We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and guests -”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We spent four nights at British Hotel in the beginning of August, two adults and two children.
If you are looking for a low-budget base to explore Valletta and Malta from, but still want an unique atmosphere, calm sleeping and spotless cleaning, this is the place to go.
The building IS old and could need som fixing up here or there, but it is very hygienic and homely, as a very lovely group of ladies clean it thoroughly every day and let you sleep in clean crisp sheets every night. The aircondition works perfect.
Staff are very warm, friendly and helpful. Especially receptionist Johnny, who will tell you great stories from Malta if you ask him.
Breakfast was a little on the boring side, even for a two star hotel, but the coffee was super and staff very attentive.
Another small minus is the cost of AC, 7 euro per night seems a bit much as we further on during our travels in Malta, had AC for free at even cheaper hotels.
Despite this, British Hotel is a very good choice at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theKarlssons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for British Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stupendous views of the Grand Harbour; excellent location for Valletta's sights (for instance, the Co-Cathedral is about 3 minutes away).
Staff are friendly and helpful at any time of day or night.
The rooms are clean and cleaned very well each day. Breakfast is adequate.
Be aware that this is a budget hotel with spartan rooms and few facilities in the rooms ( air conditioning for instance is extra).
Wi-fi is only available on the first three floors (I was on the sixth) and in any case it was down on three of the seven days I stayed.
This is an ideal hotel as a base for exploring ...as long as you are not concerned about luxury rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front. I had a back room but almost sole use of a very nice terrace on the top...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbr456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel before an early start to get to the airport. It's a traditional hotel but has the most stunning views from the restaurant and the rooftop terrace. The staff were very helpful and friendly, both at check in and the following morning when they gave me a (very welcome) light breakfast at 4.30am! Free wi-fi is available in the public areas, which was an added bonus.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank funofthefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I havn't stayed at this hotel for some time, but on my last visit to Malta decided on booking dinner there. I was so impressed that a day or so later I reccomended it to some friends. They wern't disappointed either.
I had a balcony table that gave me a view overlooking the Grand Harbour and was compleate with a full moon. [You could have set it to music]. The waiter remembered me from my last visit and was friendly and attentive.
My meal of stewed octopus and a bottle of Gozo wine was of really good quality and not expensive at all.
The British is 'a little dated' but I'd rather it didn't change, it's well situated for sightseeing in Valletta and the staff are friendly. What's not to like ?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forkinggeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This the perfect choice for a short budget stay in Valletta. Don’t expect a fancy tourist or business hotel experience: the British offers you an authentic stay in a rambling heritage building, so the decor is indeed a bit tired. But it’s clean; the rooms are large; everything works (including the wi-fi); and above all you are made to feel welcome. A refurbishment makeover might even take away some of its charm.

The hotel is perfectly situated close by everything you will want to see or do in Valletta. And, as every review mentions, the views from the front rooms overlooking the Grand Harbour are quite outstanding – it would not be possible to be in a better position. We were in Valletta in May at the time of the international fireworks festival, and it was no surprise that half Valletta was camping out in front of the hotel for the best views over the harbour.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

by the name. This hotel is "special". True it does need as make-over but if it had one it would not have the "charm". The views from the dining room is spectacular and possible one of the few hotels to claim such a view. Breakfasts are plain as are the evening meals. Rooms have everything you could ask for including pigeons during the month of May sitting on their nests which can be heard from the rooms at the front of the hotel. Saying all of this, this hotel is good, the staff are amazingly helpful, absolutely nothing is too much trouble. Take a chance on this one.......

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour - they have "Maltese" balconies - which are not the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Friends28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,060 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range: £97 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing