We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally very good but....”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Generally very good but....”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Service was generally very good, but marred by the waiter in charge on alternate days who seemed to avoid working as much as possible. Also, on 25th March he was very abusive to a French couple who complained about the time taken (about 55 minutes) to bring their main course. However, on the other days, the service by the married couple was superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aphrodite552027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    522
    194
    65
    38
See reviews for
126
549
97
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel in Valetta suited our needs. It was clean and a good standard./ The breakfast was good. We did try the evening meal but were not impressed with it. The staff were not that friendly but they were efficient and I cant really complain about any of them. The big virtue of this hotel is that it is in Valetta, a short walk to the city entrance and the bus station. From there you can get a day bus pass to take you anywhere in Malta for €1.50.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour. There is a good lift service so any floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Osborne Hotel Valletta for my husband's birthday at the end of February. We had the most lovely time and this hotel seals the deal. Location I don't think could be beaten. The food and service are outstanding especially for the price, there's so much choice on the menu, the staff are always cheerful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean, comfortable and provide everything you need. They could be larger, yes and they could have more natural light, but overhead lighting is great so the rooms need not be gloomy and would I pay more for a larger room? No way! They are plenty big enough to relax in, (plus there's a lovely lounge/bar with comfy sofas and a bigger telly if that's your thing) between sightseeing ventures out on foot, which you'll do all the time as there's so much to see just around the corner! I can't fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone......as long as they keep a room for us!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquieSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Better than expected for the price paid. Reasonable sized room. Friendly and very helpful staff. Breakfast was good value with lots of choice. Quiet location on edge of main city area being only short stroll to many attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheButler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

When looking for an hotel , quite always a center of the town one is required .This one was booked for us by our daughters . The position is ideal to visit all the Malta outstanding monuments , palcas, churchs and museums; from there it is very easy to reach by three minutes walking , the town gate , departures for all buses and transportation . The hotel is quiet and silent, the furnishing of the room is complete and comfortable ; the restaurant is elegant , the meals are tasty even not of the level of some higher priced restaurants nearby ; also Ronald and his colleagues add someting to the stay .
We had- i believe , the best room ; Sixth floor, overlooking the sea, the port and roofs , with a view on the St.Paul Church, on the St.John knights co-cathedral .Obviously the hotel can be reached also by taxi, as we did. Also the restaurant

Room Tip: to ask for the Sixth floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We've just got home from staying at the Osborne Hotel and cannot find fault with the place, rooms clean, maid service daily, location superb and the staff very helpful and friendly, a special mention to Ronald on reception and Jesmond in the bar for their local knowledge and humour, reallly nice people. I know some reviewers have found fault with the size of the bathroom and the lack of choice at breakfast but they need to remember this is a three star hotel not a five star which, by the way you would have to pay more than twice the price for. I will definitely make The Osborne my first choice when visiting Malta in the future. Regarding the wifi, when in the hotel I always managed to connect to someones unsecured wifi. I will be recommending The Osborne to anyone I know who will be visiting Valletta.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsborneHotel, Manager at Osborne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guests, we are glad that all was to your satisfaction and expectation. We all try our best to achieve the best results and will keep on trying to improve on our services. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, which is highly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very good hotel in an excellent location. Good room but very small bathroom/toilet. We went half board. The food was good but very little vegetarian option despite saying they do and making a note on my booking and when I checked in. It was very poor in this area but otherwise very good. My mother who is a meat eater was very happy but I was a bit disappointed. Would have been nice to have free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank DorkingDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#4 of 15 in Valletta
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing