We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Dorking
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very good hotel in an excellent location. Good room but very small bathroom/toilet. We went half board. The food was good but very little vegetarian option despite saying they do and making a note on my booking and when I checked in. It was very poor in this area but otherwise very good. My mother who is a meat eater was very happy but I was a bit disappointed. Would have been nice to have free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank DorkingDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    532
    196
    67
    39
See reviews for
133
554
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Wow, you couldn't get closer to the centre of Valetta. Everything you need - sights, history, restaurants, Sliema ferry, bus station - all within easy walking distance. Really ideal. Hotel itself perfectly adequate for a short break, nothing special but hey, for the price you pay it's superb value for money! Breakfast included in price, again nothing special but perfectly satisfactory to set you up for the day. Didn't eat in the restaurant at night but seemed fairly popular. Room small but again, think what you're paying compared to other hotels in similar locations. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Beccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

As lot of here mention, rooms are clean, but not very bright. Main door of the room are bit loud on closing (in case you are not careful on closing them), which can affect your sleep quality. Staff is helpful and nice, breakfast fine, but should be better organised (also some vegetables as a part of breakfast offer would be nice). Very good hotel that deserves recommendation.

Room Tip: 6th floor has an amazing views for sure! Lower floor rooms can be disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMD_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I had booked three double rooms for three nights for a long weekend break with friends.

A friendly reception at Reception with formalities quickly accomplished. All three rooms were fairly small, but our room was the smallest and in the dark, we couldn't find a window! Eventually the window was found - at floor level. Opaque glass from the floor to about knee high, looking out on to the main street, over the entrance. We asked for a change of room but were told they were fully booked - "try again in the morning".

Our friends' rooms were slightly larger and with normal windows - we decided to stay in the original room rather than wasting some of our limited time in trying to move.

However, that was the only negative. Hotel was very clean and in a good position with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was also very good with eggs, bacon, sausage and beans as well as a selection of cold items.

We also had an evening meal in the restaurant on Sunday and that was very good value - there is a limited number of restaurants in Valletta.

The hotel was advertising availability of wifi, paid by the hour, but in reality there was free wifi available everywhere, and it was a strong signal - full marks!

The hotel would have warranted four stars but for the small rooms and shower room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kule Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for six days in Feb 2014 and our experience was excellent. The hotel is in an ideal location, a few minutes' walk from the bus station (and thence to explore the rest of Malta) and an easy stroll to anywhere in Valletta. Our room on the fourth floor had excellent views over the city towards Fort St Elmo. The room was spotless (and the maid was always cheerful, always had a smile to share) and the shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure too. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel were passable, but we'd booked room only, and with excellent restaurants a-plenty in Valletta, we enjoyed going out to eat instead of staying at the hotel. The hotel's bar was small but cheerful and comfortable, and the rooftop patio with small pool was a lovely suntrap. In short, the Osborne Hotel had everything we wanted for our stay in Valletta. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors at the back of the hotel - you'll get a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights in order to get acquainted with Valetta before moving on to Gozo. The hotel is well located in a side street close to the bus station, the Hastings Gardens and the Slima ferry. Our room was clean, equipped with plenty of storage space but dark and oddly shaped. Staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast was fine, but the evening meal heavy and uninspiring. With other eateries nearby B and B is probably a better bet than half board.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Osborne is a good base for exploring Valletta, but not a good hotel. The rooms are small with minuscule bathrooms with small showers and a toilet that almost touches the sink. The full bed is actually two single beds of different heights pushed together. The room that I had was quite dark. The breakfast was mediocre.

When I was there renovation was taking place on my floor. The workmen left garbage in the hallway. When I went to reception to ask that the hallway be cleaned, I was told there would be no one at the hotel to clean till the next day!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyricaldove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsborneHotel, Manager at Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Client, we thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back. We do understand your disappointment regarding the inconveniences caused to you while you were staying with us and would like to apologize for this. We are pleased to inform you that the room amenities have been enhanced and any shortcomings rectified. We remain at your disposal should you need further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,962 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valletta
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing