We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would Never Go again”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 1 September 2008

So i went with my bf at Valleta for 8 days
it was a big mistake for chosseing to stay in Valleta as i didnt like it
THE hotel was very palin & the bedroom was not nice
the staff was OK but the breakfast was not good!
i was only havind my tea & some toast......
i would never chose to go there again especially when you are young & you want to have fun with your bf or husband
is nice to go there to relax for a few days
but for ME never again!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nutty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2008

I booked this on the back of the positive reviews others made on trip advisor, but hey never again. I've just read in disbelieve some of the recent reviews, which recommend this hotel. I'm actually starting to think that the hotel must have different graded rooms, as the one we had was filthy, very small and not a place I would ever want to see again. Daily finds on our room floor included an awful lot of long hairs and nail clippings, none of which belonged to us! Towels were changed daily but I wouldn't describe them as clean.Breakfast was okay and the staff mixed. The guy on the desk - without a name badge but always in a black shirt - was unhelpful and failed to organise the car hire for us that he promised he would! Thankfully his colleague - no name badge but always in a beige shirt - came to the rescue and was the hotel's saving grace. Avoid this hotel at all cost. If money had been no problem, I would have walked straight out and into another hotel!

A plea to the manager... please buy your cleaning staff the tools they need to do their job, and some clean towels and sheets - this will make your customers stay a happy one!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cassidygall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the Osborne and booked it very last minute due to being let down by a privately owend apartment. It was excellent value. Perfect location and very easy to find from bus station (got the bus from the airport to Valletta). Very nice friendly staff. Breakfast was included and was pretty basic in choice but there are plenty to choose from in the location if you fancy a more varied breakfast. Didn't eat here although restaurant was pretty busy for the 3 nights. The only thing is our room was really small and had nasty carpet on the floor. But the rest of it was clean and cleaned daily also. Great sea view too. Someone else mentioned the church bells, they did ring even during the night but they are only 3 very soft rings and wouldn't keep you awake by any means. A somewhat comforting sound in fact !
Found Valletta to be very busy during the day but totally dead at night after 10pm. Nice bar close by (on same street) is called Maestro.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlyann70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

The location is perfect for exploring Valetta and very convenient to the bus terminus. The room was perfectly acceptable (this is not an expensive hotel) and we found the food to be good value for money. The staff were very helpful and the free WiFi on the lower floors ment we could use our iPhone / iPod Touch to connect to the internet. There seemed to be a problem with their internet computer. The only problem with the site is that church bells ring every 15 mins, but we shall stay there again because of the convenience and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pegasus312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

nice city hotel, clean and big rooms, the staff is very polite and helpfull, the position is a must for Valletta visitors...

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This is an average 3 * hotel. Quality of rooms differs: some are really good after a renovation, others are gloomy and dark.
Our room was spacious but nothing special. There was a small window overlooking the roofs of Valetta (tip: try to get a room on the upper floors).
Food in the hotel was not very good: little choice at breakfast and rather poor food for dinner, very much aimed at anglo-saxon 'taste'.
It is a much better option to go outside for dinner as there are plenty of good eateries available in Valetta.
On the positive side: staff is really friendly and the hotel is located right in old Valetta, close to the sights of this lovely town and also close to the central bus station, making it a very good place for people who want to do their sight-seeing independently.
Moreover , it is relatively cheap.
So in short: if you are not too spoilt this is a good value-place for the independent traveler.
If you are more into nightlife , Sliema and St. Julians will be better places for you. If you like sightseeing this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank niels_jansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We stayed in the Osborne Hotel for two days in April 2008, with two infants. The hotel is centrally located near to all major attractions of Valletta and near the central bus station. We booked through ChooseMalta, and got very good rates.
Staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel nice and clean. While the hotel has some rooms with a superb view over the city, and others facing the street, there are also some rooms which are completely without windows. Unfortunately we got one of those for one night, but could move to a room with a fantastic view the following night. Try to insist on a room with a window when making your reservation.
At the time of writing the first and second floor of the hotel were nicely renovated, with new furniture and flat-screen TVs in the rooms. Floors 3 to 6 are still not renovated, with furniture which must be from the 1970s, and beds which are very, very soft.
The breakfast was OK, very British. There is a rooftop area with a great view, and a swimming pool which was still closed in April.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#9 of 15 in Valletta
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing