We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & harbour view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Faversham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location & harbour view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Its a 2*. The lift does not go to all the floors doing stairs are a problem I would suggest you raise this with them when you book. We arrived at 10:30pm. The kitchen was closed yet the staff, who are extremely friendly managed to sere is soup & a main course with a bottle of local wine. Good value for money. The hotel is dated but good value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinerDinerFaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your comment . I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and my staff managed to provide some food , even after the restaurant was closed. Its not easy finding somewhere to eat after 10.30pm especially on your first day so I can imagine the feeling of not having to wander at that time looking for a restaurant. Yes some rooms are not accessible by lift all the way due to the old structure of the building which is one of the oldest lodging places of the city dating back to the Knights of St John. It 's what makes it stand out from other hotels in Malta if you like culutre and historical buildings. Once again thanks for the comments
regards

David Montebello
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    141
    85
    64
    37
See reviews for
47
136
75
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

As with all Maltese people, there is always a welcome and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff were very apologetic about the upgrading taking place, which will make the hotel even more attractive - lovely cool stairwells and newly decorated rooms. Very convenient for everything in Valletta and close enough to the buses and ferries. We will be back again !

Room Tip: Pay out a little extra to get one with a balcony/terrace view across the Harbour - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipper29_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Manager at British Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments . Works nearly completed in the floors and should be ready just before the two feasts coing up this month and Easter next month which is already quite full . I hope that you can visit us again another year

regards and thanks

David Montebllo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in mid January then returned for a further 2 nights a few days later after returning from Gozo. We were really impressed with the staff friendliness, cleanliness and the views of the Grand Harbour. The hotel is one of the best for location, close to the good bus services which allows one to travel easily all over Malta and is centrally located near all the restaurants, shops & attractions. In our opinion the Lonely Planet review 'short changes' the hotel. We were travelling in off-season which permitted us to have a spacious harbour view room without pre-booking! The hotel is older style but that adds to its charm.
We wouldn't hesitate in staying again and recommending it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-and-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thanks for your positive comments about the staff and the hotel. We try our best to make you feel at home as I know the location alone although one of the best on the island is not enough if you are not made welcome. I look forward to having you or any of your riends staying here again especially now that most of the refurbishment has been completed. Thanks again

David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I returned last week from a very enjoyable visit staying at The British Hotel. Alterations and updating was in progres. The management and staff were welcoming and helpful, When I make my next visit to Malta I hope to stay there again. Central to everything with the Bus Depot the Hub of Island travel adventure. Valletta has the history and culture to make people leave the Island feeling reflective and uplifted. Due to the good nature of the Maltese people I felt at home and did not feel it necessary to be be" pickey " Best wishes to The Brirish Hotel,

Room Tip: You sleep in a room ......... and it is not for ever. The cost is up to the traveller!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grannyblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
I want to thank you for your review. Alterations are now nearly finished with new bathrooms and tiling in most rooms . We have also installed Ozone Wifi (at a small charge) in all the rooms so that guests have a good internet service directly from the rooms. In reception there is stil free wireless available . Thanks again for your wonderful comments

regards

David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I have just returned from 5 nights at British Hotel. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is a little quirky but that is due to the nature of the old building. We requested and got a superior room with the most amazing habour view and a large balcony. The beds were comfy. It was clean and the maid visited every day. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, with special mention to the regular waiter in the restaurant. Having an evening meal, on the balcony overlooking the Grand Habour will live with me forever.

My tips to the management would be to keep the 70s decor - as it is now a 'period piece', it just needs to be touched up etc. and to invest in better cushions for the sun loungers on the balconies. The breakfast is OK but cold be improved.

Valletta is a lovely capital city with culture, shopping and the water. I completely recommend visiting the shop Wembley but not when you are hungry! We are both large people who don't exercise enough and we were fine walking to the bus depot despite the detour caused by the City Gate update. The new bus system is dire but this isn't the fault of the hotel!!! Although an expensive option the hotel can arrange reliable taxis who charge what they advertise.

If you can deal with a unique hotel in an amazing location this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Choose superior, habour view near to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Manager at British Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. I will certainly look into the items you mentioned so I can take action. I also noted the cooment about the decor, as yes it has come back into fashion. At the moment we are doing up quite a few rooms , changing the bathrooms and replacing curtains etc ..so its an on going thing especially with the old building but as you know its has plenty of character and people like you tend to appreciate these things. I hope that by the time you vist our buses will be working well

regards

David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Ok, there are many opinions and views as to this hotel and what it offers. Having stayed in various all over the place (world) all we can say is consider what you are looking for, what you want to do and what type of experience is important to you and that you are able to complete physically at ease within the locality.
For what we wanted we could not have wished for more. A room with a suberb view and a balcony for when we returned from exploring, room 109, the next floor was open sky. Comfortable beds and very clean rooms, yes they are not 5 star rooms but you are not paying for that here, after all when I close my eyes I don't really notice the furniture. The staff, no matter who it was were always polite and if you asked and they were able they would, what more do you need! The Hotel offers food and it certainly does taste nice if you are hungry but it does not try to be what it is not. Breakfast is often commented on which we came across when doing our research and yes it's not a full English / American / Continental but it will keep the 'wolves from the door' and is a very typical type of offering for this region of the world.
In all, it ticked boxes for service, locality and everything else if you think of what you require and hope to achieve from taxis, trips, contact etc. If you do your homework and this is what you are looking for you will not be disappointed.
If / when we go back to Malta we would not really now consider staying anywhere else on an independant traveller basis

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a harbour view and try get a balcony so you can step outside to enjoy it better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank world_is_your_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments which were very straight forward and right to the point. We are a small 2 star family run hotel and hope that guests who come here appreciate the old building and the location , just like you diid. We are not trying to sell five star accommodation however some might agree that the view/location and the staff can certainly compete in the five star category. I leave that for you guests to decide and hope to have more travellers like you visiting us
Thanks David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The beds are comfy, the view is to die for but don't get excited about the breakfast. This hotel is very basic but the staff are extremely helpful and even in the middle of the night cannot do enough for you. The stairs are hard to take with luggage if you are on the top floor like we were and the decor is dated with some of it needing chucking out immediately. As a limited stopover its great but I would't want a week here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rutlandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were helpful, that is very important for us. In fact if you read the last review , we are in the process of updating a number of rooms with new bathrooms and curtains etc to continue upgrading it. Once again I appreciate your comments

regards

David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Property: British Hotel
Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing