We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts and great location”
Review of Lloyd House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valletta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lloyd House
Ranked #2 of 21 Valletta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here during May of this year, and while the weather in Malta was a little cool, our stay at the Lloyd House was delightful. Robert and Mary could not have been kinder and helpful. The flat was clean, comfortable and had all of the necessary amenities. There was fresh fruit and bottled water waiting for us when we arrived. The location of Lloyd House is right next to the Upper Barraka Gardens and the Saluting Battery and very close to the Prime Minister's Office, but also is very quiet. The flat is just a few minutes walk to all of the major visitor sites in Valletta, as well as to the central bus station, where you can get a bus to just about anywhere on the island. The buses, by the way, are a wonderful and very inexpensive way of getting around the island (at the time of writing an all-day bus ticket on the island of Malta was 1.5 euros). There is also a small grocery store about 5 mins walk away where you can stock up on basic provisions. If you are planning a few days in Malta, I would highly recommend the Lloyd house

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bexleygirl-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This apartment has been tastefully decorated to make its guests feel comfortable and welcome. Firstly you are greeted with a modern lift to transport you and your luggage to whatever floor you are staying. Then the impression you get on meeting the host,, Robert, is that he cares. It shows in the fresh decor, the fresh white towels and linen, the comfortable bed, the bread, jams, fruit and coffee machine waiting to help settle you in and a bottle of wine for later.

The wrap around balcony has some memorable viewing points. It's just a shame it's not wide enough to put a chair out there and sit and enjoy. One disappointment was the shower. It was quite a tight squeeze for me and the pressure was low but you can live with that for a week, right?

Lloyd House is located a stone throw from the main bus terminal. Ideal for catching any and every bus to all corners of the island and it's easy walking distance to the main strip that is Republic Street and Strait Street, St John's Co Cathedral and last but not least, the best burger joint in town... at 46 Old Theatre Street. Beats London burgers hands down.

To sum up, you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere else offering this style and location. One to recommend. It certainly stands out from the rest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
19
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Lloyd house is a beautiful newly renovated flat, I stayed there in April for 4 nights. The beds are very comfortable, very nice bathroom too and a small kitchen perfectly equipped to carry out any cooking if that is what you want to do. The neighborhood is great, located right near the water and the gardens and Valletta is beautiful. Robert is a class act and is willing to accommodate what you need. We were greeted with fresh fruit, bread and butter with jams and ofcourse a bottle of local Maltese wine. What more do you want? Overall, great experience and would reccomend it to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed one week at the Lloyd House, in Valletta and everything was perfect. The flat had been recently renovated, and it shows. Everything looks brand-new. The flat is very well situated, in Valletta's old town but relatively near its outskirts, which is very handy if you have rented a car and you need an easy parking.
The owner, Robert Zamnit, is also very friendly and helpful. He even had a bottle of wine (a nice red one) waiting for us !

Pedro

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pedro19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I spent 5 days in Suite 1 together with my mother, and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. The flat is a gem, exceptionally well equipped, and ideally located to explore Valletta and the rest of Malta (the bus station is just 10 minutes away). On top of this, Robert and Mary, who have put their heart and soul into this place, are marvellous hosts, happy to share the hidden secrets of Malta with you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Freudentantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lloyd House is a wonderful example of first class apartment style accommodation in the heart of Valletta. We recently spent over a week in one of the beautifully restored second floor apartments. The restoration work is of the highest quality and includes fresco ceilings, original tiled floors ,period balcony and expertly restored woodwork. The apartment is spacious with living room, fully equipped kitchen with modern appliances and full range of dishes,modern bathroom and elegant bedroom with high quality bedding and a balcony off the bedroom. We arrived in the evening and were met by our host who settled us into the apartment,made us feel at home and provided us with local information for our stay as well as breakfast supplies for the next morning which was an unexpected but very welcome treat.
The apartment is located next to the beautiful Barrakka Gardens and within easy walking distance of the Grand Masters Palace,National museum of Art, theatres, churches,shops and restaurants and cafés of Merchant, Republic and Old Bakery Streets. The bus terminal is a short 5 -7 minute walk away and from there you can take buses to all parts of the island. The apartment has a spectacular view of the grand harbour and Valletta waterfront,we enjoyed watching the traditional fishing boats, ferries, large cruise ships and yachts entering the harbour.Every window provides an exceptional view. The apartment,location and the attention of the owners makes this new property the number 1 choice for a memorable stay in Valletta. Thanks again for a wonderful stay, we have stayed in apartments throughout Europe and Lloyd House was exceptional in everyday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travellermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place, perfectly positioned in the city of Valletta, with access to anything your heart desires. We felt completely at home during our stay and the generosity and kindness we received from both Robert and Mary will never be forgotten. The place is spotless and all the linen is so fresh and clean, you won't mind sleeping in a bit longer, even though you're in beautiful Malta! If I could, I would live in the Lloyd house as a permanent resident! You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank _1983_vacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ursulino Valletta
Ursulino Valletta
#1 of 21 in Valletta
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd House

Address: 8 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1220, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd House is situated beside the Upper Barraka and Castile Place where the office of the Prime Minister can be found. It's an outstanding corner residence and the owners have converted parts of the house to host visitors in a studio & 3 apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lloyd House Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing