We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Client Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It was very unpleasant surprise and absolutely unacceptable for a such high-level hotel!
We chose this hotel especially for my Daddy's anniversary (50 y.o.!). Besides the fact that hotel gets information about the date of birth during check-in we draw special attention to the staff at the reception - because it was really important ocassion for our family. To have unforgettable holidays we even took a significant upgrade of the room right during check-in!
So guess what compliment did my Daddy get at the date of anniversary? Just a bottle of rather chip and bad tasted wine!!! No even fruits!!! I wouldn't pay attention to it in 3*-4* hotels. But it's impermissibly for high-quality 5* hotel!
But the reaction of the hotel managment to our disappointment was even more frustraited! When I told all these to Client Service manager the reaction was smth like standart "Thank you, your opinion is very important for us". Absolutely no personal attitude! I believe that there are not so much anniversaries at one moment in the hotel and small compliments like fruits or taxi to airport or discount for next stay cost almost nothing to such hotels. But we get nothing but unpleasant aftertaste.
Nice interior, good view from the window and rich breakfast are no enough to be one the best hotels!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Viktoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,028 - 2,034 of 4,190 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Since reopening of the Hotel we have patronised this Hotel till 2011: It was the top of a 5 star Hotel and set new standards for Malta. All our friends and family from abroad, and who had visited us at our place in Gozo, were invited at the end of their stay to pass one or a few nights at this hotel together with us. The service during the 2011 NYE Gala Dinner was shocking. Our personal claim to the General Manager about this and some other maintenance items, and our intention not to return was courteously answered with the invitation to contact himself personally at any later occasion to get VIP treatment.
In our first new test-reservation after years, having been attending other excellent Maltese 5 star hotels with our guests.We had attached to our reservation inquiry the referred to letter. Not knowing if the still same Managing Director ever was informed about our stay by his Receptionists or not, the results were poor except the upgrading to 2 Executive rooms for my wife and I and my son with our Granddaughter.
The easy chair in our room almost caused a luxation of my hip-prosthesis when trying to sit in it for the first time, as on one side no spring support existed under the upholstering,
The leather lining of the bed-head.was in part ripped off, hanging down in rags.

The Gala buffet was by far poor in choice and quality compared to the years when we still attended the hotel. A supposedly attended pastry frying station was unmanned, the pre-fried pastry was piled up under an infrared heater, logically dried out and hard.

The breakfast buffet was served in the exhibition hall, with nice tables and chairs, however in a typical Factory Workshop with black ceiling to camouflage the pipes till up to 3 " diameter open hanging below it. Compared to our times at that hotel the buffet was poorer and badly presented. The pastizzi were lying in trays, but not in the radiation range of the overhead heater, and consequently cold.
We head by experience visited the breakfast area early @ 7 am, and 6 people only waited at the reception desk attended by 1 young lady, and from there they were accompanied by only 1 usher to their tables. At 9:45 hours a queue of guessed between 200-400 people was waiting in front of the reception desk to be seated by still 1 usher (more would not achieved more just by lack of sufficient tables for the full hotel), reaching the end of the queue up to the landing in front of the lifts, making entering and leaving them rather difficult. The logically protesting guests amongst themselves, were not attended in their most probably 1 hour's waiting by any manager nor any other employee.
As in our prior and last visit the degradation of control and survey by qualified medium level supervisory personnel has become dramatic. To find a Manager of housekeeping checking all details of the rooms to be occupied by new guests is history from good old times! Reservation Managers who do not react as is due to make sure, if former repetition-guests, known for their critical views from the letter which they received with my first reservation contact are not treated with special dedication were not the former standard. An alarm to all levels should have been given by them to attend at least such guests with special attention and perfection to avoid their now public critics and claims.
I do not want to forget to mention one department, which actuated in the accustomed good old fashion of friendliness, professionalism, and high efficiency: "The Reception", thanks and congratulations to all of them.
.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors to the Seaside have nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadurdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Have stayed at the Excelsoir on 3 previous visits to Valetta and this stay was exactly as expected from other visits-the location could not be more convenient-staff are friendly and welcoming and do their best to help-the lady who visited the room each evening was fantastic and "insisted" on making sure we had everything that we would need for a comfortable night-breakfast is plentiful and of a reasonable standard with great view while dining-coffees in the loby/lounge were always served with a smile-sea view rooms are comfortable and spacious with a large balcony, but getting a little worn and tired-superior rooms have bath and seperate shower-not sure that the hotel can be classed as 5* anymore though?

Room Tip: sea view rooms are comfortable and spacious with a large balcony, but getting a little worn and tire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mietek771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Mietek771

On behalf of the team, I sincerely thank you for choosing once again the Grand Hotel Excelsior for your latest trip to Malta and most importantly sharing your experience with Trip Advisor users. With regards your comment vis-a-vis the rooms, I am pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing refurbishment of all the rooms. Such a programme can only be done during the low winter months when occupancy is lower, allowing our Projects team to work freely without disturbing our guests.

We look forward to welcome you for your 5th visit at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Travelling on business should be a pleasure and the option to have room service a treat. I was surprised by the inflated prices to begin with. Then if you read the fine print, you will be charged €5 for the food to be delivered. I have never had an additional cost for "room service". It defies the point of offering it to your guests.

Lastly, the quality of food was horrendous. Both nights I felt ill and for a hotel by the sea, I'd never been offered such bad quality fish, recently frozen and probably microwaved.

I'll be ordering a delivery service next time.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here off peak (last week of April), after it was recommended by several friends who had also stayed there. I’d recommend visiting at this time as we had beautiful hot sunny weather for 6 of the 7 days we were there, and the hotel was much quieter than it was for our friends who stayed during peak season.

The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and we were upgraded to sea view room on arrival for free.

Our room was lovely - very spacious with an enormous bed and powerful airconditioning. The bathroom was huge with twin basins and a shower over the bath. I was a little disappointed to find a shower curtain rather than a glass panel, however it was spotlessly clean, so we were happy.

The daily room cleaning service was very thorough and included instructions for how to choose daily if you wanted fresh towels/sheets or to go green and re-use them. There was also an evening turn-down service with chocolates on the pillow - lovely!

The breakfast restaurant was always very busy and run with military precision by the staff. There was an extensive buffet including cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheese, full english breakfast, a range of juices. There was also a chef available at a station to make waffles/pancakes/eggs on demand, to your liking. This often had a queue but the chef was very speedy.

The pool was fantastic and probably one of the biggest pool areas in the Valetta. We specifically wanted to stay somewhere with a nice pool and had to look quite hard to find one as space is somewhat limited in much of Malta. There is also a splash pool for small children. The pool had a lovely view of a harbour and lots of fresh towels available. There is also a poolside Tiki-Bar which takes order for food and drinks and brings them to your sun lounger. The Tiki-Bar menu was quite limited, but think this was because we were there off-peak. The staff were accommodating and allowed us to order from the Admirals-Landing menu upstairs (bar with harbour view) and they brought the food down to the pool.

I can’t comment on the main restaurant as we did not eat there in the evening. It seemed to primarily offer a large buffet which did not appeal to us. There may have been an a la carte menu as well but we didn’t try it.

The Admirals Landing Bar at reception level has a great view over the harbour. We visited most evenings on returning to the hotel from dinner in Valetta for a night-cap. They do lovely liquor coffees and have an extensive cocktail menu. The service in this bar was quite slow, although I think mainly due to it being large and spread out with only a couple of waiting staff (maybe because it was off-peak). As we were on holiday we weren’t in a rush and didn’t mind too much.

The location is excellent, only a 5 minute walk entrance to Valetta. There are quite a number of stairs to walk up from reception to the road, we quite enjoyed these and for most people would be are non-issue, but worth considering if you have elderly members in your party or anyone who might struggle with stairs.

This was one of the nicer hotel stays we have experienced and would very much like to visit again.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are really lovely and get lovely sunset view from the balcony. The non-sea-vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for a short week at this hotel on business. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Hotel was very good and probably even better in the Summertime when pool etc would be open. Comparatively easy walk into town, although bumpy paths for those not so mobile. Room was large and had everything you could ask for; Bathroom well appointed and had good shower although the door in my room didn't shut well which let water out. Breakfast excellent although for "early birds" the egg station was not working as someone else mentioned but the toasters were going full blast. Can't comment on restaurants for dinner and spa as didn't use them. Definitely think that I'll bring the wife here when weather is better.

Room Tip: Hotel does cars to/ from airport if you book them - useful as airport is about 30 minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for a night before we flew out of Malta. It is a beautiful grand old hotel right on the walls of Valletta. The checked in quite late and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served from 6:30am and we were down there early. The range of food was great and there is an egg station but no-one was there at that time, also the toasters were not yet running. There was still a large selection of food to choose from. The room was quite large and beautifully furnished and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £79 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing