We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days in Jan 2012. It is in a fantastic position in the historic area of Valletta. The hotel is in excellent condition, very clean with charming but modern styled rooms. The rooms have everything you would require and are very quite and relaxing. The hotel has a restaurant and bar which is also very good and very well priced. The location of the hotel is very good being in the historic area with access to all the near by attractions. Its also very close to the bus station with great links to other areas in Malta. The staff in the hotel are also very welcoming and friendly. I would totally recommend this hotel for a stay in Valetta.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martingarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    522
    194
    65
    38
See reviews for
126
549
97
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany, Connecticut
Level Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The positive first: absolutely great location, within a few minutes walking to anywhere in the beautiful city; very clean, with large room (but tight full bathroom); helpful receptionists. On the negative: you can hear the adjoining rooms TV's, there are no rugs in the room to muffle and warm your own footsteps, only half a dozen TV channels, with one in English (European CNN); breakfast, included is hopeless with dried up scrambled eggs, instant coffee machines, improperly labelled juice machines, stale baked goods... I still recommend it because the price is reasonable, it's perfectly located, it's clean. After looking around, I did not see alternatives within Valletta itself: Malta seems to have reserved its better hotels for its resorts, but then those are huge and away from city and country activities. We would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle-DSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Room was cleaned once a day, there is dust under the desk was there when I got there are was shame as when I left,
The bed I was sleeping in the bottom sheet was not charged in 28 days ,
the Bath Room Door in the inside was No lock is was missing, the tiles in there was not cleaned off all all the whole 28days
Food was ok but there was One sweet cake, every night a t the meal

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you take it and check over the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

A good value hotel with an excellent helpful reception, I was a bit disappointed with the wifi charge, (1.50 per hour ) for the service in your room, and 1 Euro for the bar, cafe area on the ground floor. I think this should surely be free, as is common with a lot of hotels nowadays. My other gripe was a constant low level humming sound in the room, which we were informed was the Air conditioning. However, the rooms seemed to be well insulated from other noise, which was good. Otherwise, the cleanliness of the hotel and very efficient chambermaids was very good. The beds could have been a bit firmer, starting to get a bit tired I thought.
The restaurant was ok for breakfast, but was really dominated by the full Engish variety, which does get a bit much after a while. Otherwise, there was sliced bread, jams, and cereal on offer, fruit and yoghourt . We had our first evening meal in the restaurant, but thought it was very much a budget affair, and for the rest of the week we went to many local restaurants, which were very good. My particular favourite was Rabbit, which I recommend .all in all, the Osbourne is a good hotel up to a point.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 755Tony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

As others have reported, this hotel is very central - within easy flatish walking distance of the city centre and bus station (one of our party needs a walking stick to aid mobilitybut found the walk to the city centre easily mangeable). This is important in a city which has some very steep hills.
We found the hotel very welcoming and reeption was very helpful with maps and local information- although when we arrived early we had to put our own bags in the luggage room in the basement not a big problem but obviously not that secure.
Our rooms were clean and comfortable, again one small niggle was the bathroom in the single room was minute, to use the WC you had to squeeze behind the hand basin - and the member of our party using this romm is only 5'3"!!
Others have commented on the breakfast and we'd agree - it was adequate but not spectacular, the fruit was tinned not fresh and the coffee is awful - but then we struggled to find a decent coffee in Valletta so it could be that Malta needs a lesson in coffee making! We did not have an evening meal in the hotel so can't comment on quality/service.
Although we visited in November, we went up to the roof terrace for the exensive views over the city - there is a small pool on the roof with a sun deck - all looked clean and very inviting - shame it was too cold to take a dip.
Overall we would reccommend this hotel - the niggles are small and certainly did not detract from what was a very enjoyable trip to Malta.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JREDartford_Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is in a very good position (200 m to bus terminal and 50m to the city centre) and very comfortable. The rooms are quite silent and there is flat TV inside. One drawback is the breakfast, especially if you don't like English breakfast, in addition the coffee is not very good and the brioches are not of a very high quality. They should also provide some more complimentary soaps, swimming caps, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Osborne Hotel, Valleta, Malta is located conveniently close to the city centre. The rooms are a good size with a decently-sized bathroom. The beds are comfortable. Whilst the hotel is in an old building, all the facilities are modern and of a high standard. The food is also good but the outstanding point here is that evening meals for guests is very cheaply priced with two carafes of wine thrown in free of charge. The service at the reception desk is also very good and helpful with one especially loquacious chap. All in all, my wife and sons rated this hotel as providing very good service and we would strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Valleta.

We were not happy about being charged for access to the internet, although we know this seems to be standard practice. On one evening we were unable to obtain access because the reception desk had no more tickets with the appropriate passwords available. That was a small price to pay for a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#4 of 15 in Valletta
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
316 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing