We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
66 Saint Paul's(Valletta)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,420)
Filter reviews
4,420 results
Traveller rating
2,058
1,486
621
171
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,058
1,486
621
171
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandthe hotel offerspublic areasmarsamxett harbour
Filter
Updating list...
2,796 - 2,801 of 4,420 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This summer, july/august, we spend our holidays on the Isle of Malta. We stayed for 3 weeks in the Grand Hotel Excelsior and is was a wunderful experience. The hotel is located very close to Valetta. We had a fantastic room on the 9th floor with seaview, overlooking a great part of Malta and huge balcony with sunchairs. The staff is very friendly, great service and the room was cleaned every day, very thouroughly. Twice a day clean towels and every day free bottles of water.
The restaurants offer delightful choices for breakfast, dinner or lunch. The poolarea is very well organized with staff that will provide you anything you need.
We checked the reviews on TripAdvisor before we left and noticed some negative comments about private dinner party's held around the poolarea that made that guests had to be removed and stay on the beach. Non of this happened during our stay. Yes, there were private party's but not to the inconvenience of the hotel guests. It was all well orgnized.
We can highly recommend this hotel when you plan to visit Malta. You will feel very welcomed to enjoy and relax. Try a nice treatment in the hotel's Spa. You will love that!
And when you decide for scuba diving, the hotel offers a great service on that aswell. The divicenter Watercolours will pick you up and bring you back to the hotel.
We will definitely come back next year and we already know where to stay....this great hotel!
To the staff of the hotel:
Thank you very much for the pleasant stay and the efforts you make to provide your guests a wunderful experience!
Jan, Anita and Jan van Meel from Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are the best, we recommend one of the topfloor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna18188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarilynCusto, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Hello Anita, Jan and Jan Van Meel. Greetings from all of us at The Grand Hotel Excelsior. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for three weeks and for finding the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Your positive comments are truly encouraging. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting you once again in the very near future.

With very best regards.

Marilyn Custo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed for 6 nights at Grand Hotel Excelsior with my husband.

We had a fantastic room with seaview (which is worth the extra cost) on 7th floor. It gave us a huge balcony and amazing views over the wonderful marina and harbour. The room was very spacious, clean with modern decor. It also had a fridge which was very useful for cold drinks. Breakfast had a wide choice including egg station and the breakfast area also had views of the harbour.

We had a couple of meals at Tiki Bar (beside the pool) and although more costly than eating out at a restaurant the food and service was excellent. Pool area overlooks the harbour and is very well laid out. We always had nightly coffees in the lounge and again, excellent service.

All in all, we had a lovely time staying at Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Room Tip: Just bare in mind that Valletta can be very sleepy and limited opening hours. Also, not a large range of restaurants open in the evenings. Good restaurants around St John's Co Cathedral.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TannadiceTerrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarilynCusto, Public Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

We thank you and your husband for choosing The Grand Hotel Excelsior. We appreciate that you found the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our guests is very important to us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel, your room, the view and the facilities. We fully agree with you that St John's Cathedral is not to be missed.

Thank you once again for your encouraging comments and we look forward to have you back at the Hotel.

With best regards.

Marilyn Custo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed at the hotel for three nights with my colleagues as part of a business thing. The rooms had a decnt view (partly seaview), would have ated to have a room with a view into a wall for the front of the hotel. Room was spacious, great toiletries selection and the cleaning staff was good and friendly. One point for improvement: the hairdryer was useless. It would have taken hours to dry my hair.
Air con probably didn't work very well, but I didn't bother to ask for new room or repairs.
Pool and "bach" area is really good, though the serving staff around the pool was quite slow (waited 45 minutes for a sandwich). Breakfast buffet amazing, other food served was really good.
Hope to go back with the husband at some point.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsloTravelprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel has the potential to be good with nice rooms and a good situation. Unfortunately the attitude is of a cheap hotel which ensures that this is the atmosphere that comes through. Breakfast has to be pre approved on your credit card or they will not serve you. There is no wifi in the rooms. The staff are pleasant but I feel the owners need a wake up call.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Probably the best hotel in Malta. You are greeted by a huge lobby with a majestic staircase as soon as you get in.

Hotel is in 2 minutes away from the capital city where the heart of shopping is. Staff are extremely helpful, rooms are big and equipped with everything including tootbrush, shaving blade and foam. Bathrooms are big and the views are amazing.

The food is great and each evening was a different theme. Asian, Maltese, Mediterranean and others. I certainly recommend a stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view - dont miss waking up in front of the sea :-)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews