We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Italian restaurant in Malta”

Zero Sei Trattoria Romana
Ranked #13 of 227 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The best Italian restaurant in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a splendid Italian restaurant: the owner and his wife are so charming, helpful, knowledgeable, and they turn restaurant into a theatrical experience. The food is typical Roman cuisine and I would allow yourself to be guided by the suggestions of the owner. I love the wine concept - either serve yourself a solitary glass from his eurocave, or self-select a bottle from his extensive cellar. My wife and i had the cannelloni, ammatriciana, saltimbocca, meatballs, tiramisu, and it was the best quality Italian cuisine that I have encountered in Malta. It isn't even particularly expensive ! You can pay far more in Malta and get so little, this restaurant is an absolute gem.
It's small, so make sure to book in advance. (The tiramisu is the best I have enjoyed outside Central London).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathandeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fausto s, Direttore at Zero Sei Trattoria Romana, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We're just a small family-run trattoria! But we're glad to know that you're enjoyed with us!
Thank you from us ....
Zero Sei Trattoria Romana Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    141
    35
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine Roman food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am just back from a lovely lunch in Valletta with a couple of work colleagues. As soon as you set foot inside the restaurant you are immediately greeted by the warm and friendly owner and his staff. We all had pasta - cacio e pepe, carbonara and spaghetti al ragu. Our plates arrived after a few minutes and we were all really happy with the lovely aromas and flavoursome palate of the food. Just as you would expect from any self-respecting Italian, the pasta, with a choice between fresh and dried, was cooked 'al dente' and the portions generous. When you look at the menu you immediately know this is a restaurant where the ingredients making up the dish you are served are both genuine and fresh, and chosen with care. It's a pity we had so little time otherwise we would have definitely made space for a dessert. We're already planning when to go back again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fausto s, Direttore at Zero Sei Trattoria Romana, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much! We are glad you had dl good time with us!
Zero Sei trattoria italiana Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feels like Rome, tastes like Rome, but it's Valletta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Suffice to say that I am writing this review after our seventh visit to Zero Sei. Being a frequent visitor to Rome and its wonderful 'trattorie' I was yearning for a 'real' Roman eatery to open here in Malta. Fausto and Luisa have done a wonderful job of doing just that.
The atmosphere is so Roman that after dinner there you start planning a late night 'gelato' at Piazza Navona only to find yourself in the reality of Old Theatre Street as you exit this place.
The food is simply exquisite, there is a vast array of wines to choose from while Fausto and Luisa's service makes you feel right at home.
We will definitely go back again and again ... and again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Il-Buqinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fausto s, Direttore at Zero Sei Trattoria Romana, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Too good! Thanks for the wonderful review, we hope to have you back as our guest!
Zero Sei Trattoria Romana Valletta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Pasta Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We had two fantastic dishes for lunch the Pene Arrabbiata and the famous Amatriciana. It was realy very tasty visit.So please visit 06 and "keep calm and eat Carbonara" (-:

Helpful?
2 Thank Tamar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fausto s, Direttore at Zero Sei Trattoria Romana, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to us!
Thank from Zero Sei Trattoria Italiana Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average pasta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Had lunch with another five friends, and ordered five types of pasta, a bottle of red wine and desserts. I found the pasta to be 'average',with the food bill on the high side. The service was satisfactory.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximus860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fausto s, Direttore at Zero Sei Trattoria Romana, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We are sorry it has not been good in our restaurant, we are a bit perplexed by a statement "average pasta" when we collect the dishes and we find them clean and neat think that everything went well ..... I hope that at least the other his four friends have found themselves well. If you have occasion to go to regroup let me present his disappointment at the moment, I will have to forgive me! Thank you and see you soon.
Zero Sei Roman trattoria Valletta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zero Sei Trattoria Romana also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Zero Sei Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing