We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere good, food rough and ready”
Review of Museum cafe

Museum cafe
Ranked #68 of 229 Restaurants in Valletta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Atmosphere good, food rough and ready”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

It was a good experience going to the cafe, felt like you had gone back in time. However the food was a little rough and ready, we had the lasagne and found it very stodgy. Go for the atmosphere, not the dining experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SombreYellowBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The spirit of Valetta and friendly atmosphere ”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

In the center of Valetta. Small room with marble table, old mirrors, antic objects...You have the feeling of being in the past..
When I am in Valetta, I always have a lunch at museum cafe...
The food is very good and fresh, plain , cheap. (Sandwiches, pastas..)
You can see Maltese and tourists
The owners are warm...friendly atmosphere !

Helpful?
Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cannot be better”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

lovely location, friendly service, super cost-efficient food, what else could you ask for? stopped by there several times when i was in valletta, i love people working there..super nice and funny..food was just simple and delicious..coffee taste nice..more important..when you were sitting in this little cafe..you just feel the old atmosphere..and time seems stop...would love to go back..and sit there for a while

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy_vividodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple yet devine”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Ok I know when you are hungry most things will taste good and when we found thus place we were starving. However the sandwich and pea pasty we ordered far far exceeded our expectations. Just off the square we expected a bit of the Leicester Square syndrome (one time visitor, no effort, terrible food) but not so. Smiley service, good value, plenty of locals. My kind of place

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hjn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Traditional Maltese Cuisine”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just round the corner from the Malta Tourist Office in Valetta at 25 Melita street. is a well known Maltese traditional "Cafe" established in 1921 is a gem of a coffee shop.Lunch cost as little as 5€. The tabels are original 1921 style. Small cramped and always very popular with relics from the past decorating the walls it is a unique experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarcisio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum cafe also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Museum cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing