We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good everything else so-so”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The location in the centre of Valletta is terrific. The hotel has been recently renovated. The hallways are very big and empty and the rooms small, although the bathrooms were an adequate size. The breakfast is a buffet with a range of German/English/Italian items but of very poor quality. One morning the sausages were clearly reheated from the day before. The coffee is inexcusably bad for a Mediterranean location - the self-serve automated coffee machine has no place in a 3 star hotel. If you stay here head to Republic Street and its cafes for breakfast.

The reception staff are all multi-lingual(English, Malti, German and French) from observation but the customer service is patchy. The restaurant staff verge on the bad tempered especially if asked to attend to the bar in the evening. An espresso machine is prominent behind the bar but in 4 days I never saw it used or the bar staffed. The lounge area is pleasant with comfortable chairs but underused due to the lack of bar service. One evening I requested a coffee and was given one from the self-serve machine - it was as always undrinkable. The food and coffee was a shock after a week in Sicily where both are very good.

Room Tip: If you stay here eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydney_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here b&b for 5 nights and it was a good choice. Hotel is very central in Valletta and you can walk anywhere from here. The breakfast was OK but didn,t like the coffee, they have gone with one of those self service machines that are appearing everywhere and I find it undrinkable. All else was OK. They also do lunch and buffet dinner but we ate out each night. The rooms are a good size and clean, not much choice on the cable TV though unless you are Italian. There is a lounge downstairs with a book exchange and board games also a computer with access at 1 euro for an hour. There is a bar and one of the restaurant staff must be called to serve you. Also on the top floor is a sundeck and a small pool, OK to cool off in but not big enough for much else.Would stay here again and after touring the island very glad we choose to stay in Valletta.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneyalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for 8 nights in October. Absolute gem and we will be going back. I don't understand any of the bad reviews!!. It's s three star hotel and you get three star service. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was fine and the staff did their jobs. The cost is half that of a five star so I do not understand people who expect palatial suites with sweeping views of the city. There are two five star hotels close by and we have stayed in one of them but as we only sleep in our hotel room I much prefer to spend my money on trips etc. The receptionist was very helpful regarding how to get here and there and we never passed the reception not to see someone being helped on their way. On our last day our flight was not until the evening and as the luggage room was full the manager let us store our bags in his room until we were ready to go. There is so much to see in Valletta let alone the whole island of Malta that we know we will have to go back a few more times to see all we want to. We are already arranging to go around April/May next year and we will be staying at The Osborne.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel in October. Ideal location right in the old town of Valletta. Lovely hotel which looks to have been recently renovated. Good sized bedroom on the 5th floor with great view. Breakfast good.
Only little niggle was that the bar was rarely open and when it was a member of staff was brought grudgingly to serve.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueh1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

nice 3 star hotel room clean ,big with a good bathroom' good airconditioning good but above bed. breakfast soso but coffee good.Staff pleasant and helpful
Some parts of Town under restoratation a bit dusty ,not enough to cause problem Near centre of Valletta easy to walk ,but parts of town could be difficult for people with moblity problems.Plenty of eateries within short distance from hotel. St Julians worth a trip a short bus ride away. last thing sundeck v nice on the small side if everybody there at once could be crowded

Room Tip: get one with a window over street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

* Well-located hotel in the centre of Valetta
* Average rooms and service (with the exception of Ronny), with the pretension of being classy.
* Arrived around mid-night and was received by a very grumpy receptionist.
* Room's "semi-vista": a little window above the toilet
* Breakfast (nothing to write home about) not included in daily room fee
* Asked receptionist to send a fax. She returned 5 min. later and told me all was successfully sent. When I requested the original paper, it turned out she had not done it yet
* Computer use more expensive than I paid anywhere else
* After complaining about the room and the service, the staff felt so guilty, that we were offered a room with a lovely view on the 6th floor for our last night. To a certain degree that made up for the other shortcomings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groengras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsborneHotel, Manager at Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear Clients, while I thank you for taking the time to write your comments on our hotel, I would like to clarify some of your comments.

The Osborne Hotel is an above average three star hotel having two room types, Standard and Sea View. The room allocated to you for your stay was a standard room as booked and paid for. This room in particular has a window with partial Sea View and another window in the bathroom.

Our staff do their utmost to assist our clients. I do apologies on behalf of our receptionist as it seems there was a misunderstanding regarding the fax. It has been left at my office to retry sending the fax as the line was busy. However this was taken care of and successfully sent. We also took the initiative to ask you for the email address so to send it also by email to make sure this reaches the receiver.

Since we very much value our clients comments, we upgraded you to a Sea View room free of charge for your second stay at our hotel and made sure that you were satisfied.

Kind regards,

Brian Caruana
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Standard rooms are small, bathrooms though are fair sized.
There are 3 rooms on the top floor with stupendous views
of the harbor and Valetta. A supplement applies. Request
via e-mail. Hotel guests are offered an "all you can eat"
dinner incl. a small carafe of wine for EU 9.90 p.p.
Front desk and barman friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVPresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £81 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing