We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annie made our stay!!! She runs a tight ship!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Asti Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valletta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asti Guest House
Ranked #8 of 17 Valletta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Annie made our stay!!! She runs a tight ship!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We went with friends and never stopped giggling, Annie's has her ways with breakfast and woe be tied you try to suggest an easier way for her! She is not for turning, great lady.

If you are looking for upmarket glam this would not be for you but if you are happy with clean basic and a great location it is the place.
Bus station is only minutes away from the hotel if walking go to republic street take a right opposite the wembley store walk towards the battery gardens and its the last road down in front of gardens we made the mistake and carried on republic street and had a long walk back with our suitcases!
Stayed between 3rd and 7th of March, if we return to Valletta we would all go back to Asti's

Room Tip: Higher floors appeared more mordern and had more sunlight, we stayed on first floor rooms 1&2 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    45
    11
    11
    1
See reviews for
14
60
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Called in on our last trip to Malta,2013. Such fantastic memories of a long weekend at the Asti some 9 years ago. Wonderful Annie is still going strong and running her beloved home with great pride. The chandelier her husband made still lightens the breakfast room and Annie is very proud of the new furnishings and modernization she is doing.
If you want somewhere that is clean, comfortable, secure and right in the centre of things then choose the Asti. On an historic street with no traffic noise and you become part of the local life in Valletta. Convenient for all the local buses. Truly expect Michael Palin to walk down the stairs at anytime.
Asti is so reasonable and breakfast has local bread and preserves.
Just don't book when we want to go back. The Asti and Annie are part of Valletta's history and may they both continue.

Room Tip: All rooms are simple with Annie's old fashioned touches. Don't look for sophisticated luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiseolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had a fantastic one-week stay at Asti Guest House. Annie, the owner, is an energetic woman who keeps everything running smoothly. She's fun to talk to, to boot. This guest house is located on a quiet pedestrian street. It's quiet, secure, and perfectly clean. Breakfast is simple but pleasant. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank incalculable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Annie and Kurt run a lovely family guesthouse in downtown Valletta. My 7 year old son and I stayed for a week in January 2013, and had a lovely time. The guesthouse is well presented, the rooms kept clean, and the breakfasts hearty. We really enjoyed the warm welcome we were given here, and look forward to be able to come back with the rest of the family one day soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis IN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Valetta was delightful. As others have noted, the streets are mostly traffic-free. A really pleasant change after Sicily, where the chaotic traffic made simply walking around miserably unpleasant and sometimes impossible. History oozes from every building and every town is rich with it.

The Asti room was the best value I have ever had in European lodging, and the people could not have been more helpful. The room was large and comfortable, the location was convenient to everything in this wonderful city, and the proprietor was helpful, knowledgeable, and effficient. A great experience in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notpracticing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We just want to add to the many positive reviews for Asti Guest House. The location, the ambience, the architecture, Anna our hostess, were all great. This spot made our wonderful vacation in Malta even nicer. We loved the calm streets of Valetta, with their many fine outdoor restaurants, and NO traffic!! We are 100% sure we'll stay here again when we return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just got back from Malta, my wife & I were so very pleased we found this little hideaway, perfect for exploring Valletta. Just 5 min's walk from bus terminal & central for everything be it Religion, Culture, History or food & drink. Our hostess Anny was so friendly & attentive it was a sad farewell when we had to leave, Anny & her family run hotel made us feel like returning members of her family, very informative & helpfull hints of places to visit or to eat, If you want luxury this is not the place for you, but what does one expect for just 40 Euro's a night ? But if clean rooms, bedding & towels & a basic breakfast to start your day are what you require, the Asti is a great basecamp for your trip. So what if you have to share bathroom & loo ! With only 8 guest rooms, the 3 bathrooms are plenty, & if they are not always left in a clean state, it's more likely to be the guests fault than the owners,, All in all we would highly recommend the Asty to likewise travellers & will definately return in the near future. Grazzi,, Salud,, & Cheers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 on 1st floor, so if stairs are a problem ask for rooms 1 or 2. Bathroom is direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asti Guest House

Property: Asti Guest House
Address: St. Ursula Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Asti Guest House Hotel Valletta
Asti Guest House Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing