We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Roof with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Roof with a View”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It does the job just right for anyone visiting Valletta. You are not in the middle, just on the edge looking out over Senglea, Birgu and Kalkara. You get a great view from the open air roof top. Its all safe up there, which a wall and railing and such a lovely place to spend an evening with a bottle of wine watching the lights twinkle and boats go past all light up.
This old place has just been renovated. All new tiles, furniture, bathroom etc. Beds were firm, clean sheets and floor, flat screen TV if you are that way inclined and free wifi (which was an issue from the 5th floor, signal was weak). There were some finishing issues as the shower leaked and the sink didn't drain that quick. We were out the back which looked over the roofs of old Valetta building, this has a beauty of its own. I guess the views from the other side would be nicer and probably cost more. The included breakfast cannot be better. Loads of food, cooked properly and the usual selection from any buffet you would get in a large hotel. It certainly was enough for me and I didn't need to eat all day after enjoying the Grand Harbours effort :)
Its 5 minute from the main bus depot which will get you anywhere on the island for....1.50€ day ticket. Yes, 1.50€ for all day on any bus. What a result that is.
There seems to be some complaints about church bells in Valletta. Yes, there are lost of churches in a very small place. But most stop dinging after 9pm or so. There was just one that went on a little later. No big deal. Keep the air con on and new windows shut. If you face out to the bay, you could probably sleep with the windows open.
The staff were well friendly, made us a cuppa Saturday evening at no cost.
I will probably go back here in September when I hope to visit Malta again.

Room Tip: take a bay room for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    235
    61
    15
    12
See reviews for
49
299
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marsalforn, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a great place to stay in Valletta. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. Very accommodating staff and service is with a smile. The hotel commands fabulous views of the harbour and the location is perfect as it is only a short walk to the city centre. Highly recommended and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helmy289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The views of Valletta Harbor were spectacular. It would be good to read a little history (1565) to really appreciate it. The service and advice for site seeing from Chris, Mario and Robert was wonderful. The Grand Harbor Hotel is conveniently located five minute walk up hill to main street with Cathedral of St. John, Knights of Malta Palace, wine bars and cafes. Ten minute walk down hill to Valletta Harbor and waterfront dining. Wonderful starting point for countryside tours to temples built 3600BC, more amazing scenic views, site seeing and swimming at Xlendi Bay & Azure window on Gozo or Blue Lagoon on Comino. One of my favorite things to do was to buy a bottle of wine from lobby bar and take it to rooftop for amazing night time views and listen to jazz music emanating from the street level bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MAMEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

When booking the hotel by phone, I was told the room had a balcony. It did not. I ended up sitting on a stoop in the street outside the hotel to have a cigarette or two.

Breakfast was served 2.5 blocks away at a restaurant. That's fine, as long as it isn't raining. The hotel guests weren't even offered an umbrella for the walk, even though the rain was bucketing down.

The bed was too hard for my back. I asked for some extra duvets or blankets to "soften it up" and was told that it was the best bed on the market. NOT FOR MY BACK! My back got worse and worse for each night. On our last night there, there was "suddenly" an extra mattress on my side of the bed. Too little, too late. Physiotherapy ensued.

This is a rather small hotel (which we usually like). After a week's stay, the reception was STILL asking us what our room number was! Not exactly personal service.

This hotel would have gotten a zero, if possible. The only reason it gets poor instead of terrible is that the location is great. But there are other hotels in town that I am sure would be better to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariPottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papisat1, Owner at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your views here.

Although 4 months have passed since your stay with us, we remember you very well.

Your room was no smoking, something that you did not observe.

You are stating that your brand new room did not have a balcony when in fact you had two balconies with one of them over 30 feet long and you did smoke there, as I saw you myself a couple of times.

It is the norm for many hotels to serve breakfast in the vicinity. Due to the renovations, this lasted 3 weeks, and now breakfast is served again in our new restaurant.

Rain is scarce in Malta, but umbrellas are not. You could have easily asked for one.

I wonder why you have complained about the hardness of the mattress after 6 nights, when you came to settle the bill. As you know, we provided you with a softer one.

It is sad, that because we did not fulfill your request to give you a 50% discount, you give us a poor review here, as you forewarned us you would do.

Sorry, we do not accept threats.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Could have been a better experience. Got a good deal on Booking.com. Didn't read the fine print though, my TWO YEAR OLD "counts" -- even though she sleeps in bed with us when we travel. Our bad, we missed the fine print. Look: I've stayed in DOZENS of hotels, look at how many reviews I have... never have I had to pay for my two year old. So I had to upgrade to a triple for another 100E, and the guy at the desk "had no choice". Clearly he could have overlooked the age of my toddler for the sake of customer service. There's a difference between being "right" and being mercifully courteous. He was right, but guess who will never stay there again? This guy. Guess who will write a mediocre review on Trip Advisor? This guy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papisat, Owner at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Harbour Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that paying a €25 supplement for upgrading your room to a larger room with a double bed and a single bed + buffet breakfast tarnished your stay with us.

We assure you that even after paying the supplement for the upgrade, it is still a great deal hard to find in Valletta in this level of accommodation.

No fine print: free children’s age limit is clearly stated, and difficult to miss when reserving on the mentioned web site.

It is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you once more in the near future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For Valletta this hotel is ideal. Nice and quiet, despite being right by the harbour, newly refurbished, and very good value for money. All the staff were polite and friendly, and there is a great roof terrace with amazing views. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gordor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First time to Malta and wanted to stay in Valletta near the town center. This Hotel was superbly located and had the nicest view of the Harbour. BUT we were there in March 2014 and when we arrived they were busy with renovations and although it wasn't noisy it was still annoying that they didn't warn us. We couldn't use the main entrance and had to enter through a narrow door on the side of the building with shabby furniture and wires everywhere. BUT in saying this it was really not so bad. Our room was small but comfy, the views were great, the staff were friendly and helpful and there was the most amazing mediterranean restaurant just below the hotel. Malta is amazing so you don't really spend a lot of time in your hotel in any case, so at the end of the day if you can get a place that's clean, comfy and affordable then it's worth it.

Room Tip: Getting a room with a harbour view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#4 of 15 in Valletta
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
317 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 47 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1221, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Valletta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbour Valletta
Hotel Grand Harbour
Grand Harbour Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing