We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be happy to stay here again”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This hotel is a basic bed and breakfast and we liked it very much. It was clean and had everything that we required. We liked the friendlyness of all the staff and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The view from the balcony was unbelievable and we had the same glorious
view from the restaurant.
The beds were comfortable and rooms clean.
We liked it so much we have booked to go again this year.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WiltshireAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

I would like to thank you for your comments and am glad that you will return to our hotel , we hope that you will once again enjoy staying here with us regards David Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2011

A basic hotel with fantastic views across Grand Harbour to the Three Cities. Wake up and see a massive cruise ship passing just yards from your window.
The staff are friendly. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable.
The restaurant is excellent with Maltese cooking. Rabbit dishes/ Octopus stew and also excellent stakes. Make sure you get a terrace table.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 May 2011

Thanks for your positive comments and am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to be of service again another time regards David MOntebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We booked at the British Hotel in order to be in Valetta. It is situated just 5 minutes from the St John Co-Cathedral and from all central attractions. In case someone has a room with a view, then that is really worth. As the building is old, the rooms are neither modern nor very comfortable. The breakfast is rather elementary, but decent. There is Wi Fi in a central area and that is free of charge, if someone has his own laptop. The staff is helpful and polite. The historical centre of Valetta is not the best place for night life, St Julian is much better for that. Tip : beware of taxi drivers in Valetta. Arrange for airport transfer with the hotel : the service is very reliable.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank arapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 May 2011

I would like to thank you for your positive comments and am glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We try our best to make you feel comfortable and your comments are very rewarding and helpful . We hope to have you stay here again in the future
regards

David Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Just because it has a great view or some Hollywood blockbuster was filmed in front of doesn't justify the price one pays for these hostel style rooms. We had two single rooms in the annex facing the lightwell, drafty windows and no heating at cold 9C in the night. Bathrooms were so small we couldn't sit straight on the toilet without banging the knees. (free) Wifi didn't work in these rooms, and some corners hadn't seen a broom for quite some time. Lounge on second floor furnished with 60ies, some torn, strange seats and dirt behind the bar we literally had to squeeze by to climb to our rooms in the annex. Breakfast was a joke, don't even want to mention. For € 50 per room and night entirely overpaid. A couple of days later we found a deal on ebookers at the 5* Corinthia Palace at € 200 incl breakfast in a double for 2 nights and got even upgraded to a 2 room suite top floor without asking = same price as the 2 singles at the British !! A Maltese friend of ours commented, oh, the British has never seen any refurbushing ...

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DagmarKaethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 May 2011

I would like to point out that we had a major movie ,documenteries and TV filming which were made here due to the location of the hotel which is surrounded by history ,character and breathtaking views making it unique from other palces. Our prices however are calculated because the position is unbeatable , overlooking the wonderful Grand harbour and also close to major Capital city attractions of Valletta ,such as museums shops , conference centre , main bus terminus , , banks , Sea passenger Terminal ... the list is endless. The view is wonderful, the staff are helpful and friendly making one feel you are not just a room number but part of the family. Business in Valletta is all year round .
Unfortunately the rooms allocated to you and your friend were small as they were the last two rooms booked since the hotel was full due to a conference, I was going to try and change them the next day to two twin larger rooms (for single use) with a larger en suite bathroom , balcony and odern LCD TV but you had already made your mind to go to a large 5 star hotel which offered you a good deal since it 's totally outside the city of Valletta , in fact about its 25 minutes away from the major attractions and having quite a number of rooms so it can afford to put down the price to attaract tourists .
I would like to point out that we also have heaters in the rooms and if there were not any , I appologise but if you had asked reception they would have provided you one each at no extra charge. We advertise that we have free Wifi in public areas and we really do , we never said you can get it in the room.
Anyway people who travel in Europe and want to stay in the capital cities know that small hotels charge more than any 4 or 5 star hotels outside the city ,the reason being , location location location... if one wants to see the old city , avoid transport costs and does not want to lose precious time coming /going to the city from other towns ,one would stay in a small hotel , hostel or apaprtment in Valletta but if one wants 5 star service , then yes it would be ideal to stay in the 5 star hotel as you will get a large room ,huge bathroom ,super breakfast , a nice realaxing break which could be in any large hotel in any country ,away from major attractions already mentioned above.
It all depends what one wants to do and yes there is a huge difference to go from a two star to a 5 star but the choice is up to what one wants and plans to do on a holiday. Refurbishing is being done in the hotel at small pace due to the old building which is dating back to 17th century and also to the high maintenace costs . Two years ago we refurbished quite a few rooms with new furniture & fittings , LCD TV s , telephones , A/C and safe deposit boxes, Wi fi coverage and this year we also changed the lift to a more safer modern stainless steel model. We of course have a lot more things to do and always appreciate any comments from guests being negative or positive as after all we want guests to enjoy their stay and visit us again year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We spent one night at the British Hotel, on our way back from a wonderful week in Malta and Gozo. What a finish! This hotel is in a beautiful setting overlooking the Grand Harbour, which is wasted on this grotty hotel, which is old-fashioned and even for Valetta, poor value for money (€70 for B&B). The accomodation was more suitable for a hostel than a hotel. There was an extra charge for room heating/air-con, two hard single beds. Breakfast consisted of lukewarm instant coffee (no tea), some sort of fruit drink labelled "orange juice", "cornflakes", bread, cheese and salami. Not a place for a prolonged stay. The bath was the smallest I have ever seen and the "shower" a pathetic trickle. Water was heated by a boiler in the room, so only one bath was possible until the water heated up again.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Espedair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 March 2011

I was very surprised by some remarks and not sure if these clients stayed here as there are quite a few things written which are totally different. We never charge for heating , the coffee is cooking coffee and not instant coffee , tea is also available of course , there are two types of cereals including musesli not just cornflakes ,banana chips, the juice machine has 4 different types of juices not just oranage juice and its one of the machines used in large 4 star hotels, 3 types of bread including local , french and brown, two types of cold cuts , one cheese , local biscuits , besides 2 types of jam and a maramalade/butter . The mattreses are semi orthopedic to prevent back ache . We have boilers which is typical in small hotels but 50 gallons of hot water is normally adequate for 2 persons. We also have a water pump installed to deliver water at a good pressure. The building dates back to the Knights of St. John who satarted building Valletta in 1566 so it is quite an old buidling for any traveler who admires culture and history , besides having the best view of Malta overlooking the Grand harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This is an excellent choice for the budget traveller. Great location in Valletta and some of the rooms such as 115 have great views across the grand harbor. Staff was very friendly and the room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Global_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We had two rooms with views over the harbour, one with a covered balcony the other open. Both rooms were large (one had four beds, the other a sitting area) and adequately furnished though not particularly luxurious. The breakfast was OK, though fairly limited, but the view you have while eating it is truly magnificent...it is very easy to think 'just one more cup of coffee'. The staff were efficient and friendly. A fairly basic but more than adequate hotel, I would definitely recommend paying for a harbour view - that is what really makes a visit memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT1222, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range: £79 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Malta s oldest family hotels since 1930 located in the best part of the capital city of Valletta with the best views of the Grand harbour and close to the main attractions of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing