We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but far from luxurious...”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Very well located Hotel although a lot of taxi driver's don't know where it is, close to the main square, the main churches, baracca gardens and other attractions of Valletta.. a far walk to the bus depot but doable.

The hotel is clean and well maintained, the rooms are spacious and at a high point the view out to the water is unbeatable. Breakfast/Dinner is served in a patio style covered room looking out to the water as well which is perfect on a holiday.

The internet service is not that great and they charge extra for most ammenities (i.e. haridryer charge)... we were there during a hot week and stayed in a room with no built in air-con so the option was to leave the balcony door open with a portable air-con. breakfast is quite average (bread, spreads, milk & cereal) but a great base to discover and explore the capital of a very beautiful country.

Room Tip: Check about Air-con, it gets HOT in Malta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventuring_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Thank you for your comments. To clear some things , please note that I do not expect for all the taxis to know where the hotel is but more than most of them do. The bus terminus is usually about a 10 minute walk away however due to the restoraion works that are being carried on at the moment , the detour to the station takes a couple of minutes more. This is only a temporally setback. Your room was equipped with a hairdryer and we did not charge you extra for it. Its fair to say that the family room you had has a built in A/C unit in the main bedroom at an extra charge and I gave you the other mobile A/C free for the other bedroom so you did not pay for 2 A/C as you are aware. Of course to benefit from the A/C unit one has to close the balcony doors .
Regarding the internet service , please note when you have the hotel full most of the time , there is a lot demand on the service so yes it does get a bit slower than usual. thanks again for your comments regards David MOntebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

I noticed how there is a pattern to the reviews of British Hotel. Some people complain about the stairways, steps and confusing corridors, other people find it charming and natural in a city like Valletta. Some people complain about a cracked tile in the shower, other people mention the stunning view and kind staff. Before booking here you should consider which type you are. We - two families of four and five - stayed in family rooms (2 x two rooms adjoining, on third and fouth floor), basic with good beds, both with a harbour view and balconies. And what a view! The moon over the harbour shone right onto our beds and with no neighbours across the street we had privacy and unblocked views. The staff was helpful and nice. Hang out in the restaurant and bar for loooong drinks to enjoy the view (not so much the food). The only thing I thought a little out of place is the 70-ish, run-down decor of the restaurant area, what is it still doing in this great, authentic Valletta scene, but never mind, we spent most of the time looking out over Grand Harbour anyway. Great location for a true Valletta experience.

Room Tip: Harbour view essential! Triq Sant Orsla/Ursula Street on the rear is traditional and nice but with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Chanomachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thanks for your comments and tips . I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I am afraid that it 's true not everyone appreciates the old heritage building and it does require a lot of expense to maintain but I think this is what makes the hotel stand out from other places, besides its location and stunning views. Yes the restaurant decor is from the 70 s and we do plan to decor it in the near future, however it was also due to this decor that Steven Spielberg chose to direct part of the film Munich a few years ago , so it does have its advantages too.
I want to thank you once again for your honest opinions about us
regards

David Montebello
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Returned this week. This delightful hotel should be ranked higher. Everything about it was commendable. I pick George for special mention, even fixing coffee at 5 am. David and Chris were most helpful at the desk. But how about having Bibles in the rooms as in most hotels around the world? They are free from Gideons. Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms 121 and 124 high up looking across the harbour - perfect for vuewing all the firework displays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leonardmalcolm c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thanks for your wonderful review and am glad we made you feel welcome. I just want to inform you that I had bibles before in the rooms and I used to have complaints by people who have a different religious views so we decided to take them away, however we do provide information for different religions at reception, once again thank you for your comments

regards

David Montebello
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel logation was perfect with great view overlooking the Grand harbour
The accommodation was fine and the prise was little bit expensive according to the standart of the hotel. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok, on terrace with a view. Friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fabio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

I want to thank you for your comments about the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us . As you know the location and view are priceless and we feel that the price is justified when you consider this but then again , everyone has a right to express their opinion and I want to thank you for letting me know yours as it will help us know what our clients require best. Once again thanks for your comments

regards

David Montebello
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I've read some mixed reviews about this hotel but found, for a two star rated hotel, that it had everything we needed. We arrived at the hotel early and the staff on reception were more than happy to hurry along the cleaning of our room so that we could get inside for a desperately needed shower. During our two day stay staff continued to be helpful and polite. I would advise a room with a view, it was absolutely stunning, as was the view from the underused bar area and restaurant. I have read that the hotel is labyrinthine and this was suggested as a negative. It is certainly a maze of little corridors and steps and corners but this adds to the charm of the building and fits in with the structure of the city in which it resides. The room and communal areas were fairly basic and generally the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift. I would suggest if you are looking for a splendidly furnished hotel then this isn't the one for you. If you want a basic hotel with pleasant staff, nice food and a view that is simply stunning then I would suggest a stay at The British.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, General Manager at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for your comments and glad that you appreciate the historical building . The view and location make it unique from other hotels . We try our best to make you feel welcome and your comments are very encouraging and continue to help us improve our services In the name of my staff and management , I once again thank you for being honest in expressing your positive reviews with us
regards
David Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in a superior sea view room on the 3.rd floor. We had a huge balcony/terrasse with sunbeds and 2 sittingarears (balcony about 50 sqm) to share with another room with fantastic view over the Grand Harbour, but we never met other people on the balcony/terrasse. We became fantastic service over all, and booked directly at the hotel. We will definately recommend this hotel to everybody. You only pay for a 2 star hotel and get all the best in walkindistance to great restaurants, boatrips etc. Captain Morgan harbourcruise are sold as a 2 hours trip but we went back after only 1 hour and 20 minuts, but the Vessel trip to Comino/Blue Lagoon and Gozo allso with Captain Morgan gave us half an hour more than advertised.

Room Tip: Room 105 or 106 on 3.rd floor are with the huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belledonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

I want to thank you for visiting us and writing down your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you will mrecommend us to other people, it clearly shows that you really had a great time in Malta and at our little family hotel

thanks

Daivd Montebello
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Reservations were easy and reliable, as we arrived in the middle of the night and they arranged a taxi and had excellent front desk staff. Family room was huge, with balconies in both rooms overlooking gorgeous harbour--amazing location in middle of Valletta. Rooms were old-school and very warm and basic, but functional. Breakfast was pretty bad but free and again, functional. okay value. Overall, recommended if you need a Valletta base for a night or two.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony overlooking harbour--essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviapulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for all your comments. I was not sure what you meant regarding the family room you had as it was refurbshied about four years ago . I also assume that you probably were expecting a cooked english breakfast and not a complimentary continental that we offer with the rate. As to be honest our complimentary breakfast is pretty good considering that we do not charge extra for it like other hotels. It includes 4 type of juices, tea , coffee or hot chocolate, 3 types of bread local , brown or slice (and toast) , local buscuits , jam butter marmlade, 2 types of cereals , 2 types of cold cut meat and cheese , and fruit salad. Besides this its a bufet type so one can go as much one pleases so I think its quite good but then again if one was expecting a cooked breakfast its another story , just for the record we do serve it at a small cost. Anyway I want to thank you for your other positive comments which surely make up for the above I am sure. thanks again

David Montebello
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT1222, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range: £82 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Malta s oldest family hotels since 1930 located in the best part of the capital city of Valletta with the best views of the Grand harbour and close to the main attractions of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing