We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the fine print.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Could have been a better experience. Got a good deal on Booking.com. Didn't read the fine print though, my TWO YEAR OLD "counts" -- even though she sleeps in bed with us when we travel. Our bad, we missed the fine print. Look: I've stayed in DOZENS of hotels, look at how many reviews I have... never have I had to pay for my two year old. So I had to upgrade to a triple for another 100E, and the guy at the desk "had no choice". Clearly he could have overlooked the age of my toddler for the sake of customer service. There's a difference between being "right" and being mercifully courteous. He was right, but guess who will never stay there again? This guy. Guess who will write a mediocre review on Trip Advisor? This guy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papisat, Owner at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Harbour Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that paying a €25 supplement for upgrading your room to a larger room with a double bed and a single bed + buffet breakfast tarnished your stay with us.

We assure you that even after paying the supplement for the upgrade, it is still a great deal hard to find in Valletta in this level of accommodation.

No fine print: free children’s age limit is clearly stated, and difficult to miss when reserving on the mentioned web site.

It is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you once more in the near future.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

For Valletta this hotel is ideal. Nice and quiet, despite being right by the harbour, newly refurbished, and very good value for money. All the staff were polite and friendly, and there is a great roof terrace with amazing views. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gordor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First time to Malta and wanted to stay in Valletta near the town center. This Hotel was superbly located and had the nicest view of the Harbour. BUT we were there in March 2014 and when we arrived they were busy with renovations and although it wasn't noisy it was still annoying that they didn't warn us. We couldn't use the main entrance and had to enter through a narrow door on the side of the building with shabby furniture and wires everywhere. BUT in saying this it was really not so bad. Our room was small but comfy, the views were great, the staff were friendly and helpful and there was the most amazing mediterranean restaurant just below the hotel. Malta is amazing so you don't really spend a lot of time in your hotel in any case, so at the end of the day if you can get a place that's clean, comfy and affordable then it's worth it.

Room Tip: Getting a room with a harbour view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Grand Harbour Hotel is gorgeously located next to the Valletta Harbour, providing nice views even if your room isn't in the front. The staff is most accommodating, arranging for us to extend our stay when they were heavily booked after we changed our travel plans. The traditional British breakfast is excellent, but not for a long-term stay--more daily variety is necessary. Getting to the hotel on foot from the bus station requires walking many steep stairs, but if this is a problem one can catch a cab.

Room Tip: You probably won't get a room with a great view if you book through an agency. Expect to pay a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epodwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Simple, clean and quiet hotel at a convenient location in Valletta. The gentleman at the reception was very helpful and friendly when we arrived, providing us with all sorts of information. Easy to walk everywhere. While the room was a bit small, it was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by the grand harbour hotel. Set on Valetta's coastal promenade, the hotel is walking distance to all the sites and restaurants. The rooms (mine only had partial sea view) are a lot newer and cleaner and than the exteriors of the historic building would make you think. You can tell they've had a facelift recently. Comfortable beds, extremely clean bathrooms and a very satisfying experience overall. The reception area is still begin renovated but I didn't find that to be a nuisance in any way whatsoever.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It was my first visit to Malta, the city is very nice, the hotel was excellent, spacy, clean, te service was excellent and the staff friendly
the food was good and diversified
the rooms are big, clean and well furnished

Room Tip: sea view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ziad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,084 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: 47 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1221, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Valletta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £77 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbour Valletta
Hotel Grand Harbour
Grand Harbour Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing