We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Falconeria(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
British Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Coleridge(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,368)
Filter reviews
4,368 results
Traveller rating
2,038
1,467
613
169
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,038
1,467
613
169
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandthe hotel offerspublic areasmarsamxett harbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,152 - 2,157 of 4,368 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Travelling on business should be a pleasure and the option to have room service a treat. I was surprised by the inflated prices to begin with. Then if you read the fine print, you will be charged €5 for the food to be delivered. I have never had an additional cost for "room service". It defies the point of offering it to your guests.

Lastly, the quality of food was horrendous. Both nights I felt ill and for a hotel by the sea, I'd never been offered such bad quality fish, recently frozen and probably microwaved.

I'll be ordering a delivery service next time.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here off peak (last week of April), after it was recommended by several friends who had also stayed there. I’d recommend visiting at this time as we had beautiful hot sunny weather for 6 of the 7 days we were there, and the hotel was much quieter than it was for our friends who stayed during peak season.

The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and we were upgraded to sea view room on arrival for free.

Our room was lovely - very spacious with an enormous bed and powerful airconditioning. The bathroom was huge with twin basins and a shower over the bath. I was a little disappointed to find a shower curtain rather than a glass panel, however it was spotlessly clean, so we were happy.

The daily room cleaning service was very thorough and included instructions for how to choose daily if you wanted fresh towels/sheets or to go green and re-use them. There was also an evening turn-down service with chocolates on the pillow - lovely!

The breakfast restaurant was always very busy and run with military precision by the staff. There was an extensive buffet including cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheese, full english breakfast, a range of juices. There was also a chef available at a station to make waffles/pancakes/eggs on demand, to your liking. This often had a queue but the chef was very speedy.

The pool was fantastic and probably one of the biggest pool areas in the Valetta. We specifically wanted to stay somewhere with a nice pool and had to look quite hard to find one as space is somewhat limited in much of Malta. There is also a splash pool for small children. The pool had a lovely view of a harbour and lots of fresh towels available. There is also a poolside Tiki-Bar which takes order for food and drinks and brings them to your sun lounger. The Tiki-Bar menu was quite limited, but think this was because we were there off-peak. The staff were accommodating and allowed us to order from the Admirals-Landing menu upstairs (bar with harbour view) and they brought the food down to the pool.

I can’t comment on the main restaurant as we did not eat there in the evening. It seemed to primarily offer a large buffet which did not appeal to us. There may have been an a la carte menu as well but we didn’t try it.

The Admirals Landing Bar at reception level has a great view over the harbour. We visited most evenings on returning to the hotel from dinner in Valetta for a night-cap. They do lovely liquor coffees and have an extensive cocktail menu. The service in this bar was quite slow, although I think mainly due to it being large and spread out with only a couple of waiting staff (maybe because it was off-peak). As we were on holiday we weren’t in a rush and didn’t mind too much.

The location is excellent, only a 5 minute walk entrance to Valetta. There are quite a number of stairs to walk up from reception to the road, we quite enjoyed these and for most people would be are non-issue, but worth considering if you have elderly members in your party or anyone who might struggle with stairs.

This was one of the nicer hotel stays we have experienced and would very much like to visit again.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are really lovely and get lovely sunset view from the balcony. The non-sea-view rooms have a less inspiring view of the gardens and stairs up to the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for a short week at this hotel on business. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Hotel was very good and probably even better in the Summertime when pool etc would be open. Comparatively easy walk into town, although bumpy paths for those not so mobile. Room was large and had everything you could ask for; Bathroom well appointed and had good shower although the door in my room didn't shut well which let water out. Breakfast excellent although for "early birds" the egg station was not working as someone else mentioned but the toasters were going full blast. Can't comment on restaurants for dinner and spa as didn't use them. Definitely think that I'll bring the wife here when weather is better.

Room Tip: Hotel does cars to/ from airport if you book them - useful as airport is about 30 minutes away.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for a night before we flew out of Malta. It is a beautiful grand old hotel right on the walls of Valletta. The checked in quite late and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served from 6:30am and we were down there early. The range of food was great and there is an egg station but no-one was there at that time, also the toasters were not yet running. There was still a large selection of food to choose from. The room was quite large and beautifully furnished and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stay only 1 night after back from Gozo and going back to Valletta.
Big room for 2 people. Little bit dark. I book standard room with breakfast and notice that I got the room without view at 6th floor.
The room is clean, carpet still clean, bed and linen is good, bathroom is big provide separate shower and bathtube. There is a wight scale inside the bathroom.
provide the bathrobe and sliper
Qym and spa at 1 st floor. Indoor pool so cozy. The fitness equipment is good. They have a pool area at the back of the hotel with nice view (viewing Sliema).
Breakfast is so good.
Service is good. Just 20 minutes walk to Valletta shopping area.
Free parking for the car and easily to find the parking space.

Room Tip: If possible find the room not in the 6th level
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Martha C

Many thanks for your sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with other Trip Advisor users. You had the opportunity in staying in one of the newly refurbished rooms. Every floor will have its own unique character.

Our location just outside the historical walls of Valletta, makes the Excelsior the ideal "home" base in order to explore the baroque city Valletta and also the Maltese islands. We offer a complimentary transfer to Valletta at 10am and 6pm.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future, and hopefully for a longer stay

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews