We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place for a glass of wine, right in the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charles Grech

Charles Grech
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal place for a glass of wine, right in the city.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Vast choice of wines, great service & right in the middle of the city on Republic Street. This place looks marvelous, with it's authentic facade.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maltakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    76
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location with friendly staff ideal for people watching”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely little place with charming atmosphere this bar/cafe is just right for a beer or two, situated at the top of Republic Street (by City Gate/bus station end) with outside seating there is a friendly bar frequented by the local population but just as easily welcomes the visitor and holidaymaker, An excellent spot to watch the world go by, When ordering a drink, free nuts, crisps and olives came with them in small dishes with spoons for serving yourself. How civilised!

just last week I saw or heard the staff talking about couples who had departed without paying. Unfortunately too easy if you are dishonest now its getting hotter you might like to go outside for often, just saying a word to the wise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricketman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“5 Star Place the Drink and Relax”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My Wife, Myself and our Son Jason go here to relax and have a quiet drink. It is an up market Wine Bar and gives 5 Star service. We have been served several times by a Gentleman called Manuel and he is a real Gentleman. For a relaxing drink in Valletta go here and treat yourself to a drink in a 5 Star Wine Bar

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MickyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great wine bar”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Charles Grech is located on the Republic Street in Valletta and serves great wine and food. I was there a couple of times during my holiday trip on Malta. The only downside are the closing hours between the week, but they are open at the weekend at night as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdinand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good location for people watching/friendly service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have used this coffee shop many times but this is my first review of it.
It is situated at the top end of Republic Street (city gate/bus station end) and usually has several tables outside, often fully occupied because it is very popular with the Maltese. An excellent spot to people watch. It is located on the side of the street which is in the shade until about 2.30pm when the sun moves around. There is an awning if it becomes too hot.
There is a wide selection of drinks, cakes/sandwiches and other snacks. It does not serve more substantial meals until after about 6pm (I think)
The staff are always very friendly and professional. They do tend to neglect visiting the outside if they are busy indoors, so you may have to pop in to order or pay your bill. No big deal you may say, but this last week I saw or heard the staff talking about couples who had departed without paying. Unfortunately too easy if you are dishonest.
An excellent eatery, well worth stopping off at.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryStaffordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Charles Grech, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TerryStaffordEngland,thank you for reviewing us, I am glad you visited us many times and you like our professional service, although it can be very busy at times! We look forward to seeing you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience should you have any other issues or comments.
Best regards,
David- dmckeon@charlesgrech.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charles Grech also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Charles Grech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing