We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Friendly helpful staff, great location, clean and comfortable. Evening meal was varied and good value for money. Ideally located for travel, close to bus station. Would certainly recommend it although access in a wheelchair would be difficult. Already booked to go back! Can`t wait!

Room Tip: If available select sea view. Some rooms with land view quite dark due to narrow streets surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    507
    183
    62
    38
See reviews for
124
533
94
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at the Osbourne Hotel for a long weekend with my two sisters. I cannot fault the hotel, it was central, clean and the breakfast had a fantastic selection. The staff (Charles, Ray and Caroline) went out of their way to help and gave us valuable information. Room was comfortable with a fantastic view. Will be going back again soon with my husband.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a view, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaLarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a lovely weeks stay in the Osborne and felt that it compared very favourably with some 4* hotels that we have stayed in. The staff were all friendly and courteous, the breakfasts and evening meals were very good with a good choice. The room was a good size and was in excellent condition,the twin beds were very comfortable. The only quibble I would have is the small quadrant shower-if you are built larger than average then it would be a struggle to shower without knocking the tap off/on.
The hotel is only 5 or so minutes level walk to the main bus station and the same distance from Valletta city centre so is ideally situated. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgess hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The title says it all, even though we had booked for a land view room, due to the hotel being fully booked we were given an indoor room - no window! It was absolutely awful, hot, stuffy and very claustrophobic, it made me feel quite ill. We were only there for 4 nights but had to wait for 2 nights until it was changed.

The food was of very poor quality, the breakfasts were just about passable but the evening meals were worse than school dinners - really cheap and nasty, we had to find the nearest fast food restaurant as we were unable to eat there.

Room Tip: make sure the room has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This isn't a bad hotel for the price, and the location in Valletta (near the bus terminus too) is ideal.
5th floor room was OK (and had a decent view) but the laminate flooring and thin walls mean there can be a lot of noise from other rooms (there was a connecting door to the next room which didn't help). Bathroom was tiny with very little space to hang towels (or do anything much).
Bar is cheap, but breakfast isn't a very nice experience. There's a large choice, but the quality is poor: v. greasy salami, unappetising-looking pastries, fruit salad which is 70% apple plus glacé cherries - yuk! - and 'jams' which are basically sugar syrup with artificial colour and flavouring. I was surprised they offered a hot selection, but it's v. poor quality streaky bacon, overcooked omelette, baked bean soup, hard boiled eggs with complementary grey rings round the yolk, and the cheapest sausages known to man. My advice would be to abandon the hot options and use the money saved to improve the rest of it. The breakfast room is also rather gloomy, which they can't do much about because it's on the ground floor, although getting rid of the net curtains might help. All in all, not a very bright start to the day.
Roof terrace and pool are good, although I suspect they get very crowded in summer. Staff vary in terms of degree of friendliness and helpfulness, and the receptionists seem overly keen to sell you 2-day sightseeing bus tickets for 20 euros when you can travel for 7 days on local buses (anywhere on the island) for 12 euros.

Room Tip: You need the 5th or 6th floor if you want a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspectorBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We found this hotel ideal for our needs. We booked a "superior twin room" which was spacious and clean and had a view over South Street to the front of the hotel. We had a television that provided several English channels. If I was to be picky I would say that the air conditioning produced warm air rather than cold air, but that didn't matter in April. Also the shower was of the hand held variety over a bath. It was difficult to take a proper shower therefore, but we were very glad of the excuse to soak in a hot bath at the end of a day of hectic sightseeing.

The hotel staff very friendly and helpful on the reception desk, in the restaurant and bar and also the chamber maid. We found the breakfast very generous and every evening we ate in. The dinners were 4 courses ( a starter, main and desert, preceeded by a salad bar) and very good value at 9.80 Euros a head plus drinks. The food wasn't cordon bleu, but was very satisfactory nevertheless. After dinner there was a very pleasant bar. Upstairs in our room there was a television with a range of English channels and the beds were very comfortable.

The hotel was ideally located in the heart of the town, and only ten minutes walk from most of the main sights and the bus station, from where buses could be caught to the rest of the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this lovely, centrally-located hotel.

The service is fabulous, with a very cheerful, attentive and well-informed front desk :-). The location is inside the city walls of Valletta, and a short walk from everywhere!

The breakfast was delicious and catered for all, with cooked meats & cheeses, different breads, yoghurts & fruit plus cooked breakfast of bacon, sausages, eggs & beans.

The rooms are modern, well-equipped and comfortable BUT some do not have any windows. We did have air-conditioning, but it can be very noisy and was not that cooling, so we had it switched off. This was fine in April, but I fear the room would have been unbearably stuffy in the height of summer.

Overall, we were very happy to have chosen this hotel and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing