We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a Boutique Hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luciano Al Porto Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luciano Al Porto Boutique
Ranked #2 of 16 Valletta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than just a Boutique Hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was given a room with 3 bedrooms with high ceilings and pleasant decor. All the bedrooms are clean and bright. Breakfast was served at the Luciano Restaurant and if you enjoy antiques, old posters and photos you will enjoy everything that can be seen from wall to wall. Nice and helpful staff. The location is great. I got very used to walking 67 steps to get to the restaurant. Good exercise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivymoonstone13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    53
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
28
83
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Sussex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Short stay in May. We had a room with stunning views of the harbour. There are only two so I suspect these are very sought after. They are clean tidy functional rooms with TV good shower and comfortable beds. I loved the fact that this is such a different and individual hotel and it is doing it's own thing rather than becoming part of a 'chain.' I was told by the owner that it was a guest house for over a hundred years. It has been beautifully renovated keeping the charm of original features. There is no lift at the moment but the owner said he has applied for permission to install one ( it is a very old building). Less able people may find the top floor rooms a struggle.There is a communal dining/tea coffee area on the ground floor and breakfast is served at the Luciano restaurant a short walk (uphill!) away. Breakfast was choice of continental (cheeses , ham & toast) or full cooked English. The coffee in here is excellent and we were refilled without charge.The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. You are a 5 minute walk from harbour ferries and also Valletta city centre (albeit uphill!). I would be nitpicking to find fault so I won't ! Great place and already planning return.

Room Tip: Try and book harbour view rooms (there are only two so I suspect early bookings are a must. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EasingtonLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I had a lovely stay in this B & B. Rooms were clean and tidy. Service was great. Fantastic view of the harbour if you have the right room. The climb up to the main square where breakfast is served in the restaurant is about 200m and quite steep (40% or so) - No problem for us, but might be for some. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast - Not everyone wants a full english! and if you don't, choice is pretty limited. Otherwise a really good B&B and recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbok-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvatore di Fitalia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

located in the historical town to Valletta with beautiful views; a beautiful location.
Friendly staff and great food.
Rooms are clean and comfortable with every comfort.
I recommend the residence overlooking the harbor

Room Tip: We have been in the building that has rooms with views of the harbor. Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefano a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

this property is tastefully decorated with an exceptional view of the Grand Harbour. Good basis for exploring the city. Breakfast lovely and service very friendly - it feels like a family-run business.

Room Tip: top floor Brand harbour view rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked this hotel, last minute, the bed was so comfy and the views across the harbour were stunning! Breakfast was equally lovely, I had continental (quite simple just toast with ham and cheese but lovely fresh squeezed orange juice), and my partner had the full cooked breakfast, I wish I'd had that too, it was ace! The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the main tourist sites in Valletta. The rooms were very clean and had air con, fridge and a telly with free wifi. To get access when you arrive and check in the is an intercom to a restaurant around the corner and someone will come and let you in, we were waiting no more than 5 minutes and also ate in the restaurant for evening dinner, (pizza and pasta) nice quality food and friendly staff. Only negative is that we found the duvet a little thick, but I suppose that is just personal preference. Would really recommend this b and b highly, particularly given that it's very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairy_world_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights. The location is great, the room clean (strange I had to put myself the pillow cover...). The view on the port was amazing, and the internet connectivity works well.

The breakfast was not at the level of the rooms (no croissant, only sandwiches, and in the bar, the smell of the frying was not pleasant).
In addition, to take it, you need to move to the bar in another building, while they have a beautiful room in the guesthouse....
No reception is available in the guesthouse and there is no lift (!)

Room Tip: If you are in 4, ask for the room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brussella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Consiglia
Palazzo Consiglia
#7 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luciano Al Porto Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luciano Al Porto Boutique

Property: Luciano Al Porto Boutique
Address: 255, St. Ursula Street, Valletta, Island of Malta 1111, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luciano Al Porto Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luciano Al Porto Boutique Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing