We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just spent 6 nights at this hotel, location is Valletta, malta. Good position for a short walk into the old walled city, it overlooks the harbour and across to manoel island and Sliema to the north east and to msida and it's marina to the west. also well situated to catch any of the buses which visit the whole island all start and finish in Valletta a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Lovely gardens, very good inside and outside swimming pools. Excellent food and service, well appointed rooms. The city of Valletta has many very good and reasonable restaurants so B & B is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snoopybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,735
    1,197
    492
    140
    63
See reviews for
636
1,755
178
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here for a company event. The rooms are very clean and offer all the extras you would expect in a 4* hotel, beds are spacious and comfortable and there is more than sufficient storage space with a choice of drawers, wardrobes and cupboards. Plenty to do in the immediate area, it is well placed near a central location that is in addition to the variety of restaurants and bars in the hotel itself. The pool area has beautiful sea views though there is no beach area to speak of.

The main flaws I found with this hotel were the over zealous room staff who mean well but are in and out of the rooms all day and knocking 2 or 3 times asking if you need anything. I appreciate there is an element of good will with this but surely this is what the telephone is for. Finally there were a number of security incidents that took place; things taken from rooms, items taken from the private conference areas that my company had paid good money for and whilst the hotel manager was apologetic I would have serious concerns as to the efficiency of the security staff and the integrity of the general staff servicing the rooms. It is a shame as I have stayed in many hotels and this is the first time I have experienced such issues.


are of a decent size and whilst the service was outstanding there were issues with security in the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaosfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights over easter and couldn't find fault with this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic, close to the centre of Valletta with fantastic views from the large and comfortable bedroom. We only dined in the restaurant once which was buffet style and although a little expensive at 30 euros each, the quality and choice of food was excellent.Valletta has lots of less expensive places to eat if on a budget. Drinks in the hotel bar were reasonable by five star standards and the non-alcoholic cocktail to welcome you on arrival at the hotel was a nice touch. We would happily return to this hotel if visiting Valletta again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GuyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is an excellent and beautiful hotel, probably the best in Malta, especially if you are looking for tranquility and quality. Great and peaceful location, siiting below (actually in) Valletta's city walls and some ten minutes from the city gate, facing Marsamxett harbour towards the northwest. The large pool area is almost at sea level. The rooms are spacious, as are all common areas. The staff was most friendly and accomodating. The breakfast buffet was extensive. Note that the hotel has an affordable car service, including to the airport.

We were less satisfied with the too firm mattresses, the probability of cats entering your ground floor room if you leave the terrace door open during the night, the expensive restaurant, a somewhat old-fashioned style and the absence of tennis courts.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor due to stray cats. If you choose a landside room, ask for the northern wing f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trndrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Be warned. This hotel has some very serious customer service flaws. When I checked in,they made me wait for over 45 minutes while they "inspected" the room. I asked if I could make plans with the concierge while I waited, but he was "on lunch break," and there was nobody else to assist. The staff did was not at all eager to ensure that I was happy and showed complete indifference.

Meanwhile, the minimum room temperature is set at 30C. I asked the reception and maintenance to allow me to turn down the AC, but there is nothing I can do. I have had to resort to opening my window, which has no bug screen or safety protection, and I am on the ground level so easily accessible to dangerous passers by. The hotel has put me at a complete safety risk because they do not care to adjust the AC.

I would highly recommend against this hotel due to the complete lack of care to customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank zhornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon thames
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We went to this hotel at the beginning of March and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel position in Valleta and could not wish it better. Fantastic views all over the bay, within minutes of town centre and of the famous place with all the super organised transport to visit the island. Although we had hired a car, the buses go everywhere and reliable service at a very modest price for the day. So the style of the hotel is very spacious and influenced by art Deco time and the bedroom which we had booked was referred as partial sea view but was incredible. Large room and bathroom although I am not sure it is what I would called a 5star service but definitely 4stars. We had hired a car and had the use of free underground car park and the breakfast lounge is extremely relaxing with sensational views over the bay and good buffet..
The main restaurant is poor although good service and unless you happened to be there when there is one of their buffet style theme which was not on everyday as advertised at the times we were there. So when there was no outsiders coming in it fells really souless in the restaurant and choice of food not very good. Service bathrooms were not up to a 5 star.
Leisure facilities are lacking in changing rooms unless you want to travel in bathrobes all over the hotel which you cross at same time with people coming to functions. At the time we were there we could only use the indoor pool but the outside pool is nice too. Again sauna and steam bath were not mentionned anywhere and accessible only if you had a massage and unless I had peered through a corridor was not even offered. I do think that in a 5 star hotel the sauna and steam hammam should be included in the pool part. Our stay there was nonetheless very enjoyable and relaxed which was the aim of our stay. Just a little remark the lighting in bedrooms is very poor in the evening so make sure you are aware of that if you have a feable eyesight...

Room Tip: Of course I would say do not choose a room which is on the road side as it must be awful at busy sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. All your comments mentioned in your review will be taken up by the respective departments to take the necessary action. At Grand Hotel Excelsior we strive in ensuring continuous improvement in the quality of service and experience delivered to our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here in January 2011. The hotel has the very best views in Valetta. The hotel is modern and clean, however, the Reception staff need to upgrade their communications skills and act a little more enthused rather than bored and couldn't care less attitude. The hotel is only a 7 minute walk to the centre of town and the walk around the beach road is fabulous. We hired a car and drove around all of Malta and got to see everything on offer. The hotel was centrally located and the catering and bar staff were excellent. I highly recommend this hotel and would be the best available in Malta.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CleoLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing