We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT PLACE TO VISIT VALETTA”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Dining with a superb view of Sliema setting your scene Open plan Kitchen, Living, Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Dining with a superb view of Sliema setting your scene
Open plan Kitchen, Living, Dining area
Outside Table & Chairs
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
View of Sliema from Roof Top Terrace
Kitchen island with Stools
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The old Telephone and Letter box, by Cafe Cordina a short walk from Old Mint
Shower Room
Kitchen Island
Spiral Staircase to Double Bedroom at Lower Level
Double Bedroom at Lower Level
Relax on the sofa
Upper Barrakka looking over the Grand Harbour a short walk from Old Mint
Enjoy the outdoors in this Historical City
Large Private Sun Terrace with the Penthouse
Dining table
Private Roof Sun Terrace for the sole use with the Penthouse
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Relax in Valletta
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Upper Barrakka Gardens loading of the Canon at Midday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Nathalie...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO VISIT VALETTA”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in this flat for one week, We were a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers.When we arrived we were well welcomed by the lady of the agency.
The flat is very weel situated in the center of Valetta so it's was very convenient to visit this nice city.
The flat was clean. The wiew from the roof was absolutely wonderful. The balcony was perfect to have a breakfast outside. We were lucky because the weather was perfect in april.
To finish, I will add that the city is quite noisy in the morning so you can be wake up by klaxons or works around without forgetting some screams.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebert L
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not relaxing”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Already written a review back in December 2016 but it seem that it has been removed.all you can find are excellent review what happen to the others?
Well to resume my stay back in November ,we stay for 9 days and the flat is well situated and stunning inside only problem the matress in double room was not comfortable you could feel all the springs.but the worse was the building site next door waking us up most morning between 630am and 7am we did complain on day 1 and ask matter to be sorted or change of accommodation but nothing was done ,and nobody contacted us to appologise .worse holiday I ever had .! If you think of booking the property double check if work has Been finish next door or you will come back more tired than when you left home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
Dear Herbert,

I am sorry you had to encounter works going on next door to the Penthouse, which hindered your stay. The work has been completed now from our communication to the owner of that particular property, see the review prior to yours were guest had no issues. Works can happen at any time without our knowledge I am so sorry you experienced this on your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsRMB
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment in wonderful location”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The location of this apartment is brilliant. Just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Valletta and also within a couple of minutes from the ferry across to Silema. In fact we could even watch the ferry leave Silema from the apartment and time our journey down the ferry terminal accordingly. We used the taxi service offered to get to the apartment to and from the airport and it was definitely a stress free option. I also took advantage of pre-ordering some groceries which again was a great option as we arrived on a Sunday. The Old Mint building is very old and beautiful but the apartment is very modern inside. Lovely outdoor areas (however the weather was just a little too cold for us to use the roof terrace but would be fantastic on a warmer day). The beds and seating area were very comfortable and the bathroom is a good size. As mentioned in other reviews, the second bedroom is accessed via a spiral staircase so if you are unsteady on your feet then it probably isn't going to be ideal for you. Great communications with the management team. Our only minor niggle would be the lack of available TV channels in English. I would have no hesitation in recommending the apartment and we were sorry to have to leave and go back home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind words, yes Malta can be a little chilly in January, but we have yet to see snow :-)

Thank again,
The HLMG Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidWool...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Holiday stau”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We luv Malta and for the first time decided to book an apartment in central Valletta
This apartment is very central and was very clean and comfortable and we had a really good holiday
For us though I agree that the second bedroom did not work
It is just a bit too detached and awkward to access although not an issue if you know this in advance
Helpful booking process no problems with the taxi transfer and the lady on arrival was very thorough
For us with the fans and limited use of the air con we were well in the allowamce

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgnlj2112
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family and I have just had a wonderful weeks stay in the Old Mint Penthouse. Booking was easy and communication with the agency was very efficient and professional. They answered all the questions I had and were very helpful during the booking and paying processes.

On arrival to the property we were greeted by a friendly lady named Nicolina (I think her name was?) she showed us round the property and gave us a very detailed and helpful explanation of all the facilities etc. Unfortunately when we requested the wifi password, we were informed that the guests before us had broken the router and therefore we couldn't have access to it. We were told the manager would come out the following morning, and that it costs €3.50 a day. The manager didn't end up coming out until the second day so we were left a while without any wifi access. On check out we were told that the manager had decided to not charge us for the wifi, which was very kind and we were grateful. I do however feel that the wifi should be free considering the price to stay in the property. We were also given €7 a day limit on our electricity and on our last day we had about €15 remaining but again it was a bit inconvenient feeling like you were constantly checking your balance, but I understand why they have to do this.

The roof terrace was a lovely touch, although I wasn't keen on the spiral stairs to get up and down! There was also only 3 chairs provided for our lower floor terrace which was just a minor issue as there was 4 of us. The apartment itself was spacious and modern, the shower room was very clean and well equipped, we were even given beach towels which we really appreciated as none of us could fit them in our hand luggage cases! There was also a washing machine, ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, a TV with good variety of channels, an oven and many more However, the floor in the property was very dirty and the bottom of my feet would be black even after showering due to how unclean it was. I am not sure this was due to a lack of maid service though as my feet were still unclean after my Mum had cleaned the floor herself. Both bedrooms had good amounts of space for our things, but it would have been great to have a bin in the lower ground floor! I was also surprised that there was no safety deposit box in the property.

Although it may sound like I am making many negative comments, the Old Mint Penthouse was a lovely place to stay, very centrally located and with all the facilities you could ask for. There was just a few minor things that would have made this property excellent instead of very good. I would recommend this property to my friends and would stay again if I am ever to come back to Valletta!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The rooftop terrace was a lovely touch.
Liked least: The floor was quite dirty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippingt...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay with a couple of reservations”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Valletta is beautiful! The Old Mint apartments are well located in this beautiful city and the penthouse is spacious and cool with its cross ventilation. We were a party of four adults and sadly the quality of the bedrooms was not equal. I would describe this as a fabulous one bedroom place but a star or two less as two bedrooms.
On the plus side were:
Lift access
Well equipped
Comfy bed, comfy couch
Outdoor seating
Location
On the negative
Roof space exactly that ~ roof space. No real amenities up there.
Minimum in terms of extras supplied ~ eg 1 tea towel only provided and ironing board AWFUL
2nd bedroom basic
At this price wifi should be included and one shouldn't be bothered reading the electricity meter daily to ensure compliance
If a BBQ is provided, a means of operating it aka gas, should also be available
On balance we enjoyed our stay. Next stay in Valletta (and there will be a next one) will probably not be here. Sounds harsher than it should because this IS a good place but will
seek somewhere more Maltese.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maltwhisk...
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A very nice apartment”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The booking process was straightforward and handled professionally. As part of this process we pre-booked transfers between the airport and the apartment and our collection from and return to, the airport was flawless.
On arrival at the apartment we were given a very useful and informative briefing, including an explanation of the charging arrangements for electricity. As it happened we were well within the allowance included in the rental costs – however it should be noted that we didn’t eat in the apartment or use the air-conditioning units or the washing machine during our stay.
The apartment is well fitted with quality fixtures and fittings. The main living area is light and airy and has easy access to the outside balcony.
There were 4 in the party and for us “oldies” negotiating the tight spiral staircase to the sun terrace and the stone staircase to the lower bedroom was a little difficult. The main bedroom is spacious with plenty of storage space. The 2nd bedroom is much less spacious, for example one side of the double bed is against a wall and has no natural light to speak of, the bed was also quite high (over a metre off the ground) which could be difficult for some people to clamber up onto (maybe a step could be considered by the owner). A tip for people using this bedroom – use the lift to the second floor to transport suitcases etc, there is a small flight of stairs to the door and another 5 steps up to the bedroom .
The apartment is located about a 5 minute walk away from the Valletta to Sliema ferry service and about 10 minutes from Republic Street.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Spacious living area
Liked least: Access to sunterrace and 2nd bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing