We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice with great views for the budget traveller”
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
British Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This is an excellent choice for the budget traveller. Great location in Valletta and some of the rooms such as 115 have great views across the grand harbor. Staff was very friendly and the room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Global_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2010

We had two rooms with views over the harbour, one with a covered balcony the other open. Both rooms were large (one had four beds, the other a sitting area) and adequately furnished though not particularly luxurious. The breakfast was OK, though fairly limited, but the view you have while eating it is truly magnificent...it is very easy to think 'just one more cup of coffee'. The staff were efficient and friendly. A fairly basic but more than adequate hotel, I would definitely recommend paying for a harbour view - that is what really makes a visit memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Just returned from 3 night stay. I agree with the other recent contributors. Hotel is old and quirky with basic rooms. Clean and functional with satelitte tv with BBC world news, some kids cartoon channels etc. Air con is 7 euros a night but there is a big floor standing fan which does the job. Bathroom clean if in need of a little updating. No shampoo but plenty of soap a lashing of hot water. Staff are frindly and helpful. Breakfast is continental style. Evening meals are good with an average price of 10 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

As far as a 2* Hotel is concerned this is your best bet in Valletta for a comfortable, convenient and reasonably priced hotel.
The decor is quirky and retro - as nothing has been updated.
The rooms are basic (not just lacklustre) but simple. However, they are clean with comfortable beds, hot showers, cable T.V, fast WiFi. Worth paying an extra 10 euro a night for the great harbour sea view.
The staff are fantastic, very helpful and really can't do enough for you!
Note they do charge extra for aircon, hairdryers, iron etc - but all at a very low price and after all it is a 2* so I can understand.
All rooms have a fan which we found sufficient in September - no need for air con.
Both the Restaraunt and the Bar areas have balconies overlooking the Great Harbour and one of the best views that we found in Valleta - Nice to just sit, sip a great espresso, enjoy the views and use your laptop if you wish.
Very close to everything in Valletta.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroad2nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This hotel has probably the best harbor views in all of Malta. It' needs sprucing up but it's clean. The rooms are small and spare. The plumbing works well. The supplement for air-conditioning is only 7 Euros and worth it. The welcome is friendly and helpful; it's family-run, and the staff speaks English well.. Breakfast is ample, served on a terrace with harbor views. Fellow guests included young and old, from various countries. It's a l0 minute walk to the main bus station for island-wide transportation. The hotel is at the edge of the city center; the cathedral is about a 5-10 minute walk uphill.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Epitomizes old adage: You get what you pay for. Strengths: (1) Staff. Very friendly, very helpful. Whatever you ask for, they will try to supply it. (2) Location. Absolutely superb. View from restaurant and bar looking across Grand Harbour at the Three Cities is spectacular. Easy access to all of the many historical sights in Valletta. (3) Free wifi, although it is quirky. Sometimes it doesn't work at some places in the hotel. (4) It is really cheap. My room (for one person) was 50 euros. Weaknesses: (1) Rooms are very plain and very old. Well worn, perhaps even a little shabby. Water pressure is weak. (2) It really is a rabbit warren of a place. Four steps up, three steps down, turn left, go down little hall, turn right, etc. (3) Restaurant is weak, breakfast is abysmal. Fortunately, Valletta is full of places where you can get a decent, full breakfast for 4 or 5 euros. Conclusion: If you remember what you are paying, and that this is a 2-star place, I think you would be very satisfied. If you expect a four-star, then you will probably complain.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papa_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The view's wonderful, over to the three cities, but apart from that the hotel hasn't got much to recommend it. Breakfast is only so-so, the rooms are plain to put it mildly, the lift's tiny and ancient, and the one occasion when I had supper there the food wasn't much good. Nor was the service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 February 2011

Thanks for the feedback . As you know we are a two star hotel so if one is looking for comfort , luxury and more service then it would be better to book a higher grade hotel . Having said that we would have loved to have had your comments whilst you were here as most of them could have easily been resloved. We offer complimentary continental buffet breakfast and we do not charge extra for it as most of the small hotels in Europe. The lift has been replaced in the begining of January 2011 and is slighly larger but the important thing its gets you there. Regarding the restaurant , I do not know what you had but we offer Maltese cuisine which may not have been to your liking , but it does not mean that the food was not good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT1222, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range: £82 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Malta s oldest family hotels since 1930 located in the best part of the capital city of Valletta with the best views of the Grand harbour and close to the main attractions of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing