We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wake to harbour view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wake to harbour view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We booked a room with a terrace. This was a lovely area to sit. However, the view from the window was equally as good. There was a different ship coming in each morning. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Great location, all attractions and buses within easy walk. The room had been newly renovated and we had plenty of room. Bathroom was very user friendly. The lift was a bit scary at first when it stops with a jolt. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, I felt they needed to have more up to date tourist information. The hotel is in its final stages of renovations so no breakfast was on offer as the kitchen was being renovated. We were made aware of this when booking the room. I'm glad we arrived by taxi as there are many stairs in all of the streets in Valletta. Would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: spend the extra $$ and ask for a room with a terrace if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soccernerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    220
    53
    15
    12
See reviews for
47
272
37
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
332 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

It may only be a two star hotel but it has a million dollar view. Make sure to order a room facing the Grand Harbour. It is worth to pay the extra cost to have THE VIEW. The room is modern and even the bathroom.

The staff especially Mario is very friendly. It is a family-owned hotel. Currently they are doing the renovation so the shabby looking lobby and eating area will soon be modernized.

The room 402 is very modern. The only thing that can be improved is that they can put a rubber chair tip so the guests cannot hear when the guests on the floor above you drag their chairs.

This hotel is a good base while touring Valletta and its surrounding areas like Sliema, Birgu and St. Julian. Because it is located in Valletta, the bus terminal going to the different areas in Malta is about 10 min to walk from the hotel. The stairs leading to the hotel is charming but just be careful in walking.

Taxi fare from the hotel to the airport is 18 euro.

I highly recommended this hotel because its facilities is modern referring to the rooms at the moment and the view is beautiful. I think this is a better choice than staying in the 2 5 star hotels in the area cos their view is not the Grand Harbour but the lesser beautiful view of Sliema.

Just be aware that their elevator is small so only 2 people with luggages can be accommodated.

Room Tip: Rooms from the 4th to the 6th floor facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingisagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great location and tremendous views over the harbour. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. I was in a refurbished room - comfortable bed, large bathroom with shower. Excellent stay for the price. The addition of tea and coffee making would be good but hotel is highly recommended none-the-less.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a harbour view - lovely to wake up to that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnski02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location with amazing views of the Grand Harbour Valletta. I recommend this hotel to any one. Good staff Excellent staff so helpful chatty and informative. They really make this hotel worth staying at, yes it is 2star but the rooms are clean and the shower is great. The hotel is having a refurbishment at the moment and it will then look a little better to people who are fussy! This is a great place to stay.Very happy staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 10Euro i think it is and have the Grand Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at The Grand Harbour Hotel on a short break with my elderly Mother. I specifically booked the hotel because they advertised a twin room with a private roof terrace which I thought would provide a nice place to relax. However when we arrived we found that the room we had been allocated was a double, and with a very small double bed at that. When I complained I was told that there were no twin rooms with private terrace and that it was a fault on the Booking.com website that I had been able to book a room that doesn't exist. We were eventually moved to a twin room with a sea view, and they did refund the difference in price. However, there was no outside space to enjoy the autumn sunshine, so it was not what we had hoped for.
The room itself had been recently refurbished and was clean and bright. However the beds were cheap and flimsy, little more than camp beds with an MDF surround and were not comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom didn't have a proper shower, just a hand held device which tended to leak water all over the floor. There were no full length mirrors or tea/coffee making facilities, so all in all there was a lack of comfort. The common areas of the hotel are very run down and dingy - although hopefully they should be re-furbished soon.
On the other hand the location of the hotel is fantastic - moments away from the city centre and with fabulous views. The staff were generally friendly and helpful and provided us with some good recommendations for local restaurants.
Valletta is a fabulous place to visit for a city break and I will definitely be back, and may stay at the Grand Harbour- mainly for the view and location.

Room Tip: The rooms with a private roof terrace are great, but beware that the twin ones don't exist. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

1. Truly proime central location in the middle of Valletta old city
2. Minutes' walk to the central bus terminus
3. EXcellent, newly renovated rooms with all facilities required for a sleeper - and you don't spend much of a day time in your room in Malta.
4. Free and a very good speed wi-fi
5. A TRULY MILLION DOLLAR VIEW, at least it was from my room #507 - across the harbour to Three Cities
6. Great personal attitude from Mario, hotel's proprieitor, who quickly becomes your friend and a great help in exploring this beautiful country
7. Generous continental breakfast - nothing luxury, but quite more than enough

Dear Marion, thanks once more, and hope to see you again! And you will see my friends staying with you very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
243 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights with great weather so we used the terrace attached to the room on the 6th. floor and enjoyed the fanastic view at the start and end of the day.
The entrance could be improved as it looks so dated.
Well located for enjoying the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lagoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Consiglia
Palazzo Consiglia
#7 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 47 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1221, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Valletta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbour Valletta
Hotel Grand Harbour
Grand Harbour Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing