We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for people watching/friendly service”
Review of Charles Grech

Charles Grech
Ranked #38 of 247 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have used this coffee shop many times but this is my first review of it.
It is situated at the top end of Republic Street (city gate/bus station end) and usually has several tables outside, often fully occupied because it is very popular with the Maltese. An excellent spot to people watch. It is located on the side of the street which is in the shade until about 2.30pm when the sun moves around. There is an awning if it becomes too hot.
There is a wide selection of drinks, cakes/sandwiches and other snacks. It does not serve more substantial meals until after about 6pm (I think)
The staff are always very friendly and professional. They do tend to neglect visiting the outside if they are busy indoors, so you may have to pop in to order or pay your bill. No big deal you may say, but this last week I saw or heard the staff talking about couples who had departed without paying. Unfortunately too easy if you are dishonest.
An excellent eatery, well worth stopping off at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TerryStaffordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Charles Grech, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear TerryStaffordEngland,thank you for reviewing us, I am glad you visited us many times and you like our professional service, although it can be very busy at times! We look forward to seeing you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience should you have any other issues or comments.
Best regards,
David- dmckeon@charlesgrech.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We liked the olde world upmarket look of Charles Grech (in business from the 1800's) and decided to venture in for a lateish lunch.

As has been said, it certainly is frequented by the local population but just as easily welcomes the visitor and holidaymaker, and we were made welcome and did not find the staff curt on either of our two visits, one for lunch and one for late afternoon drinks.

The salad lunches were delicious, even my husband thought so, and salad is not his first choice of meal! Certainly they were incredibly good value for money.

When ordering a drink, free nuts, crisps and olives came with them in small dishes with spoons for serving yourself. How civilised! Definitely my kind of place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hortenseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Charles Grech, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear hortenseLeeds, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us! We are very happy that you and your husband felt welcome and enjoyed both your lunch and afternoon drinks at Charles Grech. Your kind comments have been shared with all the staff! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
David- dmckeon@charlesgrech.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Since it's opening, definitely the place to meet in Valletta... lunch and an early evening drink. A place to catch up with friends over a '' Proseco ''... Specials of the day is always a nice lunch option and always good... but one has to hurry as it finishes quickly. Has a very positive atmosphere.. a blend of old and new..young and old crowd.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Charles Grech, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Barbara Farrugia,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you like our food specials and the atmosphere here at Charles Grech. Your comments will be passed on to our kitchen staff and management.

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards

David McKeon
dmckeon@charlesgrech.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Could be a nice spot to grab a quick drink, you'll definitely be in the thick of the government workers and lawyers finishing up their days! However, try to order in a bottle, skipping clear liquids, for a better value. Otherwise, generally curt staff... to be expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank pickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Charles Grech, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear pickling,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. Although it can get a bit hectic at times, giving a great service and the quality of drinks is our utmost priority and I am truly sorry we didn't meet your expectations at that time.
I would greatly appreciate if you can contact me directly in order to address your experience better.

Kind regards
David McKeon , dmckeon@charlesgrech.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is an old Maltese place to gather for a quick lunch or afternoon aperitif on Valetta. Pricey for the value offered. Easy to visit.

1  Thank ABRAHAM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charles Grech also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Charles Grech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing