We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good except for the breakfast”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel is very well located in the center of Valletta, friendly and helpful staff at reception. Beds and bathrooms were great, our bathroom had a terrace with a stunning view of the harbor and part of the town. The breakfast, however, was below standards. Orange juice undrinkable, scrambled eggs were more of a salty custard, inedible. Of course this is easy to fix, if the management does that, this is a great hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWBRUXELLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. On the whole it was very comfortable, centrally located and had a lovely roof top sitting area with a plunge pool. The breakfasts were good, most of the staff very helpful....except a young receptionist who never spoke or smiled at all... , could have a bit of staff training maybe. The evening meals were a bit hit and miss but at 10 euros for three courses, were good value when good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 586bobbysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I was surprised to the good side with this hotel.
Not that I expected something not being OK (thanks to other TA-reviews), but because I kind of had expected something older and more worn down, which is absolutely not the case. The hotel is old with a great/funny/telling history board on the wall in the bar, but everything is nice, clean and in perfect working order - plenty of hot water with the right pressure, the furniture on the wonderful rooftop terrace looks brand new, the elevators also looks brand new etc. etc.
Generally all the tipoffs of an old hotel was absolutely not in sight, and we would gladly stay here again.
On the down side:
I actually think the staff was helpful, but not very smiling. The older guy at the reception was all smiles, when we came back in from a trip in the city etc., but regarding the other reception staff - well, you could enter the hotel without the receptionist on duty looking up and 'welcoming' you back with a smile. Basically you felt that you kind of sneaked in - but nothing that can't be helped with just a little extra attention.
I'm not much of a breakfast eater, so for me the very simple buffet style breakfast is just a thing to be done with. It did cover the basics for me with toast, ham and cheese.
Nice things to know:
- the hotel can arrange for a cab to pick you up in the airport for 20 EUR
- if you rent a car, you can drive in the city without having to pay the congestion charge and there is free public parking close to the hotel (good luck navigating to the hotel though: enter through St. Marks street gate and follow the sign to Hasting's Garden - we had a nice police officer helping us learn this trick)
- the location is just great for walks up and down in Valletta
- the roof top terrace is superb, and pool must be perfect for a dip from around 1st of May or so

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Osborne Hotel. We were on the third floor at the front of the hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had booked bed and breakfast. Breakfasts were the usual hotel fare the world over - a mixture of continental and cooked (bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, baked beans and so on). The Osborne offers dinner, too. We ate there on three occasions (we were so tired after the day's exertions that we didn't feel like going out. Dinner is a buffet with a selection of salads, soup, roast meat, a second main item (usually fish or chicken), a pasta dish, potatoes and a couple of vegetables, with cheese and dessert if you have room. You also get a half litre of wine per couple. The food quality isn't what you would call "haute cuisine", but is perfectly reasonable for the price (9.90 euros).

Room Tip: We spoke to people who stayed on higher floors and I got the impression that their rooms weren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The setting of the Osbourne is very quiet and yet it is minutes from the main streets of Valletta. It is also very handy for the bus station/tourist information and there were several guide book recommended restaurants in the same area. The staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet style breakfast a good set-up for the day. The room was obviously fairly recently refurbished and comfortable, the only problem being the noisy air-con. The room was near the lift which I thought would be noisy, but it wasn't.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambridge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had a holiday here last year which was great. we had one night spend in Valetta at the end of March 2012 and didn't hesitate to book here again. City centre hotel in a quiet location, with good clean rooms, comfy beds and best of all really nice helpful staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ineedabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked and paid for a Superior Double room for six nights and stayed for four. We had read that certain rooms were much more desirable than others and we offered to pay extra if needed to secure one of them. After two calls and an email we had been assured that we would have a good room. We were most disappointed to find that the room was very small and more suitable as a single. The lumpy mattress was very uncomfortable and didn't fill the frame. A larger mattress was added on top of this when we complained, and although slightly quirky, it was more comfortable. The bathroom was tiny; it was very difficult to manouevre in the ludicrously small shower and the toilet was cramped into the corner between the shower and the wall. We also could easily hear people in the adjoining rooms.

The breakfast choice and quality were fine apart from the machine coffee which we didn't like at all. We bought coffees from the bar and they were much better but they took so long we thought they had been forgotten. An evening buffet meal at the restaurant proved to be simple fare but plentiful and good value for money as it included a carafe of wine.

We found the attitude of the management to be very poor and not at all customer oriented. The hot food bar was such that one had to reach under a shelf and over much of the selection. I found it much easier to walk around the back without leaning over all of the dishes, which is unhygienic, whereupon I was ordered to return to the front with the waiter saying 'It's the rules'. Later my wife asked if we could fill up our small bottle with drinking water and she was told 'No, it's against the rules'. When we queried this with a lady and gentlemen, who claimed to be the management, we were told rather heatedly that no 4-star hotel would allow this either and that we should have filled some glasses with water and used them to fill our bottle.

We left immediately, forfeiting the last two nights as we had paid in advance, simply to find a hotel with reasonable management and more comfortable accommodation. Although the Osborne is in a great location, our experiences were the worst we have had in any hotel. The first question we asked at our new hotel was 'Would you fill our small bottle with drinking water?' They said 'Certainly sir'.

We emailed our complaints to the management requesting their comments but we have received no response.

Room Tip: Ask to view your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wotwosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £81 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing