We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget hotel in Valletta.”
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel in Valletta.”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. Its location is very good, just 5-6 minute walk from Valletta bus terminus. From bus station, walk along Republic Street. Then turn left at Wembley Store. Cross the first road and the hotel is on your right hand side. The road in front of hotel is very narrow.

The room was good. It was facing opposite to street, so the view was spectacular! We can see almost whole of Valletta from window along with sea.

The room was spacious and clean (though they didn’t service it properly everyday). Tea coffee was available in room but only two sachets were given!

Our main problem was travelling with a 3-month old infant. I wrote to the hotel prior to my travel about using their microwave for sterilisation and I was told it would be fine. However, on arrival, they allowed me to use the kitchen microwave very reluctantly (I agree they are not allowed to provide that to boarders but that is why I wrote to them previously). Also, the kettle inside room was full of lime scales and was not suitable for boiling water for baby. So we again had to request them to boil water in kitchen (which they did). The hotel has lift but no ramp for entering. We had to lift our pram every time to enter and come out of hotel. If you are travelling with infant then this hotel is not very suitable. But fine otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmobi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    533
    196
    67
    39
See reviews for
133
554
98
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

It's on a quiet street, but just a few minutes walk from the main thoroughfare of Republic Street. Make sure you have a map as street names are not widely used, but it's on the street where Wembley Store is on the corneer with Republic Street, at the top end near teh city Gates and bus station.
The outside of the hotel looks really nice, the reception area is beautiful and the restaurant smelled great - although I prefer not to eat in hotels. The nice decor continued to the floor I stayed on - 3nd floor, and my room was great - clean, new, flatscreen Tv (although seemed to be all Italian channels), new bathroom with good power shower. The only lsightly odd thing wsa that the window was a small window right at the bottom of the wall which meant it never got veyr light in the room but on the other hand menat I heard no noise from the street.
I am a neurotic sleeper and do not sleep well through noise - the only noise in the hotel was if someone in the two rooms near mine slammed their doors.
Roof terrace and pool are small but fine.
This is an excellent little hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. I've stsyed ina lot of 3* hotels and know there is quite a range - in my mind this could easily be a 4* hotel for its attractiveness, decor, cleanliness and newness. Perhpas there are other facilities which a 4* should have but for your standard needs this is sppot on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Osborne is situated within the city walls of Valetta, an excellent location for exploring the city, accessing the local busses (exceeding cheap and centralised on Valetta from all over Malta) as well as the ’hop on hop off’ service (tickets can be purchased from the hotel) and walking to the ferry crossing to Slima. There are also quite a number of restaurants within five minutes’ walk, although nothing in Valetta is more than 20 minutes or so from the hotel. Valetta a good place to base yourself for a Malta visit – lots of history and historic sites, with good range of places to eat and drink, if a bit quiet in January! The north and south ‘hop on’ services (15 euros each) are to be recommended as they get you to all the sites on Malta- but you need a day for each. They also give you a free 90 minute two harbour cruise (15 euros if purchased separately!). Be aware that there are two companies offering the bus service – similar/same route and coloured buses, which can be very confusing.

Although we had booked via laterooms.com I was pleasantly surprised to receive a welcome email from ‘Brian’ at the hotel a few days before we arrived. Nice touch, I thought. Brian arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport, at an agreed price (20 euro’s – a bit higher than if we had just picked one up at the airport, but easier I thought for when we arrived). Unfortunately the taxi never turned up, even thought I was assured it was booked and confirmed. We had the taxi company number and a quick call resolved the misunderstanding (I still don’t know if it was the hotel or the taxi company).

The hotel is medium sized (about 60 rooms) – we had one on the top (6th) floor. Good sized room, well decorated, small shower/bathroom, but perfectly adequate. Great views over Valetta – our room had a small balcony and two sets of sliding doors - and yes the clock tower bells do ring a lot, but you soon get used to them. A roof top terrace (also on 6th floor) gave good open air views and also had the roof-top pool (very small, but probably a nice spot in summer). Everywhere was spotlessly clean – the cleaners seemed a very cheerful bunch. Two lifts – both slow. Reception staff were generally cheerful, although a bit surly at times, and efficient and generally helpful. There is a small lounge with a (little expensive) bar.
We were asked to pay upfront when we arrived which we thought was a bit strange and meals are taken around a colour coded card system. As we had booked bed and breakfast we were blue! Breakfasts were perfectly fine and more than acceptable with a good choice (hot food a bit variable) for the standard and size of the hotel. A stern message on the restaurant door about not taking food out presumably means this is a problem! As we did not eat, other than breakfast, in the hotel I cant comment on the food, although it appeared very good value.

If you want spacious luxury the Osborne is not for you. If you want clean, warm, well located and above average at a very affordable price then this is for you. For what we paid (150 euro for three nights b&b for two) this was an excellent choice. We are already planning our next break to Malta and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Osborne's in a good location; we had a good view from our room (but I understand there are few rooms with views/good views.) The room was small with a wardrobe that leaned and a sink which had the previous occupant's toothpaste on it; noticing that it was never cleaned away I added my own bit of blue toothpaste to it -still there the next days. There were tea and coffee making facilities but they would only leave 2 portions of milk a day so we had the choice of a morning or evening cuppa; requests for more met with a small jug of milk which would go off. We were woken by the cleaner at 8.30am on New Year's Day to ask if we were ready to have our room cleaned. Breakfasts are an important meal of the day on holiday - at the Osborne they were endured rather than anticipated: self-service, it could be a scrum in the small space: coffee from a machine, powdered fruit juice (I assume, certainly not fresh, or if so it was watered down), no fresh fruit but tinned peaches and/or pears, beans, sausages and an egg concoction... every day. We chose not to eat in the restaurant in the evenings -the diners looked miserable (somewhat like people in a poor nursing home -we chose to eat at Sacha's, opposite, lovely food and a warm and welcoming atmosphere). The sitting room was slow on service, dirty cold water visible in the sink behind the bar which ran out of lemonade at one time. The staff, on the whole, seemed harrassed. Wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florence, italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2011

great locaton, being near the mainstreets of valletta and the central bus terminal to get to other parts of the island. Only pet peeve is that the bedspreads were impregnated with awful cigarette smoke and the floors, although of nice parquet wood, were not padded and so in the early early morning, we do not know if they were guests or the cleaning people, but our sleep was disturbed by the noise above!!!! (doors and dresser drawers opening and closing, clumping of footsteps, ect.) Our third bed in our triple room was just a fold away bed and so it had a very very hard mattress and i had to switch with my 10 year old daughter cuz she couldn't fall asleep on it.
Warning: the 9.90 euro meals are a pretty decent deal if you don't get the optional water which they charge you 3 to 5 euro for a small half liter bottle!!! Take the wine included in the meal insteAD.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank wahine87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed here for three nights recently. The hotel is very near to the old city center of the Maltese capital.

We had a nice room which had a somewhat weird window. That must have been because of the old building this hotel is situated in. We paid 134 euro for 3 nights and chose to have the breakfast elsewhere. Thus we ate somewhere in the city of Valletta. The room was clean and the amenities were as you would expect them to be. Towels were changed every day.

There is a small swimming pool on the roof of the hotel.

Parking is free as long as you park in a 'white box'. There are 3 free lots in the front and there is a public free parking place only 100 meters left of the hotel.

I rated this hotel as expensive, not because of our particular stay, but because of the WiFi. They charge you 2,50 euro per hour (!!) which I found rather ridiculous. We used our own laptop and bought a local Vodafone 3G sim card instead. That gave us 3 days unlimited 7.2mbit access for only 10 euro.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEWEWEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

From the reviews I was expecting better. The location is great: central, and Valletta is charming in many respects. The hotel receptionist did not look at us when we arrived and seemed bored and disinterested. However, another receptionist, Ronnie, who did our checkout, was charming and helpful. The reception area is pleasant and characterful. However our room was pretty awful, the bathroom was in an added on cube directly opposite the door and taking up half of the room, making a narrow squeeze to the window. There was a cheap modern wardrobe which was too big for the size of room, the two single beds were cheap and uncomfortable (and squeaked a lot every time you moved!). Neither of us slept well due to the chiming of the cathedral clock EVERY 15 MINUTES throughout the night - it was a choice between this or the noisy air conditioning system. The bathroom was a bit shabby. The breakfast was one of the worst I've ever experienced: mass produced, with queues of people who seemed determined to get value for money, and all of it was pretty disgusting, from rubbery scrambled eggs (inedible) to tough tinned pears and anaemic white sliced bread. Luckily we were here for just one night, I would not have wanted to stay for longer. The front and reception looked promising but our room wasn't - I appreciate that some rooms may have been better. We tried to change ours but were told it wasn't possible because they were too busy. We had emailed to ask for a quiet room. Valletta is worth visiting if you're heading to Malta, but for us this was more a 2-star hotel than 3-stars.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stercks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valletta
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1101, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing