We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great colonial experience”
Review of Saluting Battery

Saluting Battery
Ranked #6 of 96 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Saluting Battery is one of Malta's most vibrant visitor attractions where history is brought to life daily! Located high along Valletta's eastern historic ramparts it enjoys unrivalled spectacular views of the Grand Harbour and its surrounding fortified towns. It is also perhaps the oldest saluting battery still in operation anywhere in the world. Here one can see a fully restored gun powder magazine, an artillery side-arm store, a handsome collection of original muzzle-loading artillery , ammunition and equipment and get a close-look at the saluting guns. The battery is equipped with audio-guides but guided torus in English are also available three times a day at 11.00, 12.30 And 15.00Hrs.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Worth a visit if you happen to be in Valletta already around noon. As part of all the Valletta attractions, the Noon firing of the guns is a great way to round out your afternoon visit to coincide with a break for lunch.

1  Thank silli_julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario F, Owner at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Silli_Julian,

Thank you for your comment.


Mario Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,115 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Went there with with the family to see - or better hear - the guns fire at noon. It starts at about quarter to twelve with some history about the saluting battery as well as the preparation of the guns. All nicely done and exciting for kids when they will finally fire. Afterwards we went down to visit the small museum and were nicely welcomed (very friendly) and offered costumes for the kids so they could dress up as a soldier to take pictures next to the guns. We struggled a bit with the audio guide and story was too long for my kids (6&9) but in the end, worth the visit.

1  Thank Tilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario F, Owner at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Tilkie,

Thank you for your comment and visit. Do come and see us again in the future as we always have something new.


Mario Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I wouldn't go SPECIFICALLY for this purpose, but we happened to had already been there at around 1600, so we got to see a single cannon shot. I think the noon one is several cannon. It was cool, very British-Colonial.

1  Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario F, Owner at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

MNataro,

Thank you for your comment. We fire two time guns from the Saluting Battery in Valletta at 12.00 hrs and 16.00 hrs. We fire more cannon only when we have full-guns salutes to mark national occasions or visiting ships. Whenever that is in place a notice is put up in the garden to inform as such. The Saluting Battery is open to the public daily between 10.00 and 17.00 hrs. Entrance costs a mere €2.


Mario Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A piece of island history short but worth seeing from a beautiful spot on the isalnd. The gunner dressed in tradional military uniform performed the firing of the cannon loud and impressive.

Thank Drekkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario F, Owner at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Drekklly,

Thank you for your comment. You can also visit the Saluting Battery daily between 10.00 and 17.00hrs.

Mario Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a wonderful visit, we coincided our visit to take in the 12.00 Gun fire. After the Gun was fired the officer gave a guided tour and history of the cannons, this was very informative, and all this for a mere 2 euros so don't stay upstairs in the gardens pay the 2 euros it's well worth it.

Thank tiler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario F, Manager at Saluting Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

tiler75,

Thank you for your comment and visit.

Mario Farrugia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saluting Battery also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Saluting Battery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing