We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“Outstanding !”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

i did had to managed a business conference over 3 days with 120 guests coming from all over the world. This hotel gets an outstanding service (i need to name Neal Debono as our point of contact for setting and coordinating our event in the hotel and he did an absolute fantastic job), outstanding location, oustanding meeting rooms . The restaurants are really nice. All our guest were really enthousiast after the event (excellent for the team building).
i STRONGLY recommend this hotel for all your events (professionals or privates)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngridSmith, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta for your recent event and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on this site. Our primary aim at the Excelsior is to exceed guest expectations by offering a premium product and service. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and is what motivates us even further. I have passed on your comments to Neal. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Excelsior in the future.

Should I be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally on ingrid.smith@excelsior.com.mt

With warm regards from sunny Malta,

Ingrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,767
    1,222
    498
    142
    65
See reviews for
644
1,791
178
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

For our European Sales conference last week my Company chose the Grand Excelsior Hotel in Floriana with spectacular views over Valletta. The Group Events Executive Neal Debono provided the best customer service I have ever experienced at such an event. A truly first class service. The hotel was 5 star.. and more than lived up to its rating. The accommodation, conference rooms, menus, banqueting team, restaurant service, leisure facilities, check in desk, concierge, etc were fabulous with everyone enjoying a balcony with a breathtaking sea view.
Nothing was too much trouble for Neal Debono, whatever we requested we had it within minutes. When some of our equipment got stuck at the UPS depot, Neal went in his car to release it. He even personally carried all the heavy boxes to the car. We were over 120 people from USA, UK, Ireland, Germany, Switzerland, Italia, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Brazil, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, France, Israel, etc. Everyone agreed that it was the best Sales Conference that they ever attended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eymery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid_smith, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was indeed an honour to host your all important international conference earlier on this month. At the Grand Hotel Excelsior we pride ourselves on offering excellent standards of service, whereby we look to exceed clients’ expectations and create a memorable experience! Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and is what inspires us to keep working harder to reach our goal, which, ultimately, can only be accomplished through the talented people the hotel employs. Neal is certainly an asset to the organisation – your feedback has been passed onto him and am sure that it will motivate him even further.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the future.

With warm regards,

Ingrid

Ingrid Smith
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

for a 5* Star Hotel it was what you expect however I was let down to find that the bar fridge was not on hence it was empty. So we had to call room service so we can order some wine and water. Location is great and a short walk to the city of Valletta and buses. If you are a light sleeper avoid Seaview Rooms mostly on Friday nights they have disco's depending on the weather and it can get noisy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpiotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid_smith, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are sorry to read you were disappointed with the mini bar service. The reason behind us keeping bedroom fridges empty is to allow our guests to tailor make their order according to their liking. Please also be informed that the discos you mention are client events for which the music is turned low at 2300hrs and switched off at 2400hrs. All balcony doors are double glazed and when kept closed, noise pollution is kept to a bare minimum.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Excelsior on your future visits to the Maltese Islands.

With warm regards

Ingrid Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We had out European sales meeting here, with over 100 people at the peak. I travel more than 100 nights a year and have never given this level of rating. From airport pickup to departure the hotel and staff were outstanding, and the biggest complaint from anyone in this large group was that they had to wait to check in, and that was rare. Rooms are large and comfortable, with big balconies (table, 4 chairs, 3 chaise longue) overlooking the bay. Plenty of meeting rooms, any request was addressed immediately. Staff were very consistently helpful and pleasant. The entire meeting was organized without anyone actually visiting the hotel prior to arrival, which makes this all the more impressive. Food was of a consistent high quality. Its a short walk to Valletta which is a beautiful old city. 5 stars well earned by the entire staff and facility.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorHotelMalta, E Commerce Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to receive such great feedback from a frequent traveller. We are pleased you enjoyed our dedicated staff’s efforts in making your stay as pleasant as possible. As you pointed out the prime location, being a short walk to the Capital city, together with the vast range of meeting facilities, makes the Grand Hotel Excelsior an ideal Conference and Events Venue. We will definitely pass on your great comments to All Our Staff including Our Meetings and Events Team. We look forward to hosting you and your colleagues on your next business trip to Malta.

Regards,
Norbert Grixti
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This was my third stay at the excelsior and it certainly won't be my last.
The service and the food was again outstanding and made my three day visit a very pleasant one! The people from frontdesk were very helpfull with assitance for carrental and online check-in for my flight. So beside the one day with rain and strong wind it was a great holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joep_van_schayik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorHotelMalta, E Commerce Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely comments about our hotel. I am delighted that your stay with us was once again up to your expectations. We are pleased that you found our staff helpful and our food great. I will certainly share your views about our service with our team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. The Grand Hotel Excelsior Team is eager to welcoming you back with us on your next visit to Malta.

Kind Regards,
Norbert Grixti
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Went with my wife for her 60th birthday what a great hotel.When we arrived the bed was covered in rose petals a bottle red wine a basket of fruit also.Found the staff very helpful went to the staff at 9pm asking if i could get flowers for my wife birthday for the next day and they got them for me well done the front staff.Rooms cleaned every day fresh bed linen also.great service with chocolate and turn down service.Just a great hotel thanks to everyone who may our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorHotelMalta, E Commerce Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta, I would like to express our heartfelt appreciation for your comments following your stay at our hotel and for sharing your positive experience with other prospective visitors. We are very happy to read that we have made your celebration a success and would like to thank you once again for your very kind words. We hope that we will have the pleasure of sharing another wonderful experience with you.

Warm Regards,
Mr. Norbert Grixti
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

we recently stayed at this property and we were impressed. The view from the Harbourview restaurant was stunning and a fabulous place to have your daily breakfast buffet. The buffet had a wide variety of fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, pretty much something for everyone! the staff were very firendly and helpful and each evening coming back to a turndown service with a chocolate really made my day! this is a place i would definitely come back to again. Unfortunately it was too cold to try the outdoor pool, however with warmer weather it looked heavenly to swim, particularly right next to the harbour. The location was perfect and only minutes away from shopping... we arrived during Karnival and I have to say that it was a fabulous time. All of the costumes, the hustle and bustle and on the last day the incredible floats... well worth the trip! oh yes, the food was out of this world so make sure to bring drawstring pants!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorHotelMalta, E Commerce Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read about your wonderful stay at our hotel, and I would like to thank you for posting such a nice review. Indeed our magnificent views overlooking the harbour, our hotel location and our friendly staff are an important asset to the Grand Hotel Excelsior. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and that you managed to experience the lovely vibes we Maltese enjoy so much during the Carnival week. Please feel free to check our hotel website for events taking place in and around the hotel in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer season so that you can have a dip in our outdoor pool.

Warm Regards,
Mr. Norbert Grixti
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
2,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing