We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fortifications Interpretation Centre - Fortifications Interpretation Centre
Ranked #17 of 90 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
UK
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Fascinating and well laid out.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a brand new museum so the emphasis is on communicating clearly and simply a lot of information. It is laid out over 3 floors with a video presentation to start and then a step by step guide to the history of fortifications, not only in Malta but also how fort building evolved around the world. There are lots of examples of pre-historic forts in Malta, and the history of the islands is told through the buildings of the Ottoman Turks who inhabited the islands, then the Knights of St John who fortified Valetta and built look out towers around the coast. It moves on to the Victorian forts built by the British, and then the defences used during WW2. There are many models in different scales, and a lot of attention is given to the fortifications of Valletta and the Grand Harbour, as you would expect. We will be coming back with our friends and their children

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    46
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yvelines, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This museum is not in the guides (at least is wasn't in our LP) but it really is a great place. I really recommend you visit, you'll learn a lot about Malta, it's history, and also a lot about fortifications. And on a more practical note : entrance is free (aug.2014)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had just got off the ferry from Sliema, and were walking up to the main part of Valletta when we saw this museum and went inside for a quick look. The museum had opened recently and was very well planned, and importantly on the day we visited very cool. When we discovered that it was actually free to visit, unlike almost all other museums on Malta we decided to spend around an hour and a half here. The exhibits were clear and informative, although some of the interactive ones were less responsive. I was a little disappointed that there was no shop open, and it seems that some of the museum space has been taken over for government use which is a shame.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Museum takes one through the history of fortifications including several cross sections of various Towers built by The Knights of St. John as guardians and also as warnings if potential invaders. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NinoXerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The benefits of Trip Advisor!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had it not been for reading about this new Centre/Museum on TA we would not have known about it and missed a little jewel! Brand new - no expense spared - Centre and even if fortifications don't grab you go and have a look, if for nothing else to use the various vantage points for photos - it is a photographer's dream location! Its location near the Sliema foot ferry, means it is a great stopping off place and allow more time for your visit than you might think. If nothing else, good clean toilets!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortifications Interpretation Centre - Fortifications Interpretation Centre also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fortifications Interpretation Centre - Fortifications Interpretation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing