We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Save for being upgraded on arrival to a balcony room on the ground floor facing a wall our visit to this hotel was really enjoyable. The room was spacious and comfortable but the pillows were poor. The outside pool area was perfect, overlooking the harbour with plenty of deck chairs and not overly busy. However the indoor pool area was closed which was inconvenient. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a good selection of foods. The hotel is quite close to the main bus station which was perfect for exploring the island and the local buses are really regular and inexpensive. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_mcmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,307 - 2,313 of 4,228 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

The excelsior has a great location, and great breakfast. The pool area looks better in real life than on photos.
Service is god, but not great. I think they might have been training sone new staff when we were there, because service was very slow at times.
Nice clean rooms.
We were 4 friends there, and had a great time, had long nice breakfasts, but spent most days exploring Valetta and The rest of Malta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaiahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed in a Executive Room Sea Front.
The Hotel is a real five star, the staff are everywhere and very helpful and friendly while not being intrusive.
A lot of nice touches (bathrobe) in the room, the sea views were gorgeous, both from the room and from the restaurant.
Had dinner in the Admiral's Landing restaurant and the food was excellent.
The breakfast spread was one of the best I have never seen (including local specialties like baked ricotta and sword fish).
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOnBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and us it because of it's location. Today, I called 3 times to make a reservation. 3 times I was put through to an extension that was not answered. The 4th time I called I explained what was happening only to be told 'there is only one agent and she is at lunch - please can you call back in 10 minutes?' to which I responded 'Think about what you have just said to me: I am a customer that has already called 3 times before and now you want me to call you back later? I will stay somewhere else.'
I am now booked into the Fortina...
The Excelsior staff need training to say the least...

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank Andreweze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Andrew

Many thanks for your feedback. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced and please rest assured that the matter will be investigated and corrective action will be taken. This is certainly not our standard level of service.

In the meantime I will be sending you a private message.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the near future

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Went for a conference. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Facilities are very good. Only issues i had were that the room wasn`t clean until fairly late in the afternoon and the check-out process took longer yhan expected. A bit pricey but very good service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodimgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just returned after a lovely stay. Very high standards of service with plenty of polite,friendly staff to tend to your every need. The breakfast was superb with a vast variety of choice to feast on. The rooms are well furnished with large bed. The bathroom has both shower and bath. There is shaving kit,tooth brushes, comb and everything you will ever need. It's not far from the center of Valletta and all it's historic sites. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book through Travel Republic and in the special requests ask for a sea view as we did. We were upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We liked this hotel very much. At check-in we asked for an upgrade for a harbour view and they happily showed us the options. The full water view was well worth it. Good sized room with nice balcony. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Good variety of eating options and an excellent breakfast selection, although the coffee was terrible. Staff were friendly and helpful and there were good opportunities to arrange excursions. There is an excellent large swimming pool. Sadly it is a bit of a steep climb up the road to the town, which might deter the tired or less agile from going in to sample the excellent local restaurants in the evening. Overall though, a good experience.

Room Tip: Definitely get a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
584 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
202 reviews
1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £84 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing