We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Best to choose the Superior room.Excellent location .Staff very friendly.Enjoyed their breakfast and evening meal reasonably priced

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robertandalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2008

I spend one night at the Osborne Hotel in Valetta in Oct. 2008. After reading some reviews i decided to go with the superior room for 70 Euro / night instead of the regular room. Some people were heavily complaining about the standard rooms.
The biggest benefit of this Hotel is the location. It is in the middle of the old part of Valetta and you can reach the harbor, the bus station and the shopping street within 5min by walk.
The room had a good size and a window on a quite street with pretty much no traffic. Bed, furniture, television and so on are fairly new and in good condition. Nothing really exciting considering the fact that we had a superior room though.
Bathroom has a decent standard as well but the toilet was DIRTY ON ARRIVAL. No way something like this can happen for 70 Euro / night. Seemed like it was not cleaned after the last guest at all. Beside this bathtub and the rest were clean. Towels and toilet paper available.

The Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They were able to provide us reliable information about the bus service to continue our trip and the manager helped us when we had problem with the card reader on the room door.

The breakfast buffet was more or less English breakfast only. Some diversity here would be very nice. Beside water melon no fresh fruits were available.

Conclusion:

Superior room should be OK for one or two nights. Although the toilet was disgusting. Considering the fact that it was a superior room i really don't want to see the regular room. Location is very good and the staff was very nice and helpful as well. Breakfast was kind of poor.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank silversurfer5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

So called refurbished superior rooms a joke, seemingly decorated many years previously. Booked HB seperately, should not have bothered. Not much imagination with breakfast, silly to think that evening meal would be different. Too few staff doing too many jobs. Once guy on reception seemed to spend more time taking private calls than concern for guests. Management running a catering business as well from hotel and guests several times a week unable to use the lounge bar, which in itself was very poorly stocked. No bar snacks and very lucky to even get a drink from bar. Bar person was always rushed off his feet working in dining room, for large parties from different parts of the globe. Staff on the whole very approachable, but they had to work with very limited resources and this hotel was not cheap to stay at. Conference rooms on upper floor, but apparently not used. What a wonderful lounge area this space would have been for Osborne's Staying Paying Guests. Valletta wonderful, but would not stay at Osborne again.Brochures should mention the running of the non guest catering and lack of lounge comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IntrepidEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

So i went with my bf at Valleta for 8 days
it was a big mistake for chosseing to stay in Valleta as i didnt like it
THE hotel was very palin & the bedroom was not nice
the staff was OK but the breakfast was not good!
i was only havind my tea & some toast......
i would never chose to go there again especially when you are young & you want to have fun with your bf or husband
is nice to go there to relax for a few days
but for ME never again!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nutty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

I booked this on the back of the positive reviews others made on trip advisor, but hey never again. I've just read in disbelieve some of the recent reviews, which recommend this hotel. I'm actually starting to think that the hotel must have different graded rooms, as the one we had was filthy, very small and not a place I would ever want to see again. Daily finds on our room floor included an awful lot of long hairs and nail clippings, none of which belonged to us! Towels were changed daily but I wouldn't describe them as clean.Breakfast was okay and the staff mixed. The guy on the desk - without a name badge but always in a black shirt - was unhelpful and failed to organise the car hire for us that he promised he would! Thankfully his colleague - no name badge but always in a beige shirt - came to the rescue and was the hotel's saving grace. Avoid this hotel at all cost. If money had been no problem, I would have walked straight out and into another hotel!

A plea to the manager... please buy your cleaning staff the tools they need to do their job, and some clean towels and sheets - this will make your customers stay a happy one!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cassidygall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the Osborne and booked it very last minute due to being let down by a privately owend apartment. It was excellent value. Perfect location and very easy to find from bus station (got the bus from the airport to Valletta). Very nice friendly staff. Breakfast was included and was pretty basic in choice but there are plenty to choose from in the location if you fancy a more varied breakfast. Didn't eat here although restaurant was pretty busy for the 3 nights. The only thing is our room was really small and had nasty carpet on the floor. But the rest of it was clean and cleaned daily also. Great sea view too. Someone else mentioned the church bells, they did ring even during the night but they are only 3 very soft rings and wouldn't keep you awake by any means. A somewhat comforting sound in fact !
Found Valletta to be very busy during the day but totally dead at night after 10pm. Nice bar close by (on same street) is called Maestro.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlyann70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

The location is perfect for exploring Valetta and very convenient to the bus terminus. The room was perfectly acceptable (this is not an expensive hotel) and we found the food to be good value for money. The staff were very helpful and the free WiFi on the lower floors ment we could use our iPhone / iPod Touch to connect to the internet. There seemed to be a problem with their internet computer. The only problem with the site is that church bells ring every 15 mins, but we shall stay there again because of the convenience and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pegasus312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#9 of 15 in Valletta
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#13 of 15 in Valletta
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £63 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing