We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We decided to take a winter break in Malta and got a great deal on this hotel. The hotel sits just outside the walls of Valletta and a very short walk brings you to the bus station and the gates to the City. The hotel staff are extremely good, friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size and very clean. We had booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast is very good with lots of variety. The breakfast room overlooks the harbor and it is very pleasant.

There are lots of this to do and see in Malta. The island is very small and the best way to get around is to get a weekly bus ticket for 6 euros and this will take you anywhere . The bus service was very efficient and frequent.

Valletta is undergoing a big rebuilding programme around the walls of the City. We visited the cathedrals, the palace, the Lascaris war rooms, the Saluting Battery and travelled to Mdina on the bus. Mdina and Rabat is a must.

It is quite difficult to find somewhere to eat at night in Valletta and there are not many places open for evening meals. We found a great pizzeria called Margo's which is just past the palace and the pizza's and the service was excellent. We went to the Ordanance Pub and the meals were huge and reasonable priced.

The people of Malta are very friendly. Prices are very reasonable on this Island.

The island has developed in a very haphazard way. The resorts of Sliema and St Julian's could be anywhere is mainland Spain. They are very overdeveloped. St Paul's Bay is much nicer.

Overall we really enjoyed our week. The weather was quite cold but sunny and we did everything we planned to do. There are some outstanding churches such as Mosta Dome, St Paul's Shipwreck Church and the Cathedrals are lovely.

We enjoyed Malta very much but you cannot call the island beautiful.

Room Tip: We booked a luxury room but ask for a harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wigan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,770
    1,222
    498
    142
    65
See reviews for
646
1,792
178
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I paid €85 for a deluxe executive room including breakfast and wifi (corporate rate). I can just say this is a fantastic price in this luxury place in Floriana, close to Valetta. The insite restaurant is good, the breakfast is varied, a nice bar and the personal is really helfpful and sympatic. I will certainly return maybe also with the family during a holiday.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very good hotel near old Valletta (with 93 steps and some hunderd meters uphill to go to the old town). For 20 € they organise a taxi to pick you up at the airport. Very beautifull reception, hall and bar. The personnel of the hotel is extremely friendly and helpfull. The rooms are OK and very clean. However, the bedlinnen is synthetic and thus warm. The rooms with frontal seaview have a very beautifull view on the marina and an inlet of the sea. Breakfast is good, but from a 5*-hotel you may expect that saucisages and mushrooms are not burned every day. The food in the 'à la carte restaurant: Admiral's landing' is excellent. Furthermore, I can recommand you between 15h and 17h the 'Afternoon tea' with scones and sandwiches, which is delicious. Prices in all the hotel are not expensive for a 5* hotel. The inside swimming pool is very well heated, but this is unfortunately not the case for the yacuzzi.

For me a very goor 4* hotel, but too much little details to talk about a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room with frontal seasview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Reading previous reviews I had some concerns. After staying here for 4 nights I have to state that the Grand Excelsior is a 5 star hotel by all means. Staff is extremely friendly and attentive. Our room on the reception and lobby floor was large and spacious, with a great view of the harbor. Room was cleaned and serviced twice daily. However, they could refresh their towels inventory since those we used have seen better days. The bathroom was modern and large. It is a bit difficult to adjust the right temperature of the water. One has to be very careful since the "hot" is extremely strong and almost boiling. Internet connection was good in our room and in other areas of the hotel. TV set although flat was a bit outdated and not HD. But we did not come to Malta to watch TV. Breakfast buffet is tasty and varied. If we ever come to Malta again, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Be careful when adjusting the water temperature in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Urido

Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with other Trip Advisor users. Your comments will be evaluated by our Operations team. Such feedback is crucial in our quest to always improve the guest experience. I am very pleased to note your comment with regards the wi-fi. At the end of February we launched our new wi-fi system that guarantees wi-fi in all 439 rooms. Each room has its own wi-fi modem and we are proud to be the first hotel that offers such a system. We look forward to welcome you again in the very near future especially when there are now 4 flights a week between Tel Aviv and Malta.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here four nights in early March 2014 in a basic room. It was pleasant and relatively efficient, but not memorable. Staff were responsive if asked specifically for something but could not anticipate needs. The best staff member was the Chinese woman in the good shop who was the only person in my visit that seemed genuinely interested in guests. The breakfast buffet was good. Food in the Harbour bar in the lobby was more expensive than room service. The hotel driver to the airport appeared to want to break the land speed record, and did not get out to open my door. I was not unhappy with my stay, but I was not thrilled either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Michael K

Whilst thanking you for sharing with our Trip Advisor users your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior appreciate if you could email me on brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt your room number and day of departure so that we can investigate further your comments in relation to your airport transfer. We are committed to our guests' safety and would take necessary action if deemed necessary.

With regards your comment related to Harbour View please note that menu items which are identical and available both on the Harbour View menu and also on the Room service menu are priced the same. On the other hand there are Room service menu items that are unique and therefore not available on the Harbour View menu.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The rating seems a bit harsh but the hotel was good and the only choice of rating is average or very good. We stayed here for 7 nights on the sixth floor in a harbour view room with balcony. The view was lovely. The quiet room was spacious with a high ceiling, huge bed and a large bathroom with a bath with a powerful shower over it and a separate shower cubicle with a monsoon shower head. However this was less effective than the over bath shower and the controls needed attention as it was difficult to control the water temperature. As mentioned in many reports the carpet was quite badly stained but it was obvious there was refurbishment going on in some rooms. Lighting was dim and the decor was dated antique style. A great touch was the single red carnation in the bathroom but when this wilted a few days in it was just removed and not replaced. The tv was incredibly slow to change channels. It would good to have more information eg on tv channels, opening hours of pool, local information...

Breakfasts were great with lots of choice and there was always some one on hand to cook fresh omelettes etc. However what did amuse us was the control over where one sat obviously
most guests would like a window and view table but even if we were down early we had to request one other wise we were marched off to some obscure table. It seemed to us that some tables were being unofficially reserved by some guests possibly tipping staff. One morning after gaining a window table we sat there watching while 3 sets of guests ask to sit at a neighbouring table only to be told it was occupied but no one sat at the table for the duration of our breakfast.

The indoor pool was fabulous as was the location to Valletta and the bus station. One drawback to the pool was no changing rooms and we were a bit uncomfortable walking in sight of reception in our gowns to get to the lifts. We did not try the evening buffet as there were so many great places to eat out in Valletta only a 10 minute walk away though the steps up from the hotel kept us fit and could be slippery when wet.

Overall we paid approximately 122 € a night so we feel it was great value for the money. Paying summer rate and with the hotel full we would not have been happy. However the bottom line is we would come back again off season if we could get the same deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

It is amazing the variation in so-called 5 star hotels. The Oberoi in Mauritius and the Cheddi Club in Bali are so good they should be 6 star, but the Grand Excelsior doesn't quite make it.

The facilities are what you would hope for with a large hotel but little things bring it down.

Our room was often not serviced till the afternoon; much of the food is buffet; the service in the restaurant is pretty good and with a smile, especially the women, but the men on reception are unsmiling and aloof.

Too often there was a lack of spontaneity to compare with the worldwide customer service we had in Bali for example.

Here's a couple of reasons: we arrived at the breakfast reception one morning. A guy who was clearly a senior restaurant manager approached us and said "my colleagues will serve you in a moment" and walked straight past us. Was he too important to take us to a table himself?

Another: we wanted to sit by the pool on a sunbed but they weren't very comfortable. I went to the person on spa reception and asked "could we have a mattress for our sunbeds please?" "I haven't got any" she said. "Does anybody have any?" "I don't know, I'll ask the pool guy." She rang the pool guy. "No we don't."

Cold, unfriendly, lacking any initiative or spontaneity. Did they honestly expect me to believe they didn't have mattresses for the sunbed or was it too much trouble to get them out from theri winter store?

So there was something missing.

Our room was comfortable but the lighting made it impossible to read in bed unless you were right under the bedside lamp.

We ate in the restaurant on our first evening. The food was OK and we definitely weren't tempted by the buffet. The staff were very friendly but then disappeared for the last hour leaving us to serve our own wine and water. (BTW still water was a ridiculous 5.75 euros; the most expensive in Malta).

The breakfast was very good; checkout and checkin were very efficient and I'm not sorry we didn't stay in the Phoenicia, but the fact that we ate every meal but one and spent most of our time outside the hotel sums it up.

Room Tip: All the rooms except the ones over reception have some view of the harbour but the ones looking over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rougepierretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing