We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having stayed a few times at the hotel, I would recommend it for a traveler looking for value for money accommodation. The hotel is ideally located in Valletta, and everything is walking distance from there. The rooms I have stayed in, were re renovated recently. Friendly staff. The breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickSimatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Grand Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We booked a room with a terrace. This was a lovely area to sit. However, the view from the window was equally as good. There was a different ship coming in each morning. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Great location, all attractions and buses within easy walk. The room had been newly renovated and we had plenty of room. Bathroom was very user friendly. The lift was a bit scary at first when it stops with a jolt. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, I felt they needed to have more up to date tourist information. The hotel is in its final stages of renovations so no breakfast was on offer as the kitchen was being renovated. We were made aware of this when booking the room. I'm glad we arrived by taxi as there are many stairs in all of the streets in Valletta. Would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: spend the extra $$ and ask for a room with a terrace if you can afford it
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soccernerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It may only be a two star hotel but it has a million dollar view. Make sure to order a room facing the Grand Harbour. It is worth to pay the extra cost to have THE VIEW. The room is modern and even the bathroom.

The staff especially Mario is very friendly. It is a family-owned hotel. Currently they are doing the renovation so the shabby looking lobby and eating area will soon be modernized.

The room 402 is very modern. The only thing that can be improved is that they can put a rubber chair tip so the guests cannot hear when the guests on the floor above you drag their chairs.

This hotel is a good base while touring Valletta and its surrounding areas like Sliema, Birgu and St. Julian. Because it is located in Valletta, the bus terminal going to the different areas in Malta is about 10 min to walk from the hotel. The stairs leading to the hotel is charming but just be careful in walking.

Taxi fare from the hotel to the airport is 18 euro.

I highly recommended this hotel because its facilities is modern referring to the rooms at the moment and the view is beautiful. I think this is a better choice than staying in the 2 5 star hotels in the area cos their view is not the Grand Harbour but the lesser beautiful view of Sliema.

Just be aware that their elevator is small so only 2 people with luggages can be accommodated.

Room Tip: Rooms from the 4th to the 6th floor facing the harbour.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingisagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great location and tremendous views over the harbour. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. I was in a refurbished room - comfortable bed, large bathroom with shower. Excellent stay for the price. The addition of tea and coffee making would be good but hotel is highly recommended none-the-less.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a harbour view - lovely to wake up to that view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnski02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location with amazing views of the Grand Harbour Valletta. I recommend this hotel to any one. Good staff Excellent staff so helpful chatty and informative. They really make this hotel worth staying at, yes it is 2star but the rooms are clean and the shower is great. The hotel is having a refurbishment at the moment and it will then look a little better to people who are fussy! This is a great place to stay.Very happy staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 10Euro i think it is and have the Grand Harbour view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at The Grand Harbour Hotel on a short break with my elderly Mother. I specifically booked the hotel because they advertised a twin room with a private roof terrace which I thought would provide a nice place to relax. However when we arrived we found that the room we had been allocated was a double, and with a very small double bed at that. When I complained I was told that there were no twin rooms with private terrace and that it was a fault on the Booking.com website that I had been able to book a room that doesn't exist. We were eventually moved to a twin room with a sea view, and they did refund the difference in price. However, there was no outside space to enjoy the autumn sunshine, so it was not what we had hoped for.
The room itself had been recently refurbished and was clean and bright. However the beds were cheap and flimsy, little more than camp beds with an MDF surround and were not comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom didn't have a proper shower, just a hand held device which tended to leak water all over the floor. There were no full length mirrors or tea/coffee making facilities, so all in all there was a lack of comfort. The common areas of the hotel are very run down and dingy - although hopefully they should be re-furbished soon.
On the other hand the location of the hotel is fantastic - moments away from the city centre and with fabulous views. The staff were generally friendly and helpful and provided us with some good recommendations for local restaurants.
Valletta is a fabulous place to visit for a city break and I will definitely be back, and may stay at the Grand Harbour- mainly for the view and location.

Room Tip: The rooms with a private roof terrace are great, but beware that the twin ones don't exist. It...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1bsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

1. Truly proime central location in the middle of Valletta old city
2. Minutes' walk to the central bus terminus
3. EXcellent, newly renovated rooms with all facilities required for a sleeper - and you don't spend much of a day time in your room in Malta.
4. Free and a very good speed wi-fi
5. A TRULY MILLION DOLLAR VIEW, at least it was from my room #507 - across the harbour to Three Cities
6. Great personal attitude from Mario, hotel's proprieitor, who quickly becomes your friend and a great help in exploring this beautiful country
7. Generous continental breakfast - nothing luxury, but quite more than enough

Dear Marion, thanks once more, and hope to see you again! And you will see my friends staying with you very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,243 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
348 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: 47 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1221, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Valletta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £75 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbour Valletta
Hotel Grand Harbour
Grand Harbour Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing