We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Castille Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castille Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good location in the centre of Valletta, ideally situated for the local tourist attractions (all of which charge admission fees), shops, bars and restaurants. Bus station is only a few minutes walk away. The hotel itself is in a building which was constructed in the 16th century, so has a lot of charm. The rooms were all very clean, and the staff quite helpful, so no complaints there. The rooftop restaurant and terrace where breakfast is served has wonderful views over the Grand Harbour, the Three Cities and much of Malta as far as Mdina. Hotel (B&B basis) was good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wonderful location in Valletta, in the historical centre next to the Barrakka Gardens. Close to the bus station for easy day trips around the island. Easy access via the Barrakka Gardens lift to the waterfront restaurants. Our spacious room at the front of the hotel overlooked some grand old buildings and glimpsed harbour views. The views of Malta from the breakfast room on the top floor were amazing. The same restaurant offered good quality and well priced 3 course dinners. The Cave restaurant under the hotel is worth a visit too. Reception staff were always helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we had trouble accessing wifi on our floor but we didn't mind relaxing in the lounge on the ground floor where reception was fine. This hotel has charm and personality. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dldmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Returned for three weeks on a half board basis, the evening meal is very good value for €8.
Views from the roof top restaurant are probably amongst the best in Valletta, with great views over Valletta and The Three Cities.
Our room was overlooking the Bourse and the Auberge, good for people watching as they make there was to and from Barrakka Gardens nearby.
Each floor has a lounge/reading area as you exit the lift, the WiFi can be better in these areas.
Staff were friendly and helpful as before.
The Cave Restaurant under the Hotel is worth a visit.
The Lounge on the Ground Floor near Reception is a good place to meet folks, watch TV, etc.
We've rebooked for our next visit, half board of course.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The main feature is its position. This could not be better. The hotel is located in an old building just inside the city walls of Valletta. It is only a few minutes walk from the main bus station; near the pickup-up points for the hop-on hop-off open-top bus tours; and has a taxi rank outside.
There are two restaurants: one on the 5th floor with superb views over the Grand Harbour and even to the walls of Mdina, the other is a pizzeria/bistro in the basement. Breakfast is served in the 5th floor restaurant, which has a balcony with tables. There is a further small roof terrace above via a narrow spiral stair.
Overall the hotel is in need of a bit of a re-decoration and parts look tired - but remember this is an old building. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although the dead moth in the bathroom stayed longer than we did. Breakfast is perfectl;y adequate, but don't expect any surprises - tea/coffee from a machine. The restaurant is good, but there are better restaurants in Valletta. Prices are reasonable (as is the local wine).
Staff are very friendly and very helpful. An alarm call and taxi at 5am was no problem.
There are lifts (2) to all floors, but they start about 6 steps up from reception. Remember this is an old building. The staircase to the second floor is Grand.
We stayed for a week and chose this hotel for its position. Would we stay again? Yes - it does what it says it'll do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BloomfieldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived on a Friday at 6PM. The toilet flush was broken and we realized it too late to avoid the brown-embarrasment. We went down to reception to complain. The receptionist sympathized but told us it was too late to repair it until the following day - so we had paid for an ensuite room with a broken toilet and management was not about to offer any compensation. Saturday came, the toilet was fixed around 12 noon, but the chambermaid who cleaned the room in the afternoon broke the flush mechanism. It was not her fault: the mechanism was so old a child could break it. We complained a second time and were invited to use the toilet in the lobby, three stories from our room. Reception said they had no plumber on a weekend, so now the third day without a functioning toilet flush. On Sunday my partner was so stressed out by not having a toilet that she took a hot bath. I heard a crash in the bathroom and came running in. The shower curtain crashed down on her: a cheap faded plastic rod held up by two suction caps. Lucky she was unhurt. The manager Mario was unapologetic. He kept saying "but this is nothing serious." Compound this with the breakfasts, which must be the worst breakfasts you will find in Valletta: cold bread, tasteless orange juice, such weak coffee you cannot distingish it from tea or sea water. The view is the only thing the Castille has to recommend. It should be downgraded to 2 stars. Go elsewhere if you want a stress-free trip.

Room Tip: Never unpack your suitcase without checking out everything in the toilet. Especially the flush mecha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Sebastian486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mario a, General Manager at Castille Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

I am sorry to hear about the mishaps. It seems that you were really after a compensation but was shy to ask for it! Is it possible that things never go wrong in a private house? One minute a gadget works perfectly and the next not? we do have maintenance men on weekends! But which 4 or 5 star hotel has a 24 hr maintenance team? You mentioned yourself that the first time it was fixed, it was a Saturday. You put the blame on the maid the second time round but she categorically denies it. The purposely built super lightweight shower curtain cannot hurt a baby, yet you seem to make a fuss for it missing your wife!
I will pass your comments about the coffee to the Lavazza Coffee agent! Bread is normally cold when it does not come out directly from the oven or toasted.
I wonder why we get so many repeat guests!! Any further comments would be superfluous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Staff very helpful indeed, good breakfast, very nice room but the bathroom needed updating.
The hotel is in an excellent position with a roof top restaurant (average food)but wonderful views of the city and Grand Harbour, a bistro in the cellar which was very good and a café also excellent. We stayed one week.
Retired couple

Room Tip: Go off season as I should imagine it will be a bit noisy in the height of the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bessie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for nearly two weeks - so it was a bit of a test for me, and the hotel. The first night I was put into the smallest single room possible; it was pretty grim, especially as there was scaffolding right outside the window, with very noisy and dusty work being carried out (mainly in the morning). I was then relocated to a marginally larger room, which I put up with for the remainder of my stay. I made every effort to get out of the hotel every morning and afternoon, and in that respect I got to see more of Valetta and Malta than I otherwise would have.
The breakfast was taken in the restaurant on the rooftop - the sights from here were marvelous; it has to be one of the best viewing spots in Valletta. The food at breakfast was pretty basic, nothing fancy. And the same could be said for the lunches, and the dinners in this restaurant. There was a plat du jour, which was reasonably priced (by Valletta standards). And there was a restaurant in the basement where they served pasta and pizzas; the wine was fairly-priced here.
One or two of the staff were sort of friendly - but not all of them. The wifi did not work for me at first; but I mentioned this to reception, and they provided me with a router for my room.
This hotel is in an ideal location; but it needs to be given a makeover; it needs to be "boutiqued" and upgraded.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldfairdealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castille Hotel

Address: Castille Square, c/w St. Paul's Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 07, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castille Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castille Hotel Valletta
Castille Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing