We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not Find a Better Choice in Valletta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Could not Find a Better Choice in Valletta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

From the welcoming staff at the front desk to the rooftop pool, we were very pleased with this choice.. We picked it as a result of previous reviews and were very impressed. Just our type of hotel-small, friendly, helpful, great location - good rate and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100countries245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    507
    183
    62
    38
See reviews for
124
533
94
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We had a great 2 week holiday in Vallleta staying at the Osborne. its avery well located hotel near to everything in Valletta and its very easy to get around the island from there.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful including Noel, Bridget and Alfred, they really put themselves out to make the stay a good one.
The meals need to be improved as some days were very similar and they need someone to run the bar as sometimes we would have liked a drink before our meal but the staff were in the restaurant doing their work there, the hotel is skimping a bit there as they would probably take more money if there was someone there all the time.

We would recommend the Osborne hotel and would definitely go back to stay there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have larger rooms and a few have balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I (we) really enjoyed our stay in Malta. The hotel is excellently located, close to the city and the ferry to Sliema. Sliema is the launch pad for all sorts of other boat trips. Quiet, well run hotel, very helpful staff and older world charm. Rooms slightly small - the shower cubicle is snug - but this didn't interfere with our enjoyment on the holiday. Pool is also small but very welcome on a hot day for cooling off, you just won't be pounding out the lengths (six strokes and you're done). The rooftop area is nice and welcoming, with loungers and shady spots.

Malta is top drawer as a destination

Room Tip: ask for the biggest - our room was comfy but on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeN_hg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a one night stay at the Osborne transiting from Sicily (via the Virtu Lines Ferry service) back to Edinburgh by air via Malta. This is a well located and comfortable hotel.
Room 501 had an unexpected balcony with stunning views over Valletta to the sea. It had recently been refurbished and was well appointed. Friendly and helpful staff and good value for money.
Bit of air conditioning noise only issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks not wanting the usual beach holiday. The room we had was spacious, clean, comfortable and very quiet considering it overlooked the street. The staff were all very helpful and friendly although they seemed a bit disorganised at breakfast and we often had to ask for hot water for our tea. Its very popular with Brits. Its located just on the edge of the pedestrianised centre of Valetta so very close to all the restaurants and tourist atttractions. We only had bed and breakfast and as vegetarians we weren't tempted to have the 3 course dinner on offer every night although they did do a '4 for 3' offer for B&B and room only guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just returned from a holiday in Valletta, our stay was at the Osborne Hotel. We had a great welcome and good service throughout our stay; the food was excellent value, our room clean and well serviced daily. We had a stunning view from our window of the bays and of the Valletta roofscape, blue sky and water against yellow limestone. The hotel is in a fabulous position for walking around the city or using public transport, buses and ferries.
We would stay at the Osborne again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, we would also ask for a balcony if we visit again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is a great hotel when you have to stay one or two nights. We booked this hotel with a discount fare for one night. Great value for price. Room was not so big but it was well cleaned, we had a good night rest before taking our airplane back home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing