We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

This is a terrific hotel in a beautiful city. Spent a week there with my daughter. Rooms were very pleasant and immaculately kept. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Out of the building and you are in the heart of the city - everything worth seeing within walking distance. A stroll to the nearby bus station means the whole island is open to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulgibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

We are just back from a week in this hotel. The staff were friendly and the hotel was well presented. However, the smell in our room was dreadful. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that there wasn't one that night. Their solution was to smell the room out with bleach. Not a great improvement then! We had to keep the window open 24 hours a day - a window that was at floor to knee level. We asked again to be moved but nothing was done in response to this request. The room was above the entrance to the hotel and with the window open we had all the noise of late/early arrivals as well as roadworks and traffic. We did not have one restful night. All the bedroom doors had fixed handles and NEVER closed quietly -again more disturbance.
We were aware that we would be in the centre of a working city and have stayed in similar locations without any problems. We would never go back to this hotel for fear of being in room 209. ( rooms 208 and 210 had similar "windows")
P.S. The aircon rattled so wasn't usable should we have had the "window" closed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank janethmblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My bedroom was spacious and the furnishing comfortable but the bathroom door had to be kept shut at all times due to the smell of drains.

I was on the second floor and it had clearly been fitted in and my window was tiny and at floor level.

Air conditioning was very noisy and had to be switched off at night to allow sleep

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrimcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

From the welcoming staff at the front desk to the rooftop pool, we were very pleased with this choice.. We picked it as a result of previous reviews and were very impressed. Just our type of hotel-small, friendly, helpful, great location - good rate and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100countries245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We had a great 2 week holiday in Vallleta staying at the Osborne. its avery well located hotel near to everything in Valletta and its very easy to get around the island from there.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful including Noel, Bridget and Alfred, they really put themselves out to make the stay a good one.
The meals need to be improved as some days were very similar and they need someone to run the bar as sometimes we would have liked a drink before our meal but the staff were in the restaurant doing their work there, the hotel is skimping a bit there as they would probably take more money if there was someone there all the time.

We would recommend the Osborne hotel and would definitely go back to stay there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have larger rooms and a few have balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I (we) really enjoyed our stay in Malta. The hotel is excellently located, close to the city and the ferry to Sliema. Sliema is the launch pad for all sorts of other boat trips. Quiet, well run hotel, very helpful staff and older world charm. Rooms slightly small - the shower cubicle is snug - but this didn't interfere with our enjoyment on the holiday. Pool is also small but very welcome on a hot day for cooling off, you just won't be pounding out the lengths (six strokes and you're done). The rooftop area is nice and welcoming, with loungers and shady spots.

Malta is top drawer as a destination

Room Tip: ask for the biggest - our room was comfy but on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeN_hg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a one night stay at the Osborne transiting from Sicily (via the Virtu Lines Ferry service) back to Edinburgh by air via Malta. This is a well located and comfortable hotel.
Room 501 had an unexpected balcony with stunning views over Valletta to the sea. It had recently been refurbished and was well appointed. Friendly and helpful staff and good value for money.
Bit of air conditioning noise only issue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#11 of 15 in Valletta
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £61 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing