We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful restful week”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at the Osborne for a weeks holiday, with half-board, and it was a fantastic choice. The hotel is just off the main high street of Valletta, only 5 minutes(downhil) walk to the harbour and only 5 minutes to the bus station. Perfectly placed for all our needs. The hotel is extremely professionally run but keeps the lovely family and fun atmosphere. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our chamber maid, Rita was really friendly and our room was cleaned everyday beautifully and fresh towels everyday. The breakfasts were buffet style but with a choice to suit everyone. Dinners were also Buffet style, there was always homemade soup or cold salad starters followed by a chocie of 4 mains, always with a fish dish on it,( which was ideal for me as I don't eat red meat) then there was cheese and a selection of puddings and/or fresh fruit. Delicious! You certainly don't go hungery at the Osborne! The dining room has lovely decor, very ambient.
The island itself is best seen by using the buses and the Osborne is perfectly placed to catch them and at only 2,60€ each you can hop on and hop off of them all day-brilliant.
A fantastic week of culture, history, shopping and being looked after and would go back to the Osborne at a drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linbar0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our two night stay did not start well as we were put in a smallish room on the third floor and the air-conditioning unit made a very loud noise. After complaining to the not very helpful young receptionist (we are fully booked, sir!) we waited for some time before the maintenance manager, Charles, inspected the noisy air-conditioning unit and he got an electrical fitter to repair it. Charles was very helpful and the repair was successful. The older receptionists were excellent and could not do enough to help you. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was help-yourself buffet style but I preferred to get the chef to cook fresh eggs rather than eat from the buffet. The location of the hotel is good with a convenient free car park about 100 metres away as the crow flies. We walked everywhere and thoroughly enjoyed the Palace Armoury, Palace State Rooms and St. Johns Cathedral. Great value boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Only the top two floors have a decent view of the sea. I am not sure it is worth the extra money as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David528764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Having read tripadvisor reviews whilst planning our holiday in Valetta, my wife and I booked a double room for a weeks stay at the Osborne Hotel through holiday broker Lo-cost holidays and, following other traveller's advice, we asked for a room with a view, preferrably on a high floor. It was a disappointment therefore, to be directed to room 311 on one of the lower floors. On entering through the narrow door it was apparent that this was not a double room but a small twin, nor could it be described as 'a room with a view', the outlook through the two-foot square window revealed on opening the curtains; two builder's buckets, a length of scaffolding and the rear of the next-door property, including the exposed outside toilet. Due to the proximity of the building next door it was not possible to see the sky. I returned to Reception to point out that the room was not what we had booked and was told that the issue of having a twin instead of a double would be resolved, (it wasn't), and to check periodically in case a more acceptable room was available, which we did every day, to no avail.

The majority of the staff, with one notable exception, were friendly and welcoming.

I agree with the other reviewers regarding the Osborne's location, it is ideal for accessing Valetta's shopping street and museums.

Room Tip: Do not book through an intermediary and do not book rooms 211 or 311 unless you have an aversion to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loonylainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Having spent four nights at the Osborne Hotel, I have to say that it was wonderfully located near the main shopping street, the museums etc. and the bus station, all whilst being situated on a rather quiet street. The room, whilst on the small side, was clean and beautifully decorated, had air conditioning and a good sized en-suite.

Having read the reviews about the meals at the hotel, I have to admit to having reservations about the breakfasts and evening meals. I was happy to discover that these reservations were unfounded as there was a good selection of food available for breakfast from continental options to a cooked breakfast, along with fruit salad and yogurt etc. There was also a good selection for evening meals. A selection of salads to start, followed by freshly made soup and several choices for your main course. Each evening there was a roast, another meat, fish, a vegetarian option as well as potatoes and/or rice and vegetables. For dessert each evening there was always a delicious chocolate cake, swiss roll, cheesecake or truffle along with fruit and cheese.

The staff always greeted you with a smile and a hello, good morning or good evening. On occasion this may have sounded a little robotic, but when you consider how many times they might have already greeted guests, its understandable.

Overall it’s a wonderfully located hotel with a satisfactory selection of food for breakfast and evening meal. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Osborne Hotel in Valletta.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor. The swimming pool is quite small - more a plunge pool really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We spent 9 nights at this wonderfully located hotel. There were a few niggles at first - no soap one day, too many towels the next, having to ask for extra creamer and coffee - but then we relaxed and just got on with enjoying our holiday. The restaurant had a buy 3 get one free offer on meals, so we ate there nearly every night. Good, straightforward food and wine, a varied menu and incredibly cheap. Comfortable beds, and quiet rooms. Air con worked well. Staff very friendly. Our room was a bit small and the bathroom was cramped, but everything worked well. Turn left outside the hotel and in 400 yards we were in the main street. Turn right and within 200 yards there was a fantastic night view of the harbour and Sliema - from a very rough car park. One minute away are the Hastings gardens with more wonderful views. So, would we go back there again - definitely. And only 10 minutes away from the central bus station which is the transport hub of the whole island.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and loved its central location. We had asked for a room on a higher floor with a view and the view over the city towards Sliema was spectacular. The hotel is well located within walking distance of all the sights of Valletta. I would agree with other comments that the hotel reception staff are particularly friendly and helpful, booking a restaurant for us and arranging a taxi to the airport as well as pointing out main sightseeing highlights. The price of drinks in the bar is very reasonable - 1 euro for a glass of wine! Our only gripe about this hotel is the standard of the breakfast - fruit salad is a mix of fresh and tinned fruit together with glace cherried - ugh! Also, bacon is very stringy. We will probably use this hotel again if we return to Valletta, but on a room only basis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthqueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We spent a week at the Osborne and really enjoyed it. The location is prefect for Valletta town and is only a short, though steep downhill, walk to the Sliema ferry (and an equally steep uphill walk back)! We had an excellent large room overlooking the front of the hotel though the bathroom was a bit small. Room servicing was very good and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, and although the coffee came out of a vacuum pot, it was surprisingly good. Decor is beginning to show its age in a few areas but overall very good value for money, particularly as we got a '7 nights for the price of 5' offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UEL910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#10 of 15 in Valletta
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £64 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing