We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be so pleased you chose the Excelsior !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A really super hotel - good facilities, very pleasant staff, really great food, views over the harbour from the restaurants etc. Very convenient for the bus station and central Valletta. We were a party of four and were very impressed by this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 4,234 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Grand Hotel Excelsior is an excellent hotel.

Our room was beautiful with a great view, spacious and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Their breakfast was nicely done every morning and if you needed any information on places to go or things to do, they always had suggestions from their experiences.

This hotel played a great part in making our stay in Malta a great Holiday. It is a beautiful hotel with a lot of wonderful amentities - we recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brentbird01765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed her in March 2012. Our first visit to Malta, which is very interesting and has a fascinating history. This is a large and very comfortable high quality hotel. We booked a seaview room. Room facilities excellent. Good size bathroom with separate shower. Good wardrobe space. Safe and minibar which you can have stocked to your personal taste. Balcony with table and chairs. Flat screen TV with limited English speaking channels. Only criticism of room is hairdryer, which is wired in via the desk in the main bedroom area, and doesn't have much free cable so awkward to use. Free onsite parking. Found all staff very pleasant and helpful. We booked inclusive buffet breakfast, and this was very good. A large range of hot and cold dishes, and a chef on hand to cook your omelette while you watched. We dined in the evening once, and took the themed buffet option. Again a good range of dishes, but at 30 euros per head, you needed to eat more than we could to get the value. There is a normal table d'hote menu as well. Went into Valletta to eat otherwise, its an easy stroll, and found that places closed quite early in the week, probably because early season. There were some summer readiness works going on at the hotel (painting etc) but this did not affect our stay. Checkout took a while as only 1 person on the desk and there were people checking in at the same time. We had use of a car in Malta, and found that road signage was poor, and in some cases non-existent. Maltese drivers a bit mad so you need your wits about you. Island small so takes very little time to get around. HIghly recommend this hotel and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelstar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed in most of Malta's 5 stars. The Grand Excelsior was our last visit. It has commanding views and a delightful mini, man-made beach area which I thoroughly enjoyed. There's a tranquility to the hotel that was unique for Maltese hotels, I would go so far as to say classy however the lobby and Admirals bar deco let it down, as do the broken door handles on the main entrance - and probably the biggest downer is making way for those weekly weddings. And you do make way.
The rooms were absolutely fine and the service was very good, I asked for a very late check out and was granted another room free of charge for the extra few hours.

It is a good hotel, Malta isn't a place for excellence in the hotel industry and even in the best you'll find areas that have been overlooked or scrimped and scraped on, disappointing.

I suppose the question is would I stay there again? Answer is...go on then - it's got enough upsides to compensate for the downsides.

If you're a photographer and want a holiday in Malta, this may be of interest:

http://julianknightphoto.com/workshops/

Room Tip: You really must get a sea view, disappointment awaits if not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

In my holidays in Malta I stayed in this hotel.It was very nice,but I wouldn't rate it with 5 stars.Lovely restaurants and bars but if you order some water you have to pay 3 euros for it.Nice breakfast and dinner.You don't want to order room service because you have to pay: the meal, 5 euros and give also a tip.Ordinary and average spa but very nice indoor pool and outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Rooms at 10th and 9th have nice view but you have to go some floors down to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnysKopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Not really luxe but quite nice rooms. The overall decor is sort of over-the-top Italianate-Greek-Classic baroque (larger than life-size statues of Grecian nymphs, fish-tailed men with horses, etc.). Be sure to get a room with a view of the yacht harbor--and watch the sunset light shifting against the water.... Nice spa (make sure your room rate includes use of sauna). Immense and lavish breakfast and lavish, changing, country-themed dinner buffets. The Maltese chef "Veli" (I hope I'm spelling that right) is an absolute delight--he'll do everything possible to provide gluten-free options if the main courses aren't. He'll even plan ahead and use cornflour instead of wheat flour for thickener. Can't praise him and his efforts enough. A great guy!

Room Tip: Check for deals online and watch for unexpected charges. Get a room with a view (even partial) of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeregrinaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just spent 6 nights at this hotel, location is Valletta, malta. Good position for a short walk into the old walled city, it overlooks the harbour and across to manoel island and Sliema to the north east and to msida and it's marina to the west. also well situated to catch any of the buses which visit the whole island all start and finish in Valletta a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Lovely gardens, very good inside and outside swimming pools. Excellent food and service, well appointed rooms. The city of Valletta has many very good and reasonable restaurants so B & B is a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snoopybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
203 reviews
1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £85 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing