We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, clean, modest, friendly”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This hotel has probably the best harbor views in all of Malta. It' needs sprucing up but it's clean. The rooms are small and spare. The plumbing works well. The supplement for air-conditioning is only 7 Euros and worth it. The welcome is friendly and helpful; it's family-run, and the staff speaks English well.. Breakfast is ample, served on a terrace with harbor views. Fellow guests included young and old, from various countries. It's a l0 minute walk to the main bus station for island-wide transportation. The hotel is at the edge of the city center; the cathedral is about a 5-10 minute walk uphill.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

Epitomizes old adage: You get what you pay for. Strengths: (1) Staff. Very friendly, very helpful. Whatever you ask for, they will try to supply it. (2) Location. Absolutely superb. View from restaurant and bar looking across Grand Harbour at the Three Cities is spectacular. Easy access to all of the many historical sights in Valletta. (3) Free wifi, although it is quirky. Sometimes it doesn't work at some places in the hotel. (4) It is really cheap. My room (for one person) was 50 euros. Weaknesses: (1) Rooms are very plain and very old. Well worn, perhaps even a little shabby. Water pressure is weak. (2) It really is a rabbit warren of a place. Four steps up, three steps down, turn left, go down little hall, turn right, etc. (3) Restaurant is weak, breakfast is abysmal. Fortunately, Valletta is full of places where you can get a decent, full breakfast for 4 or 5 euros. Conclusion: If you remember what you are paying, and that this is a 2-star place, I think you would be very satisfied. If you expect a four-star, then you will probably complain.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papa_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The view's wonderful, over to the three cities, but apart from that the hotel hasn't got much to recommend it. Breakfast is only so-so, the rooms are plain to put it mildly, the lift's tiny and ancient, and the one occasion when I had supper there the food wasn't much good. Nor was the service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 February 2011

Thanks for the feedback . As you know we are a two star hotel so if one is looking for comfort , luxury and more service then it would be better to book a higher grade hotel . Having said that we would have loved to have had your comments whilst you were here as most of them could have easily been resloved. We offer complimentary continental buffet breakfast and we do not charge extra for it as most of the small hotels in Europe. The lift has been replaced in the begining of January 2011 and is slighly larger but the important thing its gets you there. Regarding the restaurant , I do not know what you had but we offer Maltese cuisine which may not have been to your liking , but it does not mean that the food was not good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

A great location just outside Valetta - a few minutes walk there and to the main bus area. A short walk to the waterfront area - a modern cruise termiinal area with street cafes etc. Basic but nice bneakfast - self serve, continental style. Helpful staff all speaking English. My room overlooked a quite narrow street. I left an item in the room when I left - but the staff were helpful and posted that to me very quickly, to the UK

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DREW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Great location if you're interested in all the historical and cultural sites to be found in Valletta. View from the restaurant across the Grand Harbor is spectacular as can be seen on the hotel website. Staff was very helpful and always eager to provide advice on what to see and do in Malta. Under-pressured shower and church bells were minor inconveniences, both offset by the great location, staff, and price. Would stay there again on any subsequent trip to Malta.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastmanArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Family owned hotel overlooking Grand Harbour. Great views day & night from Dining room, Bar & front bedrooms. We had a large well appointed bedroom at the front,with a huge balcony.The room was efficiently serviced every day & all staff were very friendly & helpful.
The restaurant served good Maltese food especially the Lampuki Fish & Rabbit dishes.
Breakfast consisted of Maltese Breads, with meat & cheese, jams etc. Tea, Coffee & fruit juice. A cooked breakfast was available on request if desired. I stayed at this Hotel in the late 60's early 70's & this is why we returned.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DieselS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Despite the hotel being quite basic - very "old Malta" - the view was magnificent...straight out onto the Grand Harbour. Valletta itself is very quiet at night and strangely British - the telephone boxes and post boxes are British, they drive on the left, everyone speaks English, even the electrical plugs in the hotel were the three-point British, and there were even yellow and orange belisha beacons by the zebras. However, the city and the surroundings are exotic, so it has a wonderful mix of familiar and unfamiliar. There is so much to see on the island that whatever you want from a holiday, you can find it in Malta. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,228 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#11 of 15 in Valletta
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT1222, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range: £60 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Malta s oldest family hotels since 1930 located in the best part of the capital city of Valletta with the best views of the Grand harbour and close to the main attractions of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing