We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Petra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is located near the bus station in a very quiet street and since Valletta is so small everything is within walking distance. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The only negative point was that the aircon in the room wasn't working properly, it was blowing air but it wasn't cold, which was a problem in July. It was extremely hot and our clothes and the bed sheets felt humid. First time we complained at the reception the girl said she would send someone up to have a look at it, when we returned in the evening the temperature in our room was still the same so after another complaint the guy at the reception came to check and told us that this was "the system" and all rooms were like this ... We asked for a fan, that helped a bit with the heat but it sounded like a Boeing 747 flying around in our room. Even earplugs didn't help much :-)

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioning in your room works if you travel in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetraBedandBreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    511
    185
    62
    38
See reviews for
125
540
94
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week. The reception staff were totally unfriendly and unwilling to help unless you were interested in buying one of their ' Captain Morgan' outings. There is no bar available in the hotel lounge area and no TV either even though they claim this in their advertisements. The roof top bar is closed during the day and therefore guests are unable to purchase drinks of any description within the hotel. The roof top bar is only open from 5pm - 11pm. However, the roof top service was excellent and was provided by the lovely Martin and Jesmond. They were both really friendly and nothing was too much trouble when needing drinks, snacks and cocktails.

Although the hotel was clean i would not recommend this hotel even though it's probably cheaper than the other Valletta hotels as the service is terrible. We stayed with breakfast provided, but the food was basic and unappealing with very little choice no change throughout the week. Every day guests were returning jugs of rancid juice and milk to waiting staff who seemed oblivious to the curdling milk.

On our last day, whilst waiting in the reception lounge after having to vacate our room at 11am and our taxi not due until 6pm that evening, the reception staff refused to serve us any refreshments (as the bar as usual was closed) and without a working TV and the switching off of the air conditioning in heat in access of 35 degrees,we were hot, thirsty and bored. When complaining about the heat or the means of not being able to buy refreshments the reception staff were totally uninterested and were left with no other alternative but to walk to the nearest shop to buy a soft drink. I would not return to the Osborne and would not recommend it either

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

stayed for a week here and had a ball. room was a little on the small side but clean and what we needed for this trip. the older boy at reception was great but the young lady on reception not so nice. all the other staff were nice. had a few drinks at the bar at pool and was very reasonable. breakfast was .nt too great but ok I guess. overall I'd definitely come back but I d go for a bigger room with a balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just had 4 days in Malta staying at the Osbourne. Easily accessible for the town centre and bus station to see island. Staff superb, rooftop terrace ideal for family get together after a wedding. Pool small but ideal to keep you cool. Room spacious and clean, breakfast had plenty of choice and always fresh fruit. had evening meL in the Hotel and it was great with carafe of wine included for just under 10 euros, excellent value. Loved Malta Valletta co-cathredral beautiful, Mdina amazingly beautiful, bus travel cheap and on time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a great welcome and found our stay at the Osborne hotel superb. Beautifully decorated and clean spacious room with a nice street view. The hotel has also a nice roof top terrace and were surprised it also has a small pool. Spent a few evenings at the bar on the terrace. Staff was always friendly and helpful to guide us around. Breakfast was good. We definitely recommend this hotel in Valletta.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maifleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel has no self-respect whatsoever. The room they gave me and my wife (and charged for at double-room rates) must have originally been a single that they converted into a so-called double with twin beds. The beds themselves were all of 60 cm wide (I measured them). There was only one chair and there wasn’t room to use it at the desk, there was barely room to squeeze between the end of the bed and the desk when going to bed. The toilet was mounted directly against the bathroom sink. I could barely fit my legs in, even though there was plenty of room against the other wall. And then, they began to do work on one of the rooms on our floor – power tools and stamping feet at 8:00 in the morning! If the hotel had known it was going to be rehabbing the rooms, they should have closed the floor. Or they should have waited until after 9:30 to begin work. No mini-bar (something obligatory in 3-star hotels in my experience), and fees for using the room safe and wi-fi access. Breakfast was miserable. The “eggs” were powdered, made into an egg loaf of uncertain texture. The pastries came directly from a supermarket package. The melon cubes of Monday morning were the left-overs from Sunday. If this is the third best hotel in Valletta, I hate to think what the less well rated ones are like.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing