We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness!”
Review of Soul Food

Soul Food
Ranked #32 of 243 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant & Bar... Tasty dishes for those who loves to eat healty... COME, RELAX, NOURISH YOUR BODY & SOUL Now in Valletta there is SOUL FOOD that celebrates bold, light and unique flavours. We joyously make Italian dishes that perfectly combine CEREALS and SEEDS, HERBS and SPICES with the freshest quality natural ingredients. Delicious recipes, handmade from scratch, and most importantly buying and making food responsibly. We lovingly create a SELECTION of PLATES, PASTAS, FRESH SALADS, artisan CAKES paired with refreshing SMOOTHIES. We also made to order the PIADINA, a thin bread of Italian tradition, kneaded with simplicity, flattened with a rolling pin, baked and stuffed AS YOU LIKE IT.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Thank goodness!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

With a raft of food needs, and the need for fresh vegetables, this wee cafe run by lovely people was a welcome discovery! Nice deli/cafe food with a creative edge to it, and italian coffee to boot. I wish them well and would definitely return again(although the crowd that day said they were doing well already)!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    121
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tucked away gem in Valetta”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My partner and I were looking for a vegan restaurant that would be in line with our current macrobiotic diet and were drawn to Soul Food due to other reviews. On arrival we were disappointed to not have a table outside (there being only 2 of them) but were directed to an upstairs dining room with 4 tables and a simple but elegant decor. The menu was small but full of promise for the vegan, vegetarian or non vegetarian diner. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The home made piadina with various fillings were an enticing start to the meal, and both my partner and i succumbed to the lure of the vegetarian burgers (lentil for one and chick pea for the other) along with a fresh and tasty salad and dressings. Whilst there we saw pasta dishes being served that also looked incredibly enticing and may well be our next choice on a re-visit. Price wise we were not disappointed and both came away replete with a bill of under 25 euros including drinks.
Definitely a must-visit for those looking for authentic, fresh Italian food with a vegetarian swerve. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stuzinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Small cosy cafe”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good selection of low priced food. Small cafe with extra seating upstairs. Good selection of vegan and veggie dishes. The flat bread sandwiches are nice and large. Those with a small appetite might wish to share. Good coffee and waiting staff are friendly

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulgarynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A small place with a big heart”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This place might have a small frontage, but there is extra space on the first floor. The simple but delicious italian dishes on offer are truly worth the wait if it is full. On an island where awful italian restaurants and food are on offer at every corner, this place offers the real thing! Fresh pasta made with a lot of love care and attention..... and you know it after the first mouthful.There are other dishes on offer all as nice and appetising as one another. They work incredibly hard in this small place but what they produce is just spectacular in its simplicity and deliciousness. So much so that we gave up on restaurants and kept going back for more soul food. Mission statement is more than accomplished here bypass tourist's traps and go for the real thing!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary200064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of Bergamo in Valletta!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The best homemade piadina in Valletta!!!
A place where you can find vegetarian and vegan food too.
Lovely and friendly staff!!
Congratulation guys!!
See you soon!!

Helpful?
Thank zio-charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soul Food also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Soul Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing