerful but the location and architecture more than offset the criticisms. Will hope to stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a outwards facing balcony - no tea making facilities so a travel kettle would so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newoknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is a great location in the city center, near the Barakka Gardens. Just a few blocks to the bus station and the main street. A nice breakfast (both hot and cold items) on the roof terrace is included. Rooms are basic and clean. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valletta
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castille Hotel

Property: Castille Hotel
Address: Castille Square, c/w St. Paul's Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 07, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castille Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castille Hotel Valletta
Castille Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing